We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place”
Review of Royal Torarica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Torarica
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Pornic, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a lovely place”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is really nice. The service is friendly and rather efficient.
The rooms are ok, although they might need a little "refreshment". In fact hte main issue is the air conditionning that in some rooms smells a bit.
The garden is lovely, the sight on the river great.
The swimming pool is quite and pleasant.
The restaurant is ok.
Most of all you are in an area where you can reach several restaurants, just walking.
I do most of the time attend this hotel when visiting Paramaribo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    93
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
54
18
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure if I wanted to try it, however what a great surprise ..... Great hotel with so many places like bar, pool, gardens, restaurant,...what a great breakfast!! With soft live music....most important, people working in this hotel, in every detail like Surinamese ones, give such a great treat an great smiles.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have been traveling for business to Paramaribo quite a lot and the staff is very friendly. They accomodate very good to a business traveler needs. Internet connection is not that good sometimes but other wise is very quiet and the rooms are nice. The have an ok gym and you can use the next doors which is better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool since the street can get very busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Location is ideal, we took a 15 minute walk and we ended up in the city whilst passing several historic sites along the way. The hotel staff was pleasant, some didn't speak English though. The room was very clean, a bit small but cosy enough for two persons (no more). The towels were very cheap and had to be changed after each use. The maid service made rounds morning and evening to ensure towels were changed out. The pool was still under construction but it is huge and I believe it will uplift the hotel once completed. I only visited the Sauna and hot tubs on the day before I was due to leave. However, the hot tubs were all booked up. We didn't realise we had to book early to get to use them. The restaurant was not as scenic. The food was regular nothing special. I ate omelette (greasy most times) and breads. The best part of the stay was the gift shop that was downstairs that had much needed toiletries.

Room Tip: Poolside view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_Maliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place. Staff friendly, bed comfortable, seemed clean enough, shower was hot and with good pressure.

I didn't spend enough time in the restaurant or pool area to provide much comment on the facilities.

Just a bit of a problem with moisture control by the smell of it.

Heard the Mariott was better on that front

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Rooms, Restraunt , Garden and Pool areas excellent, Service and Staff First Class....bring a pair of binoculars if you are a twitcher.....varieties are amazing.

Pool is salt water.....eats at pool bar....Parbo is beef to go for....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Well, what should we say about this hotel, royal or not, adding plusses and minuses.

A big minus is some of the guests, in particular the Dutch tourists, known to be noisy in public spaces, and barely dress when they are in a hot climate. Therefore, in the breakfast room of this "business hotel", there were loud people in tight shorts, undergarment, and slippers, and we were confronted with the sight of armpit hair and hairy legs, a big no-no during breakfast in a hotel that is supposed to be posh.
The hotel should change their policy and require appropriate attire in the breakfast room; that is if they want to go on pretending they are a business hotel, or they have brand themselves rather as a fun family holiday hotel (and change their prices and menu).
The food is very expensive, 25 dollar for a simple salad in a middle income country is quite extreme, with a poor choice of dishes. The menu offers only European style dishes, no local pom or bakkeljauw, but mozzarella salad and pasta. If we wanted to eat Italian, we would go to Italy, where one gets a better quality for a better price. Room service: they promise to deliver in 15 minutes, but you wait up to 1.5 h before the order arrives. The air-conditioning in the rooms is effective, but very noisy, it kept us awake.

The breakfast is great in options, but the restaurant has only a few chairs, not enough for all guests. After a group ate in the early morning, most of the food items were finished, and these were not replaced despite the staff's promises. So we barely had a breakfast at 9 am.
The showers need more intensive anti-mould maintenance in this tropical climate, but otherwise the bathroom was adequate and clean.

Well, for you to judge the Royalty of this place, now some definite plusses.
The staff is really great. Cleaning ladies, restaurant staff, desk staff, they are very well trained, capable and friendly, they serve you anyway they can. They also respect the no disturb sign on the door at all times. The garden is amazing, and the car park is adequate, always found a spot to park.

Conclusion: This business hotel is not royal to our taste, mainly because of noisy/tipsy, improperly dressed Dutch tourists that flock the place, the breakfast issues, and the limited food options without local choices. However, the staff made up for this, and our stay was pleasant altogether. If only the hotel would impose a dressing code in public spaces inside the hotel to save their business image, and if one could also get some of the great local food here, this hotel would be a really good option for a stay in Paramaribo.

Room Tip: We were at the lively street sight, good option, as the street is hundreds of meters away, no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REIZIGER142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.1 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#8 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Paramaribo Princess Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Torarica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Torarica

Property: Royal Torarica
Address: Kleine Waterstraat # 10, Paramaribo P.O. Box 2927, Suriname
Phone Number:
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Torarica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Torarica is the most exclusive and prestigious hotel in Suriname. Our hotel has all the features desired by high-end business travellers, it is also very suitable for holidaymakers with a longing for abundant luxury. The chic hotel with its unique glass elevators and high ceilings bathing in a beautiful starry sky of light will provide you personal service, originality, modern 'state of the art' meeting rooms, high speed Internet and a beautifully designed saltwater swimming pool. Retreating at Royal Torarica will make you feel like royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Torarica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Torarica Hotel Paramaribo
Royal Torarica Suriname/Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing