We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Krasnapolsky Paramaribo excellent choice”
Review of Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I visited Surinam in October 2012 and stayed for 3 nights in this city hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and the service was good. The food in the restaurant was very nice and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not a whole lot more to add. I agree, Ben D'Leon is exceptional at problem solving, and I hope to help bring business to his hotel and country! Casinos are within walking, as are all of the major churches, temple, synagog, and mosque. I loved being able to walk out to shop and eat! If you are allergic to MSG as I am, BEWARE! They LOVE to use it! The hotel is a modern feel and comfort, in a lost in time city. I hope they never turn into the vanilla scape, that a lot of the caribbean islands have become.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtsGonSailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at "Krasje" (the popular Surinamese name) for about a month for business. The hotel is comfortable, the rooms nicely remodeled, service not consistent in quality. I found the dinner menu below average and was very disappointed in the quality, the times I decided to eat there. Very little choice in dishes and when I stayed "in" for dinner, I was usually the only one sitting in the cold modern restaurant adjacent to the open lobby, lit by neon lights. Most nights I went out and I had to always take a taxi. It is not safe for a woman to walk through that part of town by herself in the dark. The locals I worked with advised against it. Not many restaurants on walking distance anyway. If you only stay for a couple of nights and are with a couple, it is different experience probably. It's certainly not the best and hotel in town, but probably good value for your money. Also, If you like shopping in the daytime, then this hotel is in a good location, in downtown and close to the Waterkant en Central Market.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room, if you like a quieter environment in the evenings. If you're used to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is large and centrally located and by all accounts it is very new or they have been refurbishing recently. the bar downstairs in the lobby was not open and when i met an old friend for coffee they were surprised to see the new downstairs area so i figure they have pumped some money into the place. I stayed for 5 nights with 1 night on a trip to see some sea turtles. the city is vibrant, feels safe and my favourite part was the food. I did not eat in the hotel as they had three fast food restaurants(downstairs) though the wonderful roof top restaurant and pool area i am sure serves food. My room was very comfortable and housekeeping was good. I got an iron and board delivered to my room quickly and everything in the room worked fine. On the down side i had two lots of wake up calls missed which was rather annoying - once it made me late for a tour and the next time i was late for the bus to the airport but the bus was also late so it all worked out well. I figure a hotel that big should invest in an auto call system. Breakfast was a simple affair, nothing fancy and throughout the hotel the staff were friendly and obviously doing their best. Did a trip to see the sea turtles at a government run facility, the journey there was a little heavy with a long bumpy road trip and a rather wet boat ride of 3 hours but the reward was to see a nest of about 100+ baby turtles scambling madly for the ocean to avoid predators. Also had a day trip to Nieuw Amsterdam area and visited an old plantation house. My day trip was with the owner of a local tour operator called Access Travel and Serano must be the coolest guy in Parimaribo and in one day i learned so much about the city and the people. There is a very neat art gallery just around the corner from the Krasnapolsky showing off local artists, i was very impressed by the style of art, full of colour and such different styles. PJ (something) is the top place to enjoy an Indian style Roti which you eat wit your hands, fabulous and also had a great Javanese meal, chinese meal and some great food at Loghouse, more of these in separate reviews. Heading back to the country for another business trip shortly and cant wait to discover more of this charming former Dutch colony. Flight options are difficult and beware of the visa you need on arrival at the airport you will need cash as they do not take cards. Apart from hotels no where seems to accept cards so cash is the order of the day.

Room Tip: I had a room next to the elevator but the corridors are very long so just ask for a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanilla_Custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Krasnapolsky for two nights that bookended a trip to Bergandal Resort. Both times we stayed at the Hotel Krasnapolsky, there were problems (with our group plans one time and with one persons personal problem the second time).

In both cases, the Marketing & Sales Manager , Ben D'Leon jumped into the problem and got it straightened out. For the group problem, he got the schedule and the details changed promptly. And the second problem, where a member of our group forgot her pocketbook in a taxi (which contained all her money, her passport, and her camera, among other things), he worked overtime trying to track the taxi down, and arrange details of how to handle the problems if the pocketbook wasn't found. Luckily, the pocketbook was returned by the taxi driver the next day [big tip of the hat to the taxi driver].

Other reviewers have given very informative reviews of this hotel, and I really can't add anything new there.

I would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: The elevators are at the end of the [long] hall, so if walking is a problem, ask to get a room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Wonderful experience ! Hotel staff was pleasant and friendly. Helpful when needed . Pool is now open and sparkling clean .The restaurant with a service bar is adjacent to pool (Parbo is their national beer which is quite good ) .Orange tours were onsite to book tours .Due to the hotel's central location restaurants and shops were in abundence .Taxis were always available (taxis range $5-$8 ) Read INJules review regarding regarding Mastercard as many people in our group only had Visa at this date .Also read the days and times stores and restaurants close .This quirk with Visais being worked on and I am confident that soon in the future Visa will also be accepted...but check before you go .The rooms were clean ,modern and very comfortable . The shower had a "rain" shower head which was delightful Hot water was always available ..Bath towels were thick and fluffy .Beds very comfortable .Air conditioning worked well .This is the hotel for your stay in this wonderful , friendly and welcoming country .

Room Tip: Get on the 6th floor for a greater view from your balcony ! But as far as the rooms go...all are mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluemamalu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Krasnapolsky as part of a packaged group tour and were not disappointed. The rooms and public areas are updated and well-kept. Beds were comfortable and rooms had flat screen TVs with awesome cable. Nice bathrooms and even great hot water (when you turn the handle the right direction). Desk personnel were pleasant and helpful. WiFi is available for a fee. You can get locks for in-room safe at the desk. Stayed in two different rooms as we book-ended our stay and in neither of the balcony doors locked.

The food at the hotel restaurant was very good, but the wait staff were not very pleasant. There are several options for dining in the hotel including the hotel restaurant, a coffee shop, Popeye's chicken, and a pizza restaurant. Breakfast buffet was pretty standard, but could stand some improvement.

The pool and Cabana restaurant/bar were under construction during our stay. The hotel offered complimentary use of a pool at another hotel across town and arranged free transport for us, though it took a little while to get worked out. This was because the man working the desk was unfamiliar with how to do this. Once a more senior desk clerk got involved things progressed more quickly and the pool at the other hotel was very nice. Based on the updates done to the Hotel Krasnapolsky the pool/restaurant area is likely to be very nice when completed.

IMPORTANT TIPS for travel to Suriname: BRING A MASTERCARD with a pin number!!!! ATMs are plentiful in Paramaribo, but very difficult to find one that takes Visa. Many stores/restaurants/etc. also only take Mastercard. BRING MORE US DOLLARS OR EUROS than you would typically take on a trip as several tour operators would only accept these and not local currency or credit cards. EVERYTHING CLOSES AFTER 4 PM and ON SUNDAY. I mean everything! Nearly all the stores, even convenience stores, were shut up tight after 4 pm M-Sa and all day Sunday so plan accordingly. If you need to buy snacks, bottled water, soda, or souveneirs keep this in mind. Even some of the restaurants were closed after these times. Paramaribo is a bit of a desolate place in the evenings and on weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank INJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
241 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
441 reviews
1 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#12 of 31 in Paramaribo
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Domineestraat 39, Paramaribo, Suriname
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range: $92 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krasnapolsky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for comfort and convenience and centrally located right in the middle of Paramaribo's bustling downtown area, Hotel Krasnapolsky is the perfect choice for tourist and business travelers alike. When staying at Hotel Krasnapolsky you are near commercial, financial and site seeing areas. The recently renovated hotel creates a light and spacious atmosphere, with its sleek, minimalistic and modern interior which responds to the wishes of the modern traveler. All 84 rooms contain tasteful and comfortable furnishings, modern bathroom with rain shower and a private balcony which gives you wonderful views of the bustling city scene, the beautiful pool terrace or far- reaching views extending over the city rooftops all the way to the bridge across the Suriname River. Furthermore the hotel offers numerous dining facilities, conference rooms and services, swimming pool, gym, a lively shopping arcade and a convenient booking office capable of arranging travel plans, tours and activities of any nature. Hotel Krasnapolsky has received the international Travel life Gold Certificate, the highest award for environmental friendly and sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krasnapolsky Hotel Paramaribo
Hotel Krasnapolsky Suriname/Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing