We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic atmosphere and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baka Foto - CLOSED

Baka Foto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Baka Foto is closed 31st September 2016. They are now in Bodega & Grill de Waag and PUUR. A new fine dining restaurant is opening in Commewijne in the middle of 2017.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Romantic atmosphere and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Service was really nice and professional and the Food and wine tasted very good. The only problem is that like in many places in Paramaribo you can't pay with VISA Card.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lakotaEssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    100
    25
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pornic, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“you have to try it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The location is just great, inside an old fortress.
The view on the river is lovely, now that the riverwalk has been finished.
This restaurant upgraded sharply thanks to this promenade in Paramaribo.
The food (and prices) for lunch and dinner are really different.
A lovely place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank y h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the detour to Paramaribo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

First, we were very impressed with the UNESCO rated streets of Old Paramaribo around the Baka, and the cleanliness of the streets, absolutely first world! Baka itself welcomes you in an old fort, a romantic courtyard, then a cosy restaurant inside, and the unforgettable terrace over River Suriname. Food is excellent, made with love and a point of difference. A real Chef is at work. His wife welcomes guests, and all waiters are very friendly and warm. Looking forward to my next dinner there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingw0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
236 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I came here for lunch. It was ok. I ordered a sandwich.. the bread was a little hard. The staff only came to talk to me after about 15 minutes and cleaned othef empity tables before mine. They also broght my drins only afyer the food was already on the table... the deco is cool but when you really look the garden is not well kept. Maybe at night it passes unoticed. Would not come back.

Helpful?
Thank FlaviaBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Historic location along the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The restaurant is located along the river in Fort Zeelandia, one of the oldest buildings in town. The restaurant has a nice view on the Surinam river, although the view is somewhat hindered now by the new wall against the water. Whenever I am in Paramaribo (for the third time now) I always have once dinner in Baka Foto because of its location and its excellent food. The cuisine is international with a Surinam touch. Service was impeccable. Although prices are maybe high by Surinam standards, they are still reasonable in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank huib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baka Foto also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing