We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My employer has an account here so thus is where we stay in Moresby. Room ok, but needs soundproofing. Guy next door anoter and I could hear it.
Service mixed. Some great, some more interested in their mobile phones than in customers.
Restaurant uninspiring.
All in all, at this price I would K100 more and go to the Airways.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nipsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimP2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Nipsco,

Thanks for providing some feedback regarding your recent stay.
I would be interested in hearing some further feedback in regards to the restaurant and what styles of cuisine you would like to see on the menu. I would also be very keen to hear what room you were in so that I can attempt to rectify the soundproofing issue. If you would like to contact me directly, please do so on tim.pollock@ihg.com.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Port Moresby
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here twice (before and after Kokoda) with kids and friends and would choose here again after visiting other key hotels. Clearly there is a major building and refurb program in place (that's getting close to finishing) to bring up the "business" standard and this program impacts the overall feel but they are upfront about it at time of booking so cannot complain. Saturday markets on 3rd Sat each month are great and so are crafts (paintings, bilums, basketware etc) sold across the road. Felt safe at all times and staff always genuine and greet you with a smile and will help. I think Its expensive compared to other developing countries we have had the opportunity to visit but but it's pricing comparable to its local competition. Easy car access to Nature Reserve, Parliament House, Vision City, City Hall, Duffy (great coffee).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U1W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimP2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear U1W,

Thanks for providing some feedback regarding your recent visits to Holiday Inn Port Moresby. I trust you enjoyed your trek of Kokoda! I note your comments regarding the rather "construction zone" feel that the property currently has. We are very much looking forward to the completion of the projects in the new year. I am glad to read your comments regarding the craft markets. This is an initiative we have only begun this year and all feedback has been positive. Again many thanks for your feedback, and I agree the Duffy coffee is great!

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here for five days on business with a group of colleagues and we had a very uneven experience. Although it is old and in the middle of a building site at present, there were many good things about the hotel as well as a number of problems. It has a free airport shuttle service which meets international flights and I found this reassuring as taxis in Moresby are said to be dangerous. The reception staff were very charming, warm and generally helpful, although I was not given unexpected messages left for me. I had to change rooms twice because of unacceptable levels of noise in the old wing and was finally moved to the Tower, which has been refurbished. All three rooms had comfortable beds and pillows, basic toiletries, an iron and ironing board, coffee and tea provisions and a room safe, and the Tower room also provided slippers. My Tower room was quiet but the air conditioning was ineffective (wouldn't cool below 25 degrees) and there was a plague of little cockroaches in the bathroom. I reported both problems three times and eventually the bathroom was sprayed (which reduced but did not eliminate the roaches) but the air con apparently couldn't be fixed, maybe because of the frequent power cuts in Moresby (the hotel generators always kick in, but have a torch handy and watch out for your computer). There is only one restaurant and the kitchen was quite slow -- often 30-45 minutes wait for meals. The food was generally OK but the same dish varied a lot according to the day and presumably the cook on duty, sometimes quite good, sometimes not, and we once had the wrong dishes delivered twice in a row. The wait staff were very pleasant and helpful, however. We booked meeting rooms each evening but found that our bookings were moved around and, once, cancelled, to accommodate other groups. Wifi is available in the lobby but you have to buy an expensive scratch card (50 kino for 100 MB) for an access code. Moresby is, as others have noted, not your average destination, and given that, the Holiday Inn is not a bad choice, as long as you relax your expectations and enjoy the things that work and the smiles of the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old wing are larger but very badly soundproofed and quite shabby, and the old wing...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimP2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Ozday,

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent visit to Holiday Inn Port Moresby. I appreciate the positive feedback regarding your encounters with the members of the team. This is most pleasing.
I am however very disappointed that you experienced a number of issues with your rooms throughout your visit. I note your comments regarding noise in the garden wing rooms. I assume the noise you were experiencing was coming from rooms above or below you. I have spoken to the team regarding room allocation as this can often remedy these situations. The Airconditioning issue is also of concern. I would appreciate it if you can contact me directly with the room details so that I can have this unit replaced. I would also appreciate further feedback regading the issues you experienced with the meeting rooms.

We have a stringent pest control policy in place and I will be taking up this issue with the contractor. Please accept my apologies for this.

The power in Port Moresby has been particularly bad over the last 8 weeks. Unfortunately there does not appear to be an end in sight in reagrds to this issue.

We will have an upgraded internet system in place by the end of November. This will do away with the MB cards and will provide a more cost effective solution including WIFI in all rooms.

Again, many thanks for your feedback and I would really appreciate it if you could contact me so that I can delve further into a couple of the issues experienced.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager
e-mail: tim.pollock@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Port Moresby is an 'interesting' destination, with significant security problems, therefore we were confined to the Holiday Inn for business, leisure and accomodation/dining for the vast majority of our week's stay. The hotel itself was undergoing major renovations but valiant efforts were being made to operate normally despite much of the complex being a building site.
The rooms were a little dark but entirely adequate, with the usual facilities, including wired internet connection (at a cost, and sporadic). Water supply, particularly for showers, was intermittently interrupted, usually OK in the mornings, less so in the evenings. The single restaurant was covering for the temporary closure of the other alfresco restaurant during renovations and did a pretty good job. The menu wasn't big, but it was varied and in more than one sense i.e. the same dish ordered on successive nights might be noticeably different. Having said that, the food was good, well presented and service was fine. The wine list offered a reasonable, if expensive, selection. The outdoor bar was pleasant, suffering a little from proximity to building work, but not too badly. The swimming pool was even closer to the building work, but again, still serviceable and in use.
We were told that there were two good restauarnts in the city, but that it would be too much of a security risk for us to venture there, particularly at night, so we have no view on those.

Security tip - Do use the hotel shuttle bus to and from the airport, taxi services can be risky.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, facing away from building work.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear OzCru,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here on business, but I wouldn't stay here if by choice. The gardens are nice and the bar by the pool and restaurant are a very welcome retreat after a hot day doing business in Port Moresby. It's a little out of the way and like being in a luxury prison. Security is tight. Don't go wandering around outside the hotel. Overall, Port Moresby is what it is, so don't expect too much. It's OK for business travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da_griswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear da_griswalds,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The old Islander Hotel was built at Waigani 40 odd years ago, it had charm, space around the gardens and at the time top facilities. Today it has been dwarfed by the most ugly buildings in Port Moresby, rooms face onto new buildings almost as though you could reach out and touch them when other buildings are complete the only way to have privacy will be to close the curtains.
The foyer is impressive, the staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and spartan but smelled of cleaning chemicals and sounds from nearby rooms echoed along the corridor making sleep difficult. The coffee shop was pleasant, the buffet was good, but food off a-la-carte menu was poor and the following day we were shunted between various rooms as someone had not checked with catering staff, after a panic, the food arrived.
Altogether disappointing and like most hotels in Port Moresby overpriced,
PNGean

Room Tip: Top Floor Tower Block
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorerCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimP2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear ExplorerCairns,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I hope that once the new buildings are completed and we have the extensive landscaping completed that you wiill have a more positive view of the new buildings. I note your point regading the the proximity of the buildings and am confident thast with appropriate trees in place adequate privacy will be gained. Thank you for the poisitve comments regarding the staff members at the hotel, I will ensure that this feedback reaches the team at our next staff get together. I am sorry that you found the a'la carte food poor. We are working hard to find the right mix of food on the menu and I would be interested in further feedback on this particular item.

Again, thanks for your feedback and if you would like to contact me directly you can do so on tim.pollock@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

An OK hotel and great staff. It’s quite a way out of the centre and you need a taxi to get downtown. PNG is not a place to wander about on your own. The hotel was very security conscious, to the point that they called a taxi for me and when I got in the wrong one, they chased me down at my office to make sure I was OK. Good service and OK food, but I moved because it was taking 40 mins to the centre every morning. When I was there building was taking place to extend so sometimes it was noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimP2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Good morning Peter Turkey,

Thanks for you feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Port Moresby. I certainly understand your comments regarding the Travel time in Port Moresby. Traffic continues to be a major issue in the city. Our sister property the Crowne Plaza may suit your needs better as it is located right in the centre of Port Moresby. Thanks for your comments regarding our staff! It is always pleasing to get positive feedback.

Kind regards

Tim Pollock

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#8 of 15 in Port Moresby
198 reviews
2.4 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
82 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamana Hotel
Lamana Hotel
#5 of 15 in Port Moresby
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Moresby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Moresby

Address: Waigani Drive and Wards Road, Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range: $169 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port Moresby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 hectares of landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Port Moresby offers a secure environment combined with international service standards and Papua New Guinea friendliness.Located in the heart of the Government district, access is via a modern four-lane highway 6 kilometres from the airport and a continuation of this highway a further 8 kilometres into the Port Area. Parliament, many government departments and embassies are situated close by as is the Port Moresby Golf Course. Accommodation totals 166 rooms including standard and Premium rooms, two room suites, executive suites and serviced apartments.Facilities include a Sports Club with four Squash Courts, outdoor swimming pool, two Tennis Courts, daily aerobics classes, cardio vascular training equipment, a volleyball court, a jogging track and a fully equipped weight room. Professionally managed by qualified staff, the Sports Club is the ideal place to maintain fitness while in Port Moresby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Moresby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Moresby Hotel Port Moresby
Port Moresby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing