We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Asuncion does not have many 4 and 5 star hotels. And only one in the downtown area, and that is the Crown Plaza.

I have stayed here three times for work. The staff is what make it a very pleasant stay. They are very friendly and polite. So friendly I actually even know some of their names: Vanessa at the front desk, Jessica and Ramon in the bar, Jose, the executive chef, and the food and beverage manager, a friendly Brasilian fellow, all go out of their way to ensure you are taken care of and satisfied.

The other waiters and bartenders all all great as well, but I have forgotten their names.

The food in the hotel is quite good. An excellent breakfast. The tapas in the lounge are very good as well.

The pool are is small, but it is quiet and the pool is refreshing.

The gym is slightly above a typical hotel gym, but not by much. The equipment is not exactly modern. I am afraid to run on the treadmill as I think I would break it.

Rooms are comfortable, modern and clean.

The only draw back is noise from the street on the weekends. There is a bar behind the hotel that blasts music until 4 am. It has woken me up, and I sleep with ear plugs. Hopefully the manager will try to get them to shut it down earlier.

If you find yourself in Paraguay, this hotel is a good choice and the staff will make you feel very welcome.

Room Tip: The hotel offers quiet rooms, but they are still exposed to the music that is blasted from the bar b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flycycletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    87
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
14
21
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I really don't know how anyone could not rate this hotel top of the line. It is a newer looking hotel right in the heart of the city. Great rooms, very nice bathrooms, clean and updated in good condition. Price is not bad either. You pay more in the USA and get a lot less I can assure you. Has a very nice gym well equipped and in good condition. Good restaurant and plenty to do around the hotel. Seems very safe and secure as well. A little quiet on the weekends in this area of town, but that is ok too. A great place to stay for a few days or a quick overnight. Not far from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked via IHG for 105$ ASAP rate. Late check in was courteous and friendly, and was provided my room facing the courtyard promptly. The room was smaller than expected but clean, with a king bed, large LED TV, free Wi-Fi, good sized bathroom with shower only.

As highlighted by others, the gym 's cardio equipment is in need of replacement, but it is functional, there is a nice spa and the pool was appreciated, if in need of a good straining for leaves on a daily basis.

The breakfast included in the price was of good quality with nice mix of local and international options. The restaurant also offers good international fare at good prices, and nightly tapas. Many good dinning options close by, like Lo de Osvaldo next door.

The downside : the hotel overcharges for remises and tours. Do contact travel agencies for better deals.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My first visit to Asuncion. I will not stay here again. very dated average size rooms the ironing board was a joke it literally folded out from the TV. Did I mention that it is in a very bad neighborhood.Not worth the price staying at another hotel next month.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_C_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Adrian_C_24,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are truly sorry for the conditions you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed in room 402 3rd to 5th November, 2013. Room was relatively clean this time with much newer carpets. What bothers me is that despite the comment made last time about the vent above the shower being extremely dirty, no one paid attention and yet again the vent in this room was extremely filthy. The point of writing these comments is that we hope that Hoteliers will take action where it is needed. Alas my comment has fallen on deaf ears.

Breakfast was much improved with some excellent servers and I certainly could not fault the offerings that were made.

The Front desk continues to be excellent in particular the young lady from Belgium, I really could not imagine this hotel with her. She could easily fit in the very best 5 star hotels.

We took a taxi from the hotel to the airport and what a disaster that was. Taxi number PME 459 on the way to the airport stopped to fill up with gas; now I wish someone would explain to me why a taxi should fill up on an assignment with a customer. The taxi was filthy with cigarette ends in the door. The car sounded like the bottom was scraping along the road as we made our way to the airport. This was such a bad experience; I would be better off hailing a taxi on the street and pay far less than we did!!!

The spa and gym are very well appointed and I was very pleased with the service that I had.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is an oasis in a city that's pretty run down. Staff was very welcoming and if it is your first time in Asuncion, they are more than happy to guide you around. Breakfast was very good and the OJ was a favorite of all of us. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean.
Only drawback is the gym. Needs more equipment, more weights for the machines that they have and better staff. They have a nice spa and a Pilates room with reformers.
The restaurant to the right of the hotel is superb!!! Can't remember the name but it's really good. 904 across the street, is worth stopping by and having a drink. Great vibe!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fitgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here for a total of seven nights while presenting at a conference also held in the hotel. Without exception, the service and the food were outstanding. I especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had traditional Paraguayan items I'd never seen before; try everything at least once - even the soup. Although I've never had soup for breakfast before, I found it surprisingly appetizing. The staff could not be more helpful. From everything to making a few photocopies for me at the front desk, to calling taxis, to offering advice on places to see and restaurants to eat at, to changing currency, they are the greatest. The restaurant food was world class - with exceptional presentation! I was wowed!!! Our large conference (800+) was held without any untoward incident and with everything we needed in place and on time and in excellent condition. I highly recommend this exceptional hotel and its staff for business events and as a base for tourism in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
#5 of 57 in Asuncion
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Guarani Asuncion
Hotel Guarani Asuncion
#10 of 57 in Asuncion
415 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dazzler Asuncion
Dazzler Asuncion
#6 of 57 in Asuncion
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cecilia
Hotel Cecilia
#8 of 57 in Asuncion
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Margaritas
Hotel Las Margaritas
#12 of 57 in Asuncion
233 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hub Hotel Asuncion
Hub Hotel Asuncion
#2 of 57 in Asuncion
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel
Address: Cerro Cora 939, Asuncion 1511, Paraguay
Phone Number:
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Asuncion
#16 Business Hotel in Asuncion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel is a two-tower hotel featuring 74 well appointed guest rooms. All guest rooms are luxuriously decorated and offer the city's best views of its historical centre. All rooms and public areas are equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access. The hotel's facilities include two executive floors, a swimming pool, fitness centre, 24-hour room service, and a unique lobby bar with outdoor cafe, business centre, meeting & convention facilities, boutique, hairdresser, 24-hour laundry service, and parking garage. Just a few blocks from the Crowne Plaza and reflecting Asuncion's colonial past are several historical buildings, among others, the government palace, which was founded in 1537 along the Paraguay River, the Spanish-era cathedral and the oldest railway station of South America. Some popular activities include visiting Asunción's botanical gardens, which feature more than 100 species of tropical plants, the archaeological museum or enjoying a scenic cruise on the Paraguay River. Paraguay, formerly called The Giant Province of the Indies', was born as a result of the encounter of the Spanish conquerors with the native Guaraní indigenous groups. The mixture of these two distinct cultures was a process that gave this area unique characteristics that distinguish it from all its neighbours in South America. The living manifestation of this 'union' of civilizations is expressed most notably in the use of two languages, Spanish and Guaraní. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Asuncion
Asuncion Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing