We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good choice”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you need a hotel just for sleeping, this is very fine.

The room is perfectly clean. A disadvantage is that there is no outdoor space or garden. Breakfast is OK although they don't offer all the things they put on their breakfast list ...

Friendly staff.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoKa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I've stayed here on three occasions, while travelling through suriname and back to par'bo.
everybody was extremely kind, the room was perfect, very inexpensive for what you get, nice breakfast, the staff was great! i would definetly reccomend this place which by the way is in the old downtown area, nice colonial houses.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I booked this hotel at very short notice. The owner kindly arranged pick up from the airport for me.The room which had a nice shower was basic but clean. The breakfast was basic. There was a restaurant but it did not open in the evening however the owner arranged for food to be delivered to the hotel from local restaurants. Overall quite a basic hotel with helpful friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is small but ideally located for a quiet w/end away or for long stay. Quiet street in historic district. Slam bang near to everywhere on foot. Décor: tasteful and exudes 5 star expectations. Service: way beyond 5 star!!!!!!!!
Would be remembered.

Room Tip: Search for a good hotel w/economy in mind ends right here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ps1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

When i entered the hotel,the foyer seemed quite dark. It seemed like they were cutting down on the electrical bill. Furthermore,they could not find my reservation. Finally when i checked in and got into my room it was very damp and it had a bad smell. The room was poorly furnished. Letting the staff know about this didn't seem to help much. Since it was very late ,i went into my room and tried to sleep,but the matrass was very uncomfortable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Vishaal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel Palacio has a truly excellent location in the heart of Paramaribo from which you can explore the major attractions by foot. Rooms are spacious quiet and spotless.
The personnel is very friendly and can assist you in booking one of the many tours to Suriname's beautiful jungle or other day trips.
Only breakfast is lightly disappointing lacking fresh fruit most of the times and little variation in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandFan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Located about 10 min walking distance to center. This small hotel is new. Room is spacious and clean. We don't like the style of decoration and furniture personally. It's a bit outdated. The bed mattress is not comfortable. Breakfast is simple.

The friendly manager is a great access of the hotel. He was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
#16 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#9 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q-Inn
Q-Inn
#6 of 31 in Paramaribo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Heerenstraat 9, Paramaribo, Suriname
Phone Number:
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio is located in the middle of the historical city center of Paramaribo. The strikingly beautiful hotel has an architectural style which is characteristic for the colonial city. This hotel makes for a perfect base for exploring Surinam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palacio Suriname/Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing