We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, Excellent service!”
Review of Unsei - Yaki

Unsei - Yaki
Ranked #76 of 105 Restaurants in Paramaribo
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Steakhouse, Sushi, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Excellent service!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice location. Lovely atmosphere. We went for the a la carte menu, instead of the teppanyaki. We all ordered meat dishes. The meat was tasty and well prepared. The service was really good, friendly and proffesional waitress. A bit expensive for Surinam standards

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaysonH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an excellent evening of dining with friends”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant has interesting architecture which creates an atmosphere to be enjoyed.The restaurant is very clean and the rest rooms are also.You are greeted on arrival by smiling faces and the service was great.chefs show was fun and the food so tasty.i was with five friends and we all totally enjoyed the dining experience.The owner is on hand and visits tables for a personable touch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 356panels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT EXPERIENCE AND DEFINATELLY WORTH EVERY MOMENT !”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

well,after much skepticism,i found myself at Unsei Yaki today,and let me say this to everyone on the border of trying this SUPERB restaurant...DO NOT HESITATE to go.
having eaten all over the world,including in japan(the place sushi came to exist),i never ever expected the food to be so good as i experienced today.
i had previously tried sushi-ya and found there sushi very lumpy and soft,suspected the rice to be the problem as lots of people don't know there is a Rice for sushi too. but enough about that place.
i first found myself at a crossroad when presented with the sushi menu,what to take ? would it be good? u know all the stuff u wonder about just before actually placing ur order,well let me say that was not an issue today, cause as soon as our waiter felt the hesitation in our voice he started going through the menu with us this was perfect,and definitely took the edge of as we knew exactly what we were gonna get .
15 minutes later we were eating from a beautiful sushi boat presented to our table with 'I KID U NOT "THE BEST sushi i Ever had. it was to die for ! the tempura maki with shrimp is phenomenal and the best in Suriname BY FAR !
afterwards we enjoyed a nice glass of wine and sat in the lounge are in front for almost an hour,my friends could not believe we had such a blast and we were all blown away by the level of professionalism shown by their staff,and the friendliness and atmosphere
it was all around a great night and we will definitely be coming back very soon,to try out some other dishes they have to offer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very good japanese restaurant with fairly good Sushi and Sashimi. Very entertaining staff. good for a group dinnner.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lot's of Fun with Good Food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly Japanese tapan yaki, place. The food is predictable for this type of restaurant, but that's not a bad thing. The chefs are as entertaining as any I have seen! The atmosphere is friendly and in typical Suriname style, everyone is a new friend! The waiters are wonderfully friendly. It can be expensive, but worth the treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unsei - Yaki also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 

Been to Unsei - Yaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing