We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay, a bit impersonal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, a bit impersonal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Centrally located in the Central Business District area of Port Moresby. High standard, all necessary amenities available. The room (Queen size bed) is spacious and clean. Plenty of channels on the TV, which was very good. The bathroom in good order, with bathtub and complementary body lotion, shampoo etc. I used the gym once, which is small, but which has the necessary equipment. The spa offers good massages. The dinner buffet is not the best, but good enough. No free wi-fi, though.

Friendly and helpful staff.

All in all a good, average five star hotel, but it lacks the charm and personal touch of something unique.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view for that nice morning feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Heidi3030,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby. It was pleasing to read that the majority of your stay met with your satisfaction. In regard to the lack of Free Wi-fi. Internet charges in PNG are incredibly expensive. we are working with a couple of companies to try and get a product together that will allow us to offer free basic internet access in the future. we envisage having that offering in place by mid next year. We are continually striving to improve our service levels and certainly take on board your commenst that we need to make our guest interactions more personal.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    58
    61
    16
    8
See reviews for
5
9
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed there for three days during my visit of Port Moresby. Rooms are good and clean. The Club lounge is very good if you are at club floor. free drinks and nibbles.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Skiaie,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that the Club Lounge suits your needs as a business traveller. If you have any ideas of how we could continue to improve the lounge, we would love to hear them.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby on the final few days of a 3 month stint in PNG recently. This hotel has shaped up as petty good to me. The cost was a bit high at about 800 Kina ($400 AUD) per night but it was paid by my employer so not a big concern for me.

Check in was quick and efficient and I was on the 7th Floor. The 7th, 8th and 9th floors are marked as 'Crowne Club' floors and the standards are quite good.

The bed was new and very comfortable. The room was clean and neat. Everything worked (you don't always get this in PNG!). There was a big screen ACER TV in the the room with about 50+ channels.

The 8th floor has an executive club lounge that includes free drinks from 5.30 to 6.30 each evening. And breakfast was included in our package. The breakfast that is inclusive is served in a smaller 'executive dining room' just around the corner from the big dining room. I accidently went into the main area and when I finished b'fast was billed 55 Kina for eating in the main restaurant. When I asked about the complientary breakfast the staff checked my room and saw that I was OK for the complimentary breakfast. They explained my error in going to the wrong place and cancelled the bill. Now that is good customer service! You don't always get this in PNG but I was both pleased and surprised.

The food is really good, fresh and the service in the eatery has been really good. Parking is under the hotel in an underground car park.

This is the 4th Hotel I have stayed in whilst in PNG and this is the best one so far. This is not really a tourist destination so most people are here for business. Rooms can be hard to get (that is why the prices are so high - it's market driven and the LNG project is the reason so many workers are here). So book early if you want to come!

The Port Moresby craft market is just down the road at Ela Beach and that is run on the last saturday of every month from about 0800 hrs. Great place to get arts and crafts at reasonable prices.

If you do come to PNG watch your security and be sure to drive around with locked doors due to car jackings etc. Crime here is quite bad! But don't be put off getting out and mixing with the locals - they love it! Just be careful not to carry valuables around and don't walk at night. Good luck - PNG is a real adventure!

Room Tip: If you can go for 7th, 8th or 9th floors. Costs a bit more but much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaydnAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear HaydnAustralia,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby. It is very pleasing to hear of the positive experiences you encountered whilst staying at the property. I am very glad the our restaurant team were able to rectify your breakfast account. My apologies that this information was not passed on at check-in.

I am glad that you found our new beds to your satisfaction! we went through a rigorous process to get a high quality pillow top model!

Again, many thanks for you comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was a nice hotel to stay at. We really enjoyed their buffet restaurant. The live piano musice was good too. The excercise room was well equipped and we used it. The rooms were great, clean, good-sized, well equipped, nice. Even though we were close to the lift, we couldn't hear it. We did however hear lots of street noise, which could be because we were there on a Friday night. I'd avoid those if you can. The area close to the hotel is not very nice. The staff were very helpful, finding us a non-smoking room at the last minute, and finding transport to the airport in the wee hours of the morning. I don't think any hotel in POM is good value. They're all overpriced.

Room Tip: probably a room higher up avoids noisy nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wokabaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Wokabuat,

Thank you for taking the time to post ypour comments regarding your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments in regards to our rooms, food and overall staff service. I am pleased that you enjoyed our resident Pianist. we are indeed lucky to have such a talent available to us.

I note your point regarding the street noise. As you will see from some of my earlier responses, I have been "liasing" with the local authorities to try and eliminate this problem. whilst I have had limited success, I will continue to do so!

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Port Moresby in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza last year in June for 4 days and found the hotel to be decent enough. The sea facing rooms are a real treat but the road facing rooms are disappointing. The rooms are neat and tidy and offer everything a business traveller would want. The location of the Hotel is close to offices and the market and is a good bet to stay in

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csansare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Quite expensive for what you get, however rates in Port Moresby are high for reasonable quality. The buffet luch is very good as are the views. It has been operational in Port Moresby for many years under different owners who all provide some basic referbishment - overall it is quite clean and tidy although spmewhat worn. It hs some competition that recently openned called the Grand Papua, which is one block along the central city ridge.

Room Tip: Rooms on Executive levels have free lounge (drinks and food). Best to get one with views of Ela Bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Jocy_12

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback from your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby. It was pleaing to read the positive comments in regards to the lunch buffet, The chef and his team have been working hard to ensure a good consistent product is always available and from the feedback we have been receiving recently we are on the right track.
I note your comments regarding the hotel being somewhat worn! It has been an extremely busy last few years for the hotel and we are now in the process of planning for the future. I do hope that you also got to enjoy breakfast in our Rapala restaurant as an inclusion for being situated on the Executive level of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Have stayed at better IHG hotels in the pacific, in saying that the staff were very friendly and willing to help. The food was good, alot of choice, the room was dated but evrything worked and the bed was comfortable

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Amber M,

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby in March. I take on board your comments regarding the rooms being dated. We are currently working on a plan for the hotel to take us through the next few years. I was pleased to read your comments regarding the bed. We recently replaced all beds in the hotel and have seen much more favourable comments in relation to these. Thank you also for your comments regarding the hotel food, we are constantly trying to improve this area and offer a broad selection that meets most peoples expectations.
We look forwarde to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
4.8 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#8 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Port Moresby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Property: Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Address: Cnr Hunter & Douglas St, Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Port Moresby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and you'll discover a different perspective on Papua New Guinea. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is situated on a hilltop in the heart of the business district and commands panoramic views of the Coral Sea and surrounding inland areas.Conveniently located 15 minutes from Jackson's International Airport, it makes visiting Port Moresby a highly comfortable prospect for business traveller. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby's contemporary design is unique, capturing the rich vibrant essence of the indigenous culture. With superior accommodation, an Executive Club Lounge Floor, guest facilities and business services, Crowne Plaza welcomes you to a safe,secure and relaxing haven in Port Moresby. For someone who travels often for business, the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is a welcoming oasis that sets a new standard in hotel accommodation for Papua New Guinea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Port Moresby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby Hotel Port Moresby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing