We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great staff”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great staff”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is in a Dutch-style older building, which is a far cry from the other hotels you'll see in the area. Although it's not located exactly in the touristic part of the town, it is easily a 10-15 minute walk away (and the walk is pretty safe, even at night). The room is basic, but very clean. Same with breakfast - nothing to write home about at all, but its enough. The location and staff (especially daytime staff) are what earns this property its 4 stars. I know they were working on renovating to modernize it a little more (with an actual hotel bar, which the hotel currently lacks). One point lost for the lack of business facilities (we were in quick need of a computer and a printer a few times, which weren't available from the hotel). Wifi is good, and the front desk is happy to print out about 2 pages for free. However, they were very generous to let us use the "lounge" area when no one was using it to conduct business meetings without hassle, which was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnicethemenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am usually very glad to leave hotels when I am on business, but I felt quite sad leaving this hotel as the staff were so nice and the place was so relaxing. I came in on a flight in the early hours after a 14 hour journey with no luggage, as my suitcase with all my clothes did not make the connecting flight from Miami. So anxious and weary I was very happy and surprised to see my room, which was very modern, very clean and comfortable, complete with a dressing gown and slippers-which I really really needed and absolutely no problem connecting to the Wi-fi. A great place indeed!

Room Tip: This is a great hotel for business travelers. It is very quiet, the staff are very friendly and real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you need a hotel just for sleeping, this is very fine.

The room is perfectly clean. A disadvantage is that there is no outdoor space or garden. Breakfast is OK although they don't offer all the things they put on their breakfast list ...

Friendly staff.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoKa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I've stayed here on three occasions, while travelling through suriname and back to par'bo.
everybody was extremely kind, the room was perfect, very inexpensive for what you get, nice breakfast, the staff was great! i would definetly reccomend this place which by the way is in the old downtown area, nice colonial houses.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I booked this hotel at very short notice. The owner kindly arranged pick up from the airport for me.The room which had a nice shower was basic but clean. The breakfast was basic. There was a restaurant but it did not open in the evening however the owner arranged for food to be delivered to the hotel from local restaurants. Overall quite a basic hotel with helpful friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is small but ideally located for a quiet w/end away or for long stay. Quiet street in historic district. Slam bang near to everywhere on foot. Décor: tasteful and exudes 5 star expectations. Service: way beyond 5 star!!!!!!!!
Would be remembered.

Room Tip: Search for a good hotel w/economy in mind ends right here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ps1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

When i entered the hotel,the foyer seemed quite dark. It seemed like they were cutting down on the electrical bill. Furthermore,they could not find my reservation. Finally when i checked in and got into my room it was very damp and it had a bad smell. The room was poorly furnished. Letting the staff know about this didn't seem to help much. Since it was very late ,i went into my room and tried to sleep,but the matrass was very uncomfortable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Vishaal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
#16 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#8 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q-Inn
Q-Inn
#6 of 31 in Paramaribo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Heerenstraat 9, Paramaribo, Suriname
Phone Number:
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio is located in the middle of the historical city center of Paramaribo. The strikingly beautiful hotel has an architectural style which is characteristic for the colonial city. This hotel makes for a perfect base for exploring Surinam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palacio Suriname/Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing