We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Asuncion
Posadas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good option”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Good hotel overall. Prices are great, and it offers different types of room, numberwise, which is in case of travel groups, is great. Breakfast is excellent, american type, with scramble eggs, all types of hams, jams, and so on. Hotel employees were excellent as well, very cooperative and helpful. The rooms were kind of small though (I am referring to the 4 and 5 people rooms'). Although the bathroom was enormous.
The only thing that I didn't like much was the location of the hotel. It is not a nice area, and if you don't have a car, is not easy to move around. Also, you have to be careful at night.
But overall, I would definetely recommend this hotel for your staying in Asuncion.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pulgadamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
25
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Basic, comfortable, and clean rooms. Restaurant serves buffet breakfast (included) and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shenval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed at this Hotel in May, 2009. It was clean, the rooms were comfortable and the staff was very helpful. There seemed to be no english speaking employees, but several spoke German. The breakfast was excellent as was the available evening dining.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

We are from the U.S. I was able to get a rate of 160000 guarani a night ($40) by emailing the staff. The entire hotel property is kept very clean. The breakfast buffet has many options to choose from. We also ate dinner at the hotel almost every night & really enjoyed it, especially the dessert(25000 guarani/per person). The staff was also very helpful, especially considering our limited ability to speak spanish. They ordered pizza for us, called taxis, gave theater suggestions etc.
Regarding the room, we found the bed very hard & the pillows uncomforable. The TV is tiny- but did have about 5 channels of english. The A/C worked great, but no heat. No complaints about the bathroom.
I was disappointed by the pool. It is shaded throughout the day b/c of its placement & the water is freezing. Also the 3 beach chairs on the patio are very uncomfortable as they are made of wood with no padding.

  • Liked — The nightly dinner buffet offered at a very reasonable price
  • Disliked — The hard bed & uncomfortable pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank shoogie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

A fabulous hotel in the not too visited city of Ascunsion in Paraguay. The hotel boasts clean and spacious rooms (single costs around $25 a night) a small swimming pool, same day excellent laundry service and a free pick up to and from the airport. Refridgerators in rooms with a selection of beers and cold drinks. The staff are excellent too. I would thoroughly recommmend this hotel. It also is very well located in the downtown area of Ascunsion.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Damian120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
1.0 mi away
Asuncion Palace Hotel
Asuncion Palace Hotel
#15 of 58 in Asuncion
245 reviews
4.2 mi away
Portal Del Sol
Portal Del Sol
#31 of 58 in Asuncion
143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residencia Leones de Castilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aspen Hotel & Apart
Aspen Hotel & Apart
#13 of 58 in Asuncion
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cecilia
Hotel Cecilia
#10 of 58 in Asuncion
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chaco
Hotel Chaco
#32 of 58 in Asuncion
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmas Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmas Del Sol

Property: Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Address: Espana 202, Asuncion 1311, Paraguay
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asuncion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmas Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palmas Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmas Del Sol Hotel
Palmas Del Sol Asuncion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing