We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant be more than Avergae”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shady Rest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for 22 nights and unfortunately did not get any dscount for my long stay. You will recieve coffee and sugar as ration and creamer will only be given if requested. Expect few cockroaches to hand around by your bedside. TV remote cannot be located by hotel staff and despite several reminders and trying different remot I gave up. It was unpleasant to walk to the TV every time I needed to change channel, adjust voulme and switch off. If I put the volume up using the manual key the TV will go off and you have to be quite gentle and adjust how you press. Room rate is reasonable in a city where everything is overpriced. PIZZA was good and value for money. The restaurant however charges like injured bull and not really value for mony. I ate twice and preferred to eat outside as there are some good eating places in the city where I was working. In terms of security it was ok as nothing happened during my stay. Room service is ok as cleaning ladies try their best to keep rooms clean. I havnt tried a Weigh Inn however local staff suggested its better than Shady & room rates are competitive as well.

Room Tip: Dont make a mistake of paying upfron for a long stay instead pay for few days and try out the place...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hidden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illuzone, Manager at The Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our staff have been made aware of your concerns and experience.
We are not sure who you had approached at the Hotel but the Management would have definitely considered a discount and also replaced the TV in your room. Remotes in PNG do have a way of walking away and sometimes are impossible to replace.

While we do get a lot of compliments for the quality of the food and the size of the servings in our restaurant and our selections range from $7 and up, we can certainly understand and appreciate that not all people will necessarily will be happy. Some items on the menu may seem to be expensive but in a country where everything from vegetables to fruits, spices, milk and even meat are imported, we are forced to decide between offering these items at all to our patrons or put a price that may be considered a little high by some people. We do make an effort to check prices at our competition regularly and in fact keep them at least 10% to 20% less than at comparable establishments. We have, however, asked our Restaurant Manager to revise the Menu and review the prices of the offerings without compromising the quality.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Shady Rest Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were initially quite worried having chosen the only reasonably priced hotel in Port Moresby. We had read some of the reviews on here and didn't know what quite to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised. Our transfer from the airport was on time and driver was quite talkative and informative about Port Moresby and gave us some good advice as to where to go and what places to avoid.
The hotel room was very interesting. We were given one of their theme room (the Highlands Room) and the large wall mural in the room was very impressive. The room was fair size with modern amenities and thank god the aircon worked as it was a very hot day. The restaurants served pretty good food and the helpings were quite large. The Pizza Restaurant was well worth the visit and the outdoor seating was quite pleasant.
The Canadian run hair salon onsite was reasonably priced and for the first time in my life I didn't feel rushed and got some great advice on hair care and management. The Karaoke Lounge was a bit noisy but a heck a lot of fun. All in all a pretty good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a local theme room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TorontoChef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This hotel seems to attract mixed reviews but my experience there is generally positive. Some recent reviews comment on the noise from the night club, which is strange, as the disco has been closed all this year at least.

The rooms are clean and the "haus meries" do a good job, though there is a down-side when they start their cleaning at odd hours of the night (such as 1:30am...), as the furniture is heavy and the walls thin. Management is aware of the problem and is correcting it.

The restaurant food is generally good. The restaurant has recently hired a Filipino chef and he is doing an excellent job, especially with the Japanese and Asian buffets. Wine is average and exorbitantly priced so stick to the local beer.

There is an upstairs bar which is noisy and unless one likes karaoke (an ancient form of Japanese torture...), maybe best avoided. However, there is a very pleasant beer garden where one can also eat and smoke if one wishes.

Generally, this hotel is quite good value in a VERY expensive town.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the deluxe rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank santafe_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Port Moresby is notoriously expensive, but if you can find an alternative to this vastly over-priced hotel with tiny rooms, do so. The restaurant, offering the home cuisine of its Indian owners, is also absurdly expensive.

Under no circumstances should you opt for the cheaper rooms nearest the adjoining nightclub or you will get no sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illuzone, Manager at The Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

While appreciate reviews whether they are complimentary or negative and they form the basis on which we try to improve our offer, sometimes it makes you wonder if the reviewer stayed at our hotel or elsewhere.

The review in question is reflects inconsistencies if not incorrect. For one our Deluxe rooms are 24 sq meters and our Premier Rooms are 44 square meters which would be considered a fairly big size for hotel rooms in our range. Secondly we are by far the most inexpensive hotel in Port Moresby and have been so for at least the last four years. Thirdly, we closed the noisy nightclub but very well patronized and profitable nightclub in consideration of our house guests comfort over 18 months ago.

Furthermore, out of 88 selections in our Menu, only 32 items are of Indian Cuisine. We are also well known for our Steaks, Japanese Food, Seafood and pizzas. Yes we are definitely reputed to have the only authentic North Indian cuisine in PNG but we are certainly not just an Indian restaurant. BTW the owners are an Australian of Brunei origin and a Canadian of Kenyan origin. The eleven chefs are Indian, Sri Lankan, Philipinno, Africans and Papua New Guineans. Upon request they will make the food as per your preferences and even make items not on the menu. Lastly, we serve items from $2 upto $24 and are certainly not considered "absurdly expensive" On the contrary in a country where we have to import everything from kitchen equipment, cutlery, paper products, linens, meats, spices, fruits and vegetables, sauces, pastes, butter and even milk, most of our customers consider us a very reasonably priced restaurant with great food. Please one and see for yourself. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel was ok for the price we had to pay, considering that most hotel prices in Port Moresby had sky rocketed in the last year or so. Whilst the hotel is quite old, the cleaning maids do try and make the best of cleaning it. However, the scent of chemicals used to clean the toilet can be quite strong and pungent!

No internet services, nor wireless but you can get a flashnet modem from the phone companies - Digicel or Telecom. There's a restaurant with good food and a kareoke bar. The room TV works sometimes, the hotwater shower in dribbles but what got to me was my noisy and drunk neighbours in the next room who robbed me of a night's sleep.

All in all, the hotel is good for a night's rest when you're out all day in meetings or workshops. It is not so good if you're planning to spend the whole day working in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illuzone, Owner at The Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for your review.

Reviews, whether good or bad, form the basis upon which Hoteliers can improve their offer and resolve any issues long term. What would help us do this more efficiently is information on the dates stayed and the number of the room occupied.

A lot of things that happen in Port Moresby are related to external factors like the power company shedding power or the landowners of the area where the water supply comes from shutting down the facility or the telephone lines are full of rain water and do not work or the internet ISP has a service outage. These are things that we cannot possibly change or even prepare for.

The things we can change are things that are specific to the hotel, the rooms or the various outlets onsite. Our maintenance staff and housekeeping do check virtually every item in the rooms and other facilities on a daily basis and our Management do double checks on a regular basis. However, the human factor sometimes means that once in a while somethings gets missed. If we had more information about issues relating to particular rooms or our services, especially the dates stayed and the room number information would certainly help us weed out problem issues much faster and fix them before they become an inconvenience for our guests.

We apologise if the water supply wasnt perfect and the neighbours made a lot of noise. We do have duty managers, security personnel and maintenance staff around the clock seven days a week and we are certain that if they had been approached, these issues would have been handled and resolved immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I have stayed at Shadys a few times over 20 + years...
I have never had my emails for bookings returned...Phone calls go to voice mail, then if your lucky ..reception will answer, and more than not they'll put you on hold & phone goes back on receiver their end....
Forget bus being there on your arrival.. never happens...get cab and price agree before heading off K15.00 Jacksons to Shadys...any problems with cab driver call for security when you arrive at shadys..Only pay on arrival....
Had mice running over the bench past the t.v that didnt work all night...
Get room at rear long way from the Mustang Sallys Bar & Disco region...It goes all night....
Staff are friendly, but again managment are terrible slack at ensuring basic mainteance is carried out in rooms, and you get average service for the high prices they charge for their rooms....Be aware Meals in their resteraunt are focused on the Indian crusiane....
If your booking bus for transfers check and triple check in advance that they have you booked.......

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitrobikes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illuzone, General Manager at The Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2010

Thank you for your reviews.

While we appreciate comments and suggestions and constructive criticism, we have come to realise that no matter how hard we try, we just cannot please everyone. We receive a lot of testimonials for the quality of the hotel facilities and the service provided by our staff. But where people seem to have an agenda we are powerless as people can hide behind a pseudonym and say things anonymously without any recourse left for the Management.

For example, a picture of what our most basic rooms used to look like once upon a time, prior to the major renovations that we have undertaken in the last 8 months, has been posted by one guest and is certainly not representative of what our rooms look like.

Also a comment like the "restaurant is based on Indian Cruisiane (Cuisine)" by another guest is not only totally untrue as less than 30% of our menu items (out of a total of 80) feature indian selections, but it also seems to suggest that there is something very wrong with indian cuisine!

Our regular patrons are quite well aware that we have continental food, steaks, seafood, hamburgers, pizza and sandwiches and lots more on our all encompassing menus.

Besides we must be doing something right since our hotel has for the last three years has had an average occupancy of 94.5%! Also, i would think that the gentleman must have found something right or pleasing about our hotel if he has stayed "numerous time in 20+ years".

Some of these reviews do not take into consideration human error or the well known "PNG factor" challenge that living and working in a third world country such as PNG quite often presents due to lack of expertise and skills available. Sometimes, it is impossible in a country such as PNG to provide the consistency that one might expect in a first world country.

However, if someone were to read all the reviews posted for our hotel, surely they would no doubt wonder how one person would have found it a great place to stay and another totally disappointing?

Our club does not run all night. Music is turned down at midnight and the bars close before 2 a.m. and no doubt the rooms furthest away from the club are of course the quietest. We do advise our patrons that the rooms closest to the to the club are noisier and that they should book the Premier rooms if they want total peace and quiet. Also we do not have voice mail on our phones at all. Our phones are manned 24 hours a day - but we certainly in the past have had problems with our phone lines and emails courtesy of the phone company and other service providers.

We are not that vain not to realise or appreciate that there is definitely room for improvement. However, posting a review six months after a stay rather than approach the Management that is onsite 24 hours at the time of the stay does not give us any opportunity to take action let alone even identify the people that have that been the cause of any of our failures so that we could help them to better understand our patron's needs.

Regardless, we do appreciate their comments, constructive criticism and suggestions and will certainly continue to work on improving our offer and service.

Best regards

Shady Rest Hotel Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My email bookings was never replied to so made a phone call bookings and informed the staff that I will be arriving via Brisbane. upon arrival at Pom no one was there to pick me up so had to get a Cab. When checking with the customer service staff was told that I did not have a booking. All the rooms were fully occupied and that I have to find somewhere else.
I went numb for 10 minutes, sat down had a break before calling another cab and told the cab driver to help me out find a place during that night.
Shady Rest is totally rubbish.
Thanks to the cab drivers in Pom.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank dudAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.6 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
126 reviews
2.9 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
50 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
166 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#6 of 15 in Port Moresby
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Rest Hotel

Address: Sec 4 Lot 7/8/9 Taurama Road | P. O. Box 206, Gordons, Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range: $128 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shady Rest Hotel, one of Port Moresby's top hotels, is conveniently located 7 minutes from the International and Domestic airports and 5 minutes from the business district. Entertainment and other options include the Cellar Steak House featuring the best steaks in town, PNG's only authentic Indian Restaurant and the all you can eat buffets showcasing the vast talents of our chefs every Tuesday and Friday nights. The Hotel also features prepaid wi-fi access, a well-stocked wine cellar, a gaming lounge, the Tapas cocktail lounge, a big screen karaoke lounge and a beauty salon with a souvenir shop. Also onsite is Mike's Pizza Company Take away Pizza featuring PNG's best Pizzas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shady Rest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing