We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Nearby Hotels
Lamana Hotel(Port Moresby)
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Airways Hotel(Port Moresby)
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Papua Hotel(Port Moresby)
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Hotel(Port Moresby)
$162
$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Shady Rest Hotel(Port Moresby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ela Beach Hotel(Port Moresby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
21
77
81
25
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
77
81
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstired hotelgecko barseparate bedroomrooms are bigno elevatorbetter choicespizzapool barhi expressnew wingvision citybest featuresecurity staffstaff are very friendly and helpfulbusinessportgym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 209 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Where to start?
First, the room- in the "garden" section, which is old and run down and has no view of a "garden" at all. The plumbing was rusty and barely worked, the room was dirty (e.g. bin full of trash when I arrived that had not been cleaned), very dilapidated. The bed was comfortable but the bedding was stained. Yuck.
The so called security door to the rooms was constantly left open/ajar, usually by staff. Most times I passed by, it was open to anyone and everyone. This is very slack, especially in Port Moresby and especially when you pay top dollar for security.
The food in the restaurant (Kopi Haus) is atrocious, and service is slow to non existent. The so called buffet is virtually the same every day and food is left out for hours. If you order from the menu, expect some eye rolling and sighing at the effort of havinmg to prepare anything other than the buffet.The meals, when they arrived, were inedible. Our orders were wrong, and drinks never arrrived.
Staff could not care less about guests. They are offhand to the point of rudeness. This has never been my experience of PNG people before, who are renowned for their friendliness and welcome. Well, you won't find that here.
The area around the Hotel is unsafe, to those in the know. You would not leave the hotel grounds.
At the prices this hotel charges, this is an absolute joke.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Stayed her four nights and the best thing about this hotel was leaving. The only positive I can think of about this hotel are the nice welcome fruit platter and the good security.

The room was, lets be positive, modest, a basic 3 star motel room. It had a small bathroom with worn fittings, the plumbing was worn out and it was hard to switch water from the bath to shower. The hot water failed altogether on the fourth day. There were mosquitoes in my (garden) room at night, despite being unable to open the door to verandah, this is not impressive for a malarial country!

Expect no view from a garden room, this is probably a positive as the only views in Waigani are tragic ones. The area is also unsavoury and I wouldn't go wandering outside the secured area any time.

Now we get to the real negatives. The poolside bar had better (slow) service than the 'Kopi Haus' restaurant - there the service was ridiculously slow. The best I could say for the restaurant buffet was 'pedestrian'. It sounds promising to have an 'asian' buffet on Mon, a 'curry' buffet on Wed and 'islander' buffet on thurs. Except that the dishes are bland and uninspiring, and despite the names were almost identical every night

There is an ok wifi connection in public areas (but not rooms), however a lengthy delay (meaning hours) in reception finding a wifi card the first time I asked. Someone had locked them away and they couldn't find the key. The card doesn't last very long at all, and of course they 'ran out' of cards the second time. Renders the whole wifi thing raher pointless.

And of couse the price for this accommodation tragedy was ridiculously high.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Just not worth the amount you pay. Not anywhere close to value for money. Poor service to the core; they don't seem to care if you stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kevin_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

the service was very slow in the restaraunt and the front desk never returned my calls. changing to a different room never happened. the room was roomy but had a empty atmosphere. leaving the premises on foot would be dangerous because of the location. I liked the food but overall , it was overpriced for what you get or should i say don't get.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tod0_bien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

This Holiday Inn could use some renovating, but is a secure, comfortable place to stay while in Port Moresby. I was there for 2-3 weeks, and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, the food very good especially with the new chef that took over during my visit (although it would be nice if they mixed it up a bit, made the b'fast buffet more varied, and added some daily specials), the room large and comfortable (with plenty of space, working AC, a small fridge, coffee/tea kettle), the grounds big and nice for walking/jogging, and the gym decent though very dirty and with old decrepit exercise equipment. The wireless worked most of the time (although not usually in my room), especially (where the signal is strongest) in the very useful "VIP room" off the restaurant, which is a good place to work and be on line while also having food and/or drinks. One of the nicest features, I found, is the 650-meter path that runs around the perimeter of the hotel (inside the fence), which is a secure place to walk or run outside (a very nice change from always being in the gym). With POM's beautiful weather, it was great to have the chance to be safely outside! I will be back at this hotel. Elsie and Mary in the restaurant were always so nice, knew our names, and were very helpful! A couple of things the hotel might improve: upgrade the tower rooms a bit and brighten them up, make wireless available in all the rooms (was very spotty in my room), add some variety to the daily continental b'fast buffet, clean up the gym and add some new equipment, and put some comfortable chairs/cushions near the pool so that people can enjoy this space. Also consider a "family wing" for those busy family weekend specials, when so many families with kids move in and make a LOT of noise in the garden wing of the hotel. Consider putting these big, loud families in one part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews