We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Papuan was grand”
Review of Grand Papua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Papua Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

clean, modern, nice, but a little "sterile". Didn't feel like you were somewhere exotic. Had trouble getting the air con fixed and suitcase was delivered to the wrong room.
Lovely buffet dinner and breakfast, great service in the dining room/restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirubiGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear BirubiGreen,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

Your constructive feedback has been noted, it is feedback such as yours that allows us to identify gaps and initiate training focused on addressing service gaps.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Grand Papua Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

As others note, it is the most expensive hotel in POM. I feel that the room rate that they charge is actually OK - (decent) Hotels in POM are just expensive....What i did not like is the overall expense of everything else while in the hotel. Almost 30 Kina for a Corona in the bar, 20 Kina for a 500ML San Pelagrino etc. I guess due to the security concerns of POM in general, once you are inside, they have you, and milk you...
I would have rated the Staff better, but it is so hit and miss. I found most to be great, friendly and helpful, but a lot of them were very apathetic.
The rooms are OK; chic, 'fantastic furniture' style furniture, the balcony door was not airtight, so when the wind blew (which it did) you would get a horrible whining noise in the room.
I awoke one morning to find that a small army of tiny ants had invaded my room to get into the remainder of a sweet drink I had left on the bar, and quite a few of them hung about for the rest of my stay.

The restaurant is good, but if you want the buffet ensure you get there before 8pm, as they dont seem to restock dishes well after 9pm, the fresh station closes quite early also.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wint33r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear Wit33R,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

Your constructive comments are noted and will assist us to improve the level of service we provide.
We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Grand Papua is one of the newest hotels in Port Moresby. It is very well appointed with good views of the ocean. Staff were very helpful and food quality was generally good. Very expensive, as is the case with most good quality hotels in PNG, but compared to other hotels GP offers better value for money. Good gym but the pool is too small to do laps.

Room Tip: Ask for a an ocean view room, but can be windy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangipani2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear frangipani 2409,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

We are proud of the product and service we provide and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is less than a year old, and it's really in a class of its own, in everything from the rooms to the restaurant to the gym. Very luxurious and comfortable. I found the staff to always be attentive and service minded, and quick. The restaurant is the best in the city. The spa was also great.

The only complaint I have is that there was nothing to wipe the cardio machines in the gym off with, and when I asked for something, the person who worked there said she would do it, but she didn't. Not very hygienic! But the ocean view you have when you use the machines is awesome.

The rates for staying here is ridiculous, but that's Port Moresby. And compared to other hotels with a much lower standard I found this one to not be that bad, price-wise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. Awesome to wake up to!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear Heidi 3030,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay, your words of encouragement have been shared with our team. We strive to ensure we provide efficient, professional and friendly service in a safe and relaxing environment for our guests.

Your comment regarding the gym equipment is noted and corrective measures taken.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel again.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel fits the "Expect the Unexpected" reputation of PNG. A medium rise hotel on a small block of land with great harbour views. Large modern rooms with quality furnishings. A very comfortable bar and stylish restaurant (but only one). A small outdoor swimming pool and terrace, but apart from that, limited public spaces and a very constricted entrance driveway. There is a very handy ATM on the premises, good-quality Wi-Fi through the purchase of an access card and, a small roomful of poker machines for those who need them. Service was generally very pleasant.

In the city of extremely limited choices, The Grand Papua afforded a pleasant and comfortable in shortstay at a relatively high price. It might be a bit confining for anyone who is planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClimbingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear Climbing Out,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

There is one bar, however guests are more than welcome to order drinks from the Bar and enjoy them poolside if they wish. We have a range of room types, long stay guests may enjoy staying in one of our well appointed suites, with kitchen, laundry facilities, lounge/dining, separate bedroom area and balcony to enjoy the water views.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel again.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Port Moresby is a city a bit different than others where luxury as defined by European is difficult to be found. Grand Papua hotel offers a true luxury experience though completely different to the whole cIty and country. It offers excellent service, security, a great bar and restaurant to enjoy drinks and meals and an astonishing view to the ocean. It is expensive but definately worth the spent.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bessy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear Bessy V,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to provide feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

It is pleasure to hear you had such an enjoyable stay, your words of encouragement have been shared with the Staff & Management Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Papua Hotel.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here four nights for business in August 2012 with two colleagues. From the moment we checked in we were looked after and treated as valued guests.Check in was friendly and efficient and set the tone of our stay.

All of our rooms were well appointed, comfortable, clean, and well serviced, (a special thanks to Marion the housekeeper during my stay). I stayed on the 12th floor overlooking the bay and the view from my room was incredible. The pillows are large and comfortable and I slept really well each night of my stay.

We ate all of our meals at the hotel and found the food and service in the restaurant and bar to be first class. Three of the four days we ate the continenatal breakfast buffet and became enamoured with the small fresh cheesy buns.On our last day I chose the full breakfast buffet which contained all your normal hot choices, bacon, eggs cooked to your request, and even lamb cutlets. The dinners were well cooked and plentiful. I could not fault the food.

We also spent some timein the on-site bar which is well decorated and has a nice "club" atmosphere and made several new friends in our short stay. Service here was once again top notch and the staff were friendly and attentive.

I would definately stay here again if I were visiting Port Morseby

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perth-Traveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear Perth-Traveller 74,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

We strive to provide efficient, friendly and professional service in a safe relaxing environment. Your encouraging comments have been shared with the Staff and Management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Papua Hotel.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Management & Staff team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
3.6 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
80 reviews
4.9 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
126 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
198 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#6 of 15 in Port Moresby
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Papua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Papua Hotel

Address: Mary Street, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range: $151 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Papua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Port Moresby, the Grand Papua Hotel is the newest deluxe hotel to open in PNG. Comprising 161 rooms and suites, the hotel caters to both the corporate and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Papua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing