We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, average food, pricey”

Bodega & Grill de Waag
Ranked #6 of 115 Restaurants in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In Bodega & Grill de Waag are you welcome for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We have an extensive lunch menu and tapas menu. In the evening a lot of grill platters with an Caribbean touch. There is an international wine list and there are special selected wines in the wine by glass system. We're serving fair-trade coffee of the brand PURO
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude staff, average food, pricey”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Such a shame, actually a beautifull restaurant, but STAY AWAY!!

I went there on valentine's day in 2011, it was just horrible we did not even stay to eat! First of all we came in and just stood there for minutes, no one came to great us at all , now when we decide to sit at a table, "suddenly" a waiter notices us and says that we cant sit there. when we explain to him what had happened and why we sat there, and he looked at us with an "whatever" attitude and replied " tonight is for people with reservations but OK you're already sitting" and he just walked away leaving us confused. after that we waited for almost a half hour for someone to come and take our order, that never happened. Finally my husband got up frustrated and asked someone to come and take our order, we sat the for 15 minutes no one came. That when we decided to leave!

We decided to give De Waag another chance in august 2011, and boy were we sorry. the service was slow, we ordered a medium-well tenderlion steak. mine was to well done and my husbands litterally had blood dripping from it, when we told the waiter about, it was as if we were from Mars, they didn;t appologize let alone offer to compensate us. We left there very very mad.

now we go to Ji-Ji's just next door at the SMS pier,The food is great, the staff is friendly and cares about ur opinon , and you have a view of the river.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank carita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    88
    35
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
844 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“nice, good food, not cheap”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

nice place, good Italian food, european prices, good atmosphere

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolineenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Paramaribo”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

On our last night in Paramaribo we dined with a group of six. None of us were disappointed in the meal or ambiance at De Waag. Most of the tables are in an open air, but covered area that is in a magnificent setting near the riverfront. Server was knowledgable and friendly. Our group tried everything from a bit of everything including appetizers, salads, soup, steaks, and pasta dishes. The tomato soup with pesto was to die for. The steaks were surprisingly good and pastas were good as well.

The meal was perfect with the exception of our server being overwhelmed near the end. The restaurant got very busy around 9-10 pm and it was difficult to get our check as there were only two servers working the entire restaurant.

Overall, the restaurant is fantastic thanks to great food, good service, and a beautiful setting.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank INJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayenne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good restaurant, bad service, nice place”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Italian restaurant they says, I might have mistaken something because on the new menu it's more international food.
The place is good, good decoration, like the openess of the site and a plus this is quite central.
the service: wich service ? I'm still waiting an answer at my first sentence:" Good evening sirs, I would like a table for one to eat". Bad waiters, didn't wants to walk, didn't want to serve, didn't want to sell. Looks like it's here that they gather the refurbished waiters of the other restaurant. If you like service, go to mc donalds you 'll get more than at this place. The menu was without traduction. The only waitress that was eager to talk says to me that if I didn't understand the menu then I shall ask to her...and leave in the same second.
the food : nothing italian here, but good international food. I like the effort of presentation. They serve me fries and vegetable like 5 minutes before the spareribs. That make then cold when I got my wine and my pork. But good quality. I try the tiramisu, without any convictions, just to eat something italian here. Better not have tried it. Since when there is corn flakes inside the tiramisu ? wasn't good and neither was close to a tiramisu.
If you like tiramisu, don't give it a try in this place. They serve better one in the pizzahut, close to the Marriot Courtyard.
I wasn't seduce nor please by the time I've spend there. The global quality of this deserve a 60 % discount on the bill. Really I paid the same price (200 SRD) for same diner (3 meal, 3 drinks, 1 coffee) at spice quest and at garden of eden.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jno l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Okay place to eat”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

In one of the oldest buildings in Paramaribo which is beautifully restored. The food is international.

Helpful?
Thank JuanPigot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega & Grill de Waag also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 

Been to Bodega & Grill de Waag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing