We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars”
Review of Royal Torarica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Torarica
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Rooms, Restraunt , Garden and Pool areas excellent, Service and Staff First Class....bring a pair of binoculars if you are a twitcher.....varieties are amazing.

Pool is salt water.....eats at pool bar....Parbo is beef to go for....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 241 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Well, what should we say about this hotel, royal or not, adding plusses and minuses.

A big minus is some of the guests, in particular the Dutch tourists, known to be noisy in public spaces, and barely dress when they are in a hot climate. Therefore, in the breakfast room of this "business hotel", there were loud people in tight shorts, undergarment, and slippers, and we were confronted with the sight of armpit hair and hairy legs, a big no-no during breakfast in a hotel that is supposed to be posh.
The hotel should change their policy and require appropriate attire in the breakfast room; that is if they want to go on pretending they are a business hotel, or they have brand themselves rather as a fun family holiday hotel (and change their prices and menu).
The food is very expensive, 25 dollar for a simple salad in a middle income country is quite extreme, with a poor choice of dishes. The menu offers only European style dishes, no local pom or bakkeljauw, but mozzarella salad and pasta. If we wanted to eat Italian, we would go to Italy, where one gets a better quality for a better price. Room service: they promise to deliver in 15 minutes, but you wait up to 1.5 h before the order arrives. The air-conditioning in the rooms is effective, but very noisy, it kept us awake.

The breakfast is great in options, but the restaurant has only a few chairs, not enough for all guests. After a group ate in the early morning, most of the food items were finished, and these were not replaced despite the staff's promises. So we barely had a breakfast at 9 am.
The showers need more intensive anti-mould maintenance in this tropical climate, but otherwise the bathroom was adequate and clean.

Well, for you to judge the Royalty of this place, now some definite plusses.
The staff is really great. Cleaning ladies, restaurant staff, desk staff, they are very well trained, capable and friendly, they serve you anyway they can. They also respect the no disturb sign on the door at all times. The garden is amazing, and the car park is adequate, always found a spot to park.

Conclusion: This business hotel is not royal to our taste, mainly because of noisy/tipsy, improperly dressed Dutch tourists that flock the place, the breakfast issues, and the limited food options without local choices. However, the staff made up for this, and our stay was pleasant altogether. If only the hotel would impose a dressing code in public spaces inside the hotel to save their business image, and if one could also get some of the great local food here, this hotel would be a really good option for a stay in Paramaribo.

Room Tip: We were at the lively street sight, good option, as the street is hundreds of meters away, no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REIZIGER142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Business hotel with excellent ambiance to work while in the hotel. Complimentary wifi and breakfast are excellent. At the back of the Hotel there is a very nice Japanese garden and a great saltwater pool. The only thing missing for a perfect relaxing atmosphere is a hot tub.
Servicing personnel is friendly and the hotel is clean. The room has a good working desk and chair. The library and business room on the 3rd floor have a great view of the entrance lobby of the hotel.
On the downside there is limited closed wardrobe space in the room, there is sufficient open space but I don't like to see my dirty close in the room. Also you have to walk on the outside to enter the gym in the main hotel building if it is raining you get wet. The gym also doesn't have options to do floor work. Compared to Sister Hotel Torarica, Royal is significantly more expensive and has better conditions to do work. However, the renovated rooms in the Torarica are very nice and I am not sure if you want to pay for the difference when staying in one of these rooms.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Henk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The weekend before my 25th birthday (April 29 2014), I was planning on staying in the suite with a terrace at the Torarica Hotel & Casino. Because of some miscommunication my room got sold before arrival, but being loyal to the Torarica Group I received an upgrade to the Penthouse in Royal Torarica at the same price. The view from that room was AMAZING (the 4 day parade was happening right in front of the hotel). The staff treated me like royalty and it really felt like a special birthday. I enjoyed every second of my stay, swimming, making use of the jacuzzi and sauna and the breakfast on Sunday was great with life music from young children. The only downside was that it was one night. I will definitely book this room again in the future.
Oh and there is a coffee machine in the room, that was a little to advanced for me; instructions in the room would be nice : D.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melany v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a few nights in this hotel during our holidays in Suriname.
The hotel is very well located in Paramaribo, close to the historical city centre and a number of restaurants, it has an air conditioning and a nice terrace. They have a late check-out.
Unfortunately the hotel is way too expensive for what they offer, not a good value for money:
The bathroom is not clean enough, with mildew in the shower.
The windows in the room do not open and despite the airco it is quite humid inside.
The breakfast is OK but you won't get there fresh juice despite the abundancy of tropical fruit, just a nectar, very sweet.
The prices are all in US dollars.
The service leaves much to be desired as it is very slow and not really client-oriented :
We returned from a jungle tour on an early afternoon and had to wait for our room to be made ready for a few hours!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in a river view deluxe room for a week. There are many restaurants in Paramaribo from which to choose. Suffice it to say that we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant on three different nights during our stay.

The chef was amazing and very personable.

The hotel itself is nice and clean. The grounds are just amazing. On top of all of that, the massage was very good and very reasonably priced.

I most definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: River view deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We took a package tickets + hotel. The hotel focuses on business travelers.
Breakfast buffet was very good and was included in the rate. I suggest you go early to get the variety of bread and rolls etc, because they do not refill quick enough or they run out of and do not refiil. Besides that the tables are not being cleaned up fast and as a consequence you have to wait for seating.
Furthermore at the desk you cannot change more than 100 and per couple. We do not know the reason maybe it is the law.
We took a room at the riverview but it was partly river view because the huge trees cover the river view. The gym is oke and swimming pool too. The chairs at the swumming pool can use some new covers. Some were like grey due to the rain, I guess.
The service was excellent. We requested to change linens daily and this was done without any complain.
The concierge different face everytime did a good job, however we noticed that they have different jobs so sometimes you have to wait at the counter while you see them going up and down doing room service. The food is not cheap. I ordered an ice cream, well
I was shocked of the price. We did not make use of the restaurant for dinner since Surinam has very good restaurants. All by all it was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#9 of 31 in Paramaribo
164 reviews
3 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#12 of 31 in Paramaribo
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Babylon
Hotel Babylon
#13 of 31 in Paramaribo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Torarica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Torarica

Address: Kleine Waterstraat # 10, Paramaribo P.O. Box 2927, Suriname
Phone Number:
Location: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range: $115 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Torarica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Torarica is the most exclusive and prestigious hotel in Suriname. Our hotel has all the features desired by high-end business travellers, it is also very suitable for holidaymakers with a longing for abundant luxury. The chic hotel with its unique glass elevators and high ceilings bathing in a beautiful starry sky of light will provide you personal service, originality, modern 'state of the art' meeting rooms, high speed Internet and a beautifully designed saltwater swimming pool. Retreating at Royal Torarica will make you feel like royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Torarica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Torarica Hotel Paramaribo
Royal Torarica Suriname/Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing