We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paramaribo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zus & Zo Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 38 Paramaribo B&B and Inns
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our first visit to Paramaribo, we found this place comfortable, with a good size room, AC, share bathroom and WiFi. We had a nice welcome and felt good at that place with a great palm trees park just in front.
The room was clean, the toilet and showers a little squeezy, but with a nice spray.
They have a popular restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    5
    11
    3
See reviews for
2
11
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Zus & Zo is an extremely well-located backpacker's hostel. Right across from the entrance to the Palm Garden, Zus & Zo is a perfectly pleasant place to spend a few nights. Rooms are adequate to the task for which they are intended -- mostly clean, with a sink and an AC that kinda works. Not luxury, but if you want that, shell out a few hundred dollars more for the hotels. One major negative was that our mosquito nets were not helpful, and kept falling down (plus, our 4-bed room only had two to begin with.)

Staff is generally multilingual and helpful, and can set up excursions into the interior and provide thoughts on what to do. Ask them to order cabs for you, since it's hard to hail on the street and they are able to haggle the prices down (tip -- anything in central Parbo should be under 12.50, going to an outside area like Leonsburg should cost 15). The service in the cafe downstairs is often atrocious though -- I just started flagging down passing waitstaff to try to grab a coffee or beer. That said, Earl is absolutely amazing. Zus & Zo should be promoting him -- if he's working on a night you are there, ask him for his recommendations on things to do in the city.

They also have a cute giftshop with some local products.

Room Tip: One our last day, I walked into a few of the empty rooms and noted many seemed much cooler than mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Zus & Zo was perfect for what I was looking for - a cheap place to sleep and a good location in the center of the city. The sister guesthouse, Twenty4, is also a good alternative if you're looking for a place that's a bit quieter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

They only had room for me for my first night in Paramaribo - simple, clean rooms and spotless bathrooms in a wonderful old building. Varied menu and good coffee in the restaurant below, with fast wifi. Staff very helpful, and the historic centre only a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Zus & Zo has a lively bar/restaurant area but the rooms are for backpackers on a budget only.

They are only 15 euros a night for a single room but it is very basic - a single bed, washbasin and aircon of limited effectiveness with shared bathroom.

Their sister guesthouse, 'Guesthouse 24' at Jessurunstraat 24 nearby is the same price and the rooms are bigger and airier. I would recommend staying there instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is the budget option if you ever want ot find out what how the Surinam people became world famous soccer players. I stayed here in June 2012 for five nights (not consecutive). It is cheap, it has everything from a very helpful staff to a well stocked bar and a restaurant.

Beware that the prices for single rooms may vary. I paid 15 euros although they booked me in a double room. I insisted on it, since they moved me without me knowing. But hey this is Paramaribo. They're a friendly bunch and they left their Dutch csutoms in the Netherlands. So enjoy staying here. There are are other budget options around Paramaribo, but they cater mainly for parents of Dutch trainees and are situated way out of the city centre.

This one is right in the middle of Paramaribo. Say hello to the dog that lives in the Palmentuin, he is really too fat and to lazy. And to the friendly nightporter! From Eric, the guy that had so much trouble with the Toeristenkaart while entering through Belem, Brazil.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I live in Paramaribo right now, so I can only speak about the restaurant. It is clearly geared towards the tourists, who are willing to pay more for less food than the locals are. I got the cheapest thing I could find on the menu (as I am a Volunteer) other than fries or a piece of cake - a small Greek salad. It was tiny. It was fine, inasmuch as quality goes, but tiny and rather on the higher end of reasonably priced. But again, this restaurant caters to the (mostly Dutch) tourists, who are willing to pay more than locals. I don't plan to return as I can get a large plate of roti (which lasts me two to three meals) for seven dollars less than I paid for the tiny salad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paramaribo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.3 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Petite Maison
Hotel La Petite Maison
#9 of 31 in Paramaribo
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#7 of 31 in Paramaribo
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Suriname
Queens Hotel Suriname
#15 of 31 in Paramaribo
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zus & Zo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zus & Zo Guesthouse

Property: Zus & Zo Guesthouse
Address: Grote Combeweg 13a, Paramaribo, Suriname
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Zus & Zo Guesthouse Suriname/Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing