We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely garden setting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residence Inn Paramaribo
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A lovely garden setting hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I love the gardent setting of this hotel, its pool and great customer service. The breakfast was good also. I think the linen should be updated but the rooms were clean big and effecient. The hotel is outside of the city center in a nice quiet area about 15 minutes walk from the hotel Torarica. I paid 55 dollars a night and internet was an additional 6 dollars a day. This should be free. Today there are many hotels and apts. in Suriname to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLM747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
10
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I am a resident in Parmaribo.
The entree for the small swimming pool is $ 8,30 . On top of that the food is very expenisive and of poor quality. The chicken was dry and hard to eat, the peanut butter sauce tasted like it had been in a plastic bag in the freezer for a long time. Fries were sloppy. It was all old freezer food.
Overall overpriced.
People want to earn their money too fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paramaribo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just outside the city centre, well located and relatively quite. A former embassy building which means a nice garden behind the main building as well as a swimming pool and activity area.
Possible to walk to the centre of the old town. An chinese restaurant within walking distance.
Staff that really do the best they can.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with garden look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The interior of the large rooms is a bit dated, but for Surinamese standards it's ok. Whatever downsides this hotel may have, they are all easily compensated by its remarkable staff. I have travelled quite a lot, but have never felt more welcome at any hotel as here in the Residence Inn.
Breakfast used to be 5 star (as is the staff), but unfortunately is not as extensive as it used to be! So management, please (re-)add the lovely pastries and the wider variety of fresh fruits to your delicious pancakes and eggs made to order....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afcajax2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Check in at this hotel was perfect. The staffs were friendly and helped me carry my luggage to my room. When I got into my room, I was pleasantly surprised to find it neatly arranged for me. Though it was not luxurious or gorgeous, it had everything that I needed. It was large and spotlessly clean. The air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was clean with a good shower in it. I always found the staffs attentive and friendly. They were ready to help though they needed to take some pain at certain cases. Their hard work is highly appreciated.
The restaurant serves excellent food at reasonable prices. I liked staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorLee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed here three times in April… a standard overnight, an unexpected day room when my Suriname Airways flight was delayed 9+ hours, then again overnight when that delayed flight turned into a full-blown cancellation.

There are about a dozen rooms in the front/main building, then a handful of bungalow rooms in the garden courtyard behind that main building.

The rooms are modest, spacious and perfectly clean. Comfortable bed. The bathroom in my room (108 in the main building) was ridiculously large, with a shower that must have been 10 feet long. Big LCD TV (perched oddly high with no tilt), wireless internet ($7USD/day), and good A/C made for a comfortable setup. Nothing fancy here... just basic, clean accommodation.

Behind main building is pleasant, large garden area with pool, breezy restaurant/bar, and a those colorful bungalow-style rooms. In April 2010 the mosquitos back there were pretty aggressive. I'm sure that varies with weather and season, and the hotel can only do so much about tropical conditions.

Food at restaurant is surprisingly good and inexpensive… many full entrees for less than $7USD. I particularly enjoyed the tasty Nasi Goreng and a Tofu Stir Fry that was slightly oily but freshly prepared otherwise. $7USD for a bottle of Parbo is steep, but they do serve it freezing cold in an icy champagne bucket so maybe I shouldn't complain.

The staff here deserve special credit for managing a busload of unhappy refugees from the delayed/cancelled SLM flight. They quickly assigned everyone a room, asked the kitchen to revive the just-closed breakfast buffet, attended to everyone's needs, and provided generous kindness to a worn out lot of travelers. Nice work, and much appreciated. Only wish the airline itself had been as hospitable, efficient, and friendly.

Cambio services available on a limited basis. Payment with credit card incurs a 5% surcharge, and the room rate is not inclusive of hefty government taxes of about 18%. Still, a decent single room for about $60 US is reasonable for this city.

One note: this hotel isn't within walking distance of anything… it would be a 30+ minute stroll down an unattractive and busy road to get to the center of action in Parbo, so taxis are required. It is farther out on the same road that features the Torarica hotels, and is nearly adjacent to the new Marriott Courtyard hotel.

Bottom line: I've stayed at a lot of Parbo hotels - this one certainly isn't the poshest, nor the cheapest. However, all things considered I think it is the best value-to-cost option in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRMinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

At Hotel Downtown inn in paramaribo suriname. the place is not the best place to stay, a bit expensive for the proclaimed services. However due to the excelent cusromer services and the kindness of the staffs, exspecially A staff by the name of Kabris Narris, you would want to stay there. The staff makes you feel so welcome and really comfortabe, you forget that you are at a hotel.

I want to say thank you to all of you
love tchaiko Emanuel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchaiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#7 of 31 in Paramaribo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#12 of 31 in Paramaribo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Inn Paramaribo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Inn Paramaribo

Property: Hotel Residence Inn Paramaribo
Address: Anton Dragtenweg 7, Paramaribo, Suriname
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Inn Paramaribo 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Inn Paramaribo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Paramaribo
Paramaribo Residence Inn
Hotel Residence Inn Paramaribo Suriname

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing