We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced 3 stars hotel !”
Review of Grand Papua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Papua Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overpriced 3 stars hotel !”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at Grand Papua hotel for the first time as other hotel i normally stayed ( Airways hotel ) is fully booked. The hotel is new as it started operations just last year, so it is less than a year in business. The hotel is run by australian management.

The greatest complains i have would be the hotel rate which they charged which was 460 USD for standard room without breakfast and internet ! Although i would say the hotel is nice but it would be an equivalent of 3 stars hotels in most countries . So this is most expensive hotel i have ever stayed in my life and i am well travelled to many countries ! Although i know that things for foreigners here are expensive because everything have to be imported , nothing is made locally but i was still hard to accept the ridiculous rate for the same level of hotel in other countries.

Well , apart from the overpricing issue. I think the hotel is located in great location as most rooms are facing the sea so you can see beautiful sea from the balcony. The room is reasonably nicely decorated as well as other areas of the hotels such as restuarant, bar, pool, gym. I am a bit disappointed at the food which is not so good, especially breakfast and room service, not much selection. Service level was not up to the standard e.g. i had to ask for body shower gel, and shampoo almost everyday as they were not provided in the shower. Wifi internet connection signal is not as strong at my floor ( i am staying at 5th floor) and there is no internet cable provided.

Well, if i have the choice, i would probably not coming back to this hotel unless the price is more reasonable. Airways hotel near the airport is much better choice for the same rate.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the ocean, it is nice view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review from your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

I'm sure you can appreciate there are always teething problems when we open a new hotel, and I hope you will come back and to see that we are continuing to smooth out any issues from the opening.

I am confident we will continue to meet our guest expectations as our team become more confident and comfortable in this new environment.

I look forward to welcoming you back and once again many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    74
    53
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
13
5
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ever been somewhere, and you get a feeling that you have stepped into a new world altogether??? Well that's the kind of feeling you get when you first walk in to the The Grand Papua Hotel.

From the time you check in at the Reception to unpacking your overnight bag the service is first class.

The scenic view on either side of the hotel rooms are 'too die for'...the rooms are fit for a king...and the pillows are soft and gentle...never been to a hotel that takes its customers comfort seriously as the Grand Papua Hotel..

My favourite part of the experience is winding down at the end of the day at 'The Bar'..the decor is elegant, service is top notch...where else in Pot Moresby can you get a medium size pizza of your choice for K10 with cold draught???

I love The Grand Papua...you're certainly a class of your own...

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side give you the ocean view... Also this is the only hotel that has a specificall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianChisenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2015
Dear AdrianChisenga,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

Your words of praise and encouragement have been shared with the staff and management.

We hope to see you again soon at the Grand Papua Hotel

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Bar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as airport (the worst) would not let planes out.

Hotel beautiful, help great and when the natives are not on strike power and water available.

Spa good, food good and again rooms VERY nice even if cold showers. -

Room Tip: Ask if the room will get hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MF A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2015
Dear MF A,

Thank you for taking time to provide feeback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to hear that guest have enjoyed their stay and have had the opportunity to enjoy our amenities.

We hope that the next time you travel to PNG, you will stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

While in PNG you must be assertive the locals seem to get lost in their work. This review is going to sound racist but you must be conscience of what is going on around you while checking in and out of hotel. The elections were going on and water was being shut off and on do to water conservation. Yes the people are very friendly and all seem to be looking for a tip by hovering over you while checking in and out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite and clean the higher you go the better. Dont plan on leaving the Hotel at night unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2015
Dear 250Bill,

Thank you for your feedback.

We will address the issues noted regarding service.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel in the future.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Firstly all the staff look at the ground and it takes major effort to get served. There seems to be one girl at bar who is just doing paperwork - in the way of someone actually serving. She might as well be in a back office.

The main bar is set up as a sports type bar - but the TV's are small and half hidden in cupboards. Like they were an afterthought.

We were being charged near over 15 dollars a glass for chardonnay that costs 12 dollars abottle in Australia. About 500% marked up! And 60 kina a nip for glenmorangie malt which sells for 240 kina a bottle. At 20 nips a bottle and 1200 kina revenue - that is an obscene profit margin.

The buffet food is good value. But as soon as you go to select something you have some sort of chef watching over you - who tells you exacly what is on the label next to the food you are selecting. Like you can't read or somehting. Not sure their purpose at all. I'd rather they go and help hurry up with the drinks!

And then there is the unisex toilet - ONE of them - near the bar. Neve seen that in a so called 5 star. Not sure whose idea it was. But you can see in from the smoking area. So be quick.

The whole place is better than most offered in Moresby. But that really isn't saying that much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2015
Dear John J,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

It was disappointing to read that we did not live up to your expectations, our aim is provide a safe and comfortable environment for our guests with efficient, professional and friendly service. Feeback such as yours provides us with the opportunity to improve.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel in the future.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel gets the "Try Hard" award ! Lots of dark wood grain , the biggest beds in PNG - but under the gloss it is just another PNG hotel , and not as good as some of the less grandiose in appearance.
As most visitors to Port Moresby I travel on business and enjoy a relaxing environment after a stressful day negotiating the cities traffic.
Only one Bar available , only one restaurant - both overpriced like everything else in the hotel.
Don't mis-understand this is not a BAD hotel , but is it worth more than the Crowne Plaza ??
Vehicular access is a nightmare . Staff always smiling - try hard - but mostly get it wrong .
If you enjoy kicking off the shoes , going casual, sitting around having a brown bottle and some relaxing conversation after a day of toil in paradise , as I do , well, the dress code , K14 SP's and hovering waiters just doesn't do it for me.
Guess in the end "Grand" is in the eye of the beholder .

Room Tip: Ocean facing above 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2015
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Grand Papua Hotel. It is such feedback that provides us with the opportunity to address areas we can improve on.

Our aim is provide a safe, comfortable environment for our guests to enjoy and provide efficient, friendly and professional service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back at the Grand Papua Hotel.

Regards
Grand Papua Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Port Moresby is hardly one of the tourist capitals of the world so this review is largely relevant to those who willingly or otherwise find themselves there. The business district has for decades had just one dominant hotel called a Crowne Plaza but in reality an embarrassment to the brand so regular business visitors were looking forward to the prospect of a real four star hotel. The Pap as it is known was build by the local subsidiary of Briitish company Swires which is no stranger to tourism as the owner of Cathay Pacific Airlines and the Coral Seas chain of hotels so it is rather disappointing it didnt do a better job. What is good is a bit of compitition and a new building but there are problems. Some days there is hot water and some not and until some retro fit the water ran out of the shower into the bedroom because the pitch on the shower floor was wrong. There is also a problem with the entrance which is a narrow ally which is hardly a good idea in a town notorious for crime. All in all it disappoints but better than the old Travelodge now dressed up as a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review from your stay at the Grand Papua Hotel.

I'm sure you can appreciate there are always teething problems when we open a new hotel, and I hope you will come back and to see that we are continuing to smooth out any issues from the opening.

I am confident we will continue to meet our guest expectations as our team become more confident and comfortable in this new environment.

I look forward to welcoming you back and once again many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
4.9 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
410 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Papua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Papua Hotel

Property: Grand Papua Hotel
Address: Mary Street, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Papua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Port Moresby, the Grand Papua Hotel is the newest deluxe hotel to open in PNG. Comprising 161 rooms and suites, the hotel caters to both the corporate and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Papua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing