We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
116
122
30
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
122
30
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river fish pond entertainment district relaxing environment choose this hotel free weights walk into town hotel lobby sister hotel resort facilities business hotel the air conditioning internet speed guest rooms writing desk tennis courts nice restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 279 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Choose this hotel above Torarica because I found a room with breakfast cheaper than Torarica. If that is the case, it is no brainer to go to Royal. You have access to all the resort facilities at Torarica and this hotel is rated one star higher. Their breakfast buffet is almost similar to Torarica, except they have some exclusive items (salmon, nuts) which is not served there. Their inside breakfast area is small and get’s crowded easily especially when it is raining outside and everyone ones to eat inside. They are a bit slow with replenishing items, probably because their understaffed for the peak hours.

After 10 years they started renovating and half of the hotel rooms are currently undergoing this. If these rooms were filled, the breakfast area would be over crowded.

Renovation is indeed needed, although the rooms are still clean and functional. But for a hotel pretending to be five star, they are dated. Also the restrooms in the lobby were not working (no flushing).
This high score was given because of the favorable price.
If you need peace and quietness (or if the price is the same or lower than Torarica) Royal is the choice.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank HenkC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwongafa, Manager at Royal Torarica, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the feedback. We have taken good notice of this and look forward on welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

We spent three nights here and found it very pleasant and convenient. Due to a delayed plane, we arrived at 4 a.m. in the morning and yet still found the staff welcoming and gracious. The room was well-appointed with all the comforts that we needed. We enjoyed both the buffet breakfast as well as dinner outside near the pool.
We also swam in the pool, which was very clean and also enjoyed looking at the fish in the pool by the gardens. It was easy to walk into town to go to a restaurant at night.
Recommended!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DougS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwongafa, Manager at Royal Torarica, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward on welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times while I was in Suriname for business and it was always a pleasant stay. The gardens are awesome and you can choose from two swimming pools cause this hotel is right next to Torarica Hotel and Casino. There is also a very nice bar at the side of the river. There are tennis courts and you join yoga classes and there is an outside pavilion that serves as a gym. It's also close to many restaurants and you can walk into town. Rooms are big and clean and you can ask the front desk for anything you need. The people working there are very nice.
I will certainly stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank littleraven28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwongafa, Manager at Royal Torarica, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for the feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and look forward on welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018

Service great! People are really kind. The rooms can use a bit of a upgrade but for being in Paramaribo we believe its the best hotel to stay in! The breakfast is very nice and a lot of choice! We had a wonderful time at Torarika!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mara20101968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwongafa, Manager at Royal Torarica, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward on welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

The Royal Torarica is an oasis of luxury in the heart of Paramaribo, right in the center of the entertainment district and within walking distance of Parliament and the Presidential Palace and the historic center of Paramaribo. This up-scale Hotel is part of the Torarica Group of Hotels and caters to the needs of the discerning traveler. The hotel lobby offers style and charm with a beautiful 4-story atrium which guarantees a grand entrance upon arrival. The hotel is beautifully furnished with high end furniture and art. Check-in was fast and efficient. The panoramic glass elevator takes you to your floor and the guestrooms are well appointed and comfortable and offer views of the entertainment district (with bars, restaurants and disco's) or views of the pool-area and the adjacent Suriname River. The rooms feature a mini fridge, a safe, satellite tv and central AC. The bathroom is very stylish and offers all the required amenities, along with a great rain forest shower. The hotel offers an excellent breakfast buffet. In my opinion the best breakfast in Paramaribo when considering the taste and quality of the items served. The restaurant is also one of the best in Suriname, offering international cuisine with class and sophistication. The service in the hotel is top-notch and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel grounds are beautiful with a path taking you through the garden and the fish pond with big Amazon native wild fish swimming around. There are many areas to sit and relax and perhaps read a book. The pool is a nice and quiet because only hotel guests are allowed to use these facilities (many competing hotels sell day passes making their pool too crowded). The hotel breathes a calm Zen-like atmosphere and is ideal to relax or get some work done (when on Business). The hotel has a small well equipped gym and a small business center. Guests can use the free wifi and the hotel offers convenient and safe on-site parking. Hotel guests also have full access to the resort facilities of the Torarica Hotel next door: big pool, tennis courts, gym, sauna, jacuzzi's, beach volleybal, pier and marina, etc. I have stayed many times at the Royal and will cetrainly stay there again. I rate this hotel as the best hotel in Paramaribo.

Room tip: River view rooms offer a nice view of the pool and the adjacent Suriname River
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcsr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews