We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly pleasant!”
Review of Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Suprisingly pleasant!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Arriving in Suriname, my expectations were quite low, so obviously my outlook on my accomodation would be low as well. I arrived in the country about 2am,so the sights were not necessarily 'pleasant'. Nevertheless when I arrived at the hotel, the front desk was very accomodating, when I stepped out of the elevator I was esctatic. The clean shiny floors and walls, huge glass like vases gracing the hallway. Amazing...The room was nice, AC worked well, room service cleaned the rooms to my satisfaction. The breakfast was delightful, a wide assortment of local cuisine. The reason for 4 stars is that the pool was closed for renovation my for my entire stay and my balcony door could not lock (ggod thing I was on the 6th floor) Otherwise, woul've given it 5. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAdPino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    79
    29
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
44
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The rooms have all been redone and are very modern and clean. Shower was great.
WIFI speed was so slow I thought it was dial up, and you had to pay for it. I had that problem else where in the country too. Breakfast buffet was cold and substandard. Lots of food just not anything you would want to eat. Within walking distance to shops and the market but the street signs are confusing. TAKE A MAP.
Front desk personal was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same ask for one at the end of the hall if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDDots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Most everything was fine, no problems on a 3 day stay except the breakfast buffet had lukewarm to cold food each day. Not a really great selection either, but that could be due to the overall condition of the country.

Rooms are quite comfortable and clean with good beds. Outstanding shower. CNN in the rooms but wifi is not free.

Overall ambiance is typical developing world, with Popeye's Chicken taking a prominent position in the restaurant area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I stood at the front desk - watching the lobby clock - for exactly 28 minutes while checking in. The slow-motion nature of that process would have driven a lesser man to sheer madness. There wasn't a queue.

The gentleman behind the desk discovered our rooms were in fact not ready well after check-in time, and since we weren't willing to come back later, he undertook a laborious process to put me and my friends in different rooms. 28 minutes later, we were finally able to let ourselves in.

Our room faced the street which wasn't too noisy and provided a charming view over Parbo's main shopping street. The room reeked of air freshener bulbs which we promptly hid in drawers to stem the flow of noxious fumes. My friends' room faced the pool side and they reported some noise from later-evening revelry.

There was light to moderate mildew in the shower. Linens were clean and fresh, but the bedspread was a bit worn and pilled in locations. It was a very comfortable bed, nonetheless. The shower curtain was too short and water spilled profusely onto the bathroom floor. Such an easy problem to fix, one wonders why it is left in this condition to slowly ruin their own tilework.

It required multiple attempts to get an internet access code. Eventually it was obtained and worked reasonably well for this part of the world. $5USD per day for the privilege.

Hotel is in a great location, near lots of shops and eateries.

Breakfast buffet is poolside and pleasant: menu is standard Dutch fare, with lots of bread and cheese. Some fresh fruit. In an incredibly cheap move which I've never seen in this area, if you want the buffet cook to make you an omlette or scrambled eggs, they charge you $3USD! Boiled eggs are gratis. Coffee is the dreaded Nescafe.

Overall room quality was slightly above Torarica Hotel/Casino but below Spanhoek down the street. Bungled front desk arrangements definitely soured my opinion of this hotel, though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRMinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suriname
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Never stayed because of the rude individuals on their telephone while attempting to make a reservation. Was quoted a price for two nights and told them to hold the room. Called back with credit card information (next day) and was then given a much higher price. Was told individual who quoted the first price did not know what she was doing. This individual them began to mock and laugh at at us while trying to explain the first quoted price given. If treated like this before even arriving, would hate so see how they would treat paying hotel guests once their.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paramaribo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The hotel is very good situated, very close by the centrum. Also l loved the food. The staff is very kind. Also the rooms are clean and huge

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnoukSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

The Hotel is well situated in the downtown, but has no garden or areas to walk around. The Hotel itself is in need of renovation and looks a bit dated. Staff are friendly and efficient but the relationship between quality and price is not good. Would only consider staying here if the better hotels were booked out as happened in this case.

  • Liked — It was downtown
  • Disliked — Too expensive for a room with a hard bed and poor TV reception
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#13 of 31 in Paramaribo
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krasnapolsky

Property: Hotel Krasnapolsky
Address: Domineestraat 39, Paramaribo, Suriname
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krasnapolsky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for comfort and convenience and centrally located right in the middle of Paramaribo's bustling downtown area, Hotel Krasnapolsky is the perfect choice for tourist and business travelers alike. When staying at Hotel Krasnapolsky you are near commercial, financial and site seeing areas. The recently renovated hotel creates a light and spacious atmosphere, with its sleek, minimalistic and modern interior which responds to the wishes of the modern traveler. All 84 rooms contain tasteful and comfortable furnishings, modern bathroom with rain shower and a private balcony which gives you wonderful views of the bustling city scene, the beautiful pool terrace or far- reaching views extending over the city rooftops all the way to the bridge across the Suriname River. Furthermore the hotel offers numerous dining facilities, conference rooms and services, swimming pool, gym, a lively shopping arcade and a convenient booking office capable of arranging travel plans, tours and activities of any nature. Hotel Krasnapolsky has received the international Travel life Gold Certificate, the highest award for environmental friendly and sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krasnapolsky Hotel Paramaribo
Hotel Krasnapolsky Suriname/Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing