We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Airways Hotel(Port Moresby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hideaway Hotel(Port Moresby)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Shady Rest Hotel(Port Moresby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamana Hotel(Port Moresby)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Hotel(Port Moresby)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ela Beach Hotel(Port Moresby)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
31
72
62
31
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
72
62
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild orchidshort termbetween flightsnight lifeclean roomsfree shuttlewi ficomfortable hotelpleasant stayfelt safeportpomjacksonsirontoiletriestransferaustralia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 209 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed at the gateway twice in a couple of weeks, one night on each occassion with my son prior to and after trekking the Kokoda Track.
Check in was slow both times, check out the second stay very slow as we worked though wrong charges, I said I owed 30 kina, they said 300 plus, but it got sorted in the end.
After the trek retrieved left luggage in minutes, but getting passport and other valuables from the hotel safe took nearly 45 minutes.
The hotel is old, but comfortable, rooms small and aged and in need of refurbishment, nice pool, good restaurant, but food and drink very pricy.
Our room had a small window, but others had balconies.
In Port Moresby there is very limited choice of hotels, and this is supposed to be one of the best.
Very close to the airport and free shuttle both ways was very good.
Staff eager to help and do their best and no complaints about staff service, but slow most of the time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to list your experience at the Gateway Hotel. We appreciate all feedback to help us work towards the standards our guests expect.
Due to the security measures taken to protect your valuables while hiking, it can take an amount of time for the manager with access to retrieve your items when you return. We are looking at installing lockers that will be made more accessible for hikers in the very near future, but still with appropriate security measures to ensure your items are kept safe.
I hope you and your son had a great time on the Kokoda Trail, it would have been an exciting experience for you both!

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

1 Called in person to reception on Monday 11th April and booked 4 rooms for 12 guests.
2 Arrived Sat 16th to check in; "sorry sir there is no booking in your name"
3 Took 1 hour and 15 minutes to find 4 rooms.
4 My daughter unlocked her room and went in to find a man sleeping on the bed.
5. Second male guest unlocked room also to find already occupied.
6 Sent daughter plus others back to get new rooms.
7 twenty minutes later I went down to reception to find out what room number my daughter was in.
8 "sorry sir but there are only two rooms booked in your name."
9 Even providing the room keys did not help reception find the other two rooms for about half an hour.
10 eventually they had to go to a filing cabinet and retrieve a paper invoice so that they could track down the room that way.

The whole check in process took two and one half hours.

Its a pity because the restaurant service is great. The rooms are great and the food is also very good.

This is the 5th time that I have stayed their and I am back again on the long weekend in June. I will walk through the front door with all fingers crossed.

I am the president of Cooma Rotary and bring at last two groups there each year when we complete humanitarian projects.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CADAMSCooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Needless to say, I am dissapointed to hear about your 'Faulty Towers' experience. After following up with the reception team, the problem you had originated with a system crash earlier in the day that could not be fixed immediately by our provider. The staff are very apologetic regarding your experience, and it has highlighted another area for procedures to be implimented and followed, when this type of technical problem which disables front desk operations occurs again.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused, and please feel free to see me during your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

As with previous reviewers on this site, we too have just experienced shocking service from this hotel. My husband and I arrived at the airport to find we were not on the list for the hotel airport shuttle pick-up service. Luckily, the hotel rep at the airport arranged for the shuttle bus to pick us up. Not sure what would have happened if the hotel rep had not been there to collect other passengers who were on our flight. Upon arrival at reception, low and behold they had no record of our booking, even though we had pre-paid for our stay. This was over Easter break so we were lucky they had a room available for us. The staff took over 30 mins to find us a room and then were insistent our package did not include breakfast. Even though this was stipulated on our accommodation voucher and our hotel confirmation. Breakfast is expensive so make sure you take your reservation receipt at the time of booking to prove what your rate inludes.

This aside, we found all other staff at the hotel to be very helpful, efficient and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable althought it was quite basic considering the high cost. The aircon was very powerful but seemed to only blow hot air which made for an uncomfortable sleep. The pool area is very clean, pleasant and refreshing. The restaurant was expensive but the food was good. We found after eating dinner we could only pay cash in the restaurant, as reception had not requested our credit card on check-in, so we were lucky we had taken plenty of local currency to pay for our meals.

There are not too many options for hotels in Port Moresby but would definitely only stay here again as a last resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGWGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Gateway Hotel. To answer your question regarding our Airport shuttle service, as we are in great proximity to the Airport (within 2km), and we realise it is not possible to have every guests details of which flight they are on, there is a Guest Service Agent that meets every flight.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the reservation problem you had on arrival at the Hotel, and we agree of course that waiting that amount of time (I will assume it was after our 1pm check in), while they organised a room for you is not the high standard the hotel aims for in customer service. As we have great motivated staff who want to give our guests the best possible service, we will continue to have regular ongoing training for our Front Office team.

We encourage feedback, all of which is passed onto our staff members, so thank you again for the information you have provided us. The Food & Beverage, Public Areas, and Housekeeping departments enjoyed hearing your positive comments regarding their service.

Regards,
Paul Davis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here many times since my last revue May 2010. Those comments still valid. Most additions & renovations now completed, new rooms great but unfortunately dont have balconies. Moresby hotels are very expensive, because of meetings have stayed at other hotels listed on this site & because of cost have stayed at "second tier" hotels & Gateway is by far the best. If your budget allows it stay here. Can still be problems at reception, be patient & double check accounts. Don't rely on business centre.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longlongdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding you recent stay at the Gateway Hotel. As you have mentioned, the new 35 rooms, the large and spacious new conference facilities, and renovations have now been completed and in full operation. Your constructive feedback regarding our business centre is appreciated, and there is ongoing training with the Front Office team, and hopefully in the near future you will see further improvements in both these areas.
Thank you again for taking time to leave this and the previous review. Please feel free to approach the Management team during your next visit to leave some more detailed feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Paul Davis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

There are few hotels in Port Moresby in which to stay where you can feel safe AND get reasonable service. Mind you the service in this third world cpot is about as good as I have received in some Eastern seaboard US hotels but then the US is not the measure of hotel service anywhere is it. These guys provide a clean and reasonable stop but you have to accept that you are on "PNG time " or you will go crazy. And they just plain forget things. Like a reservation for a room (fortunately there was a spare one available when we arrived), or a booking at the yacht club for a group function. Or a taxi. Depsire numerous assuarances from the staff that these things have been done they simply are not. And you have to watch your bill carefully - they will add things that should not be added. Best advice if you stay here is to keep every chit for everything that you charge to your room. Internet service is so bad you might as well forget about using it except for the most basic email service. And the business centre exists in name only - there really isn't one. Upside - the staff are energetic and friendly (though mostly misguided and forgetful - we waited 45 minutes for a menu poolside on one occassion (we were testing just how long it was going to take)) and are keen to please. Just slow down and roll with the punches and you will survive this place okay. p.s. the aircon did not work though it blew a lot of air around.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickledEel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews