We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Filadelfia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really bad service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was there a few month ago The quality of the Rooms and Service are really bad!!!
The air condition was so loud, I could sleep with AC on. At the morning when I would leave the Hotel, there was nobody at the Attention to pay! I had to wait more than a hour to pay this Hotel.
I'll never come back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
25
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asunción, Central, Paraguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here by myself for two weeks while doing a scouting mission on Asuncion. Its location being right next to the downtown made it easy to see many sites during the day, and to visit many of the nearby restaurants.

My room was very tidy, and quaint. Since I was staying for a long period of time, I opted to get the cheapest deal I could, and I felt that I got good value for what I paid.

The pool area is a nice place to hang out and visit with other travellers. The breakfast was not bad, although the fruit seemed a bit stale at times. It could be because I was arriving for breakfast right before it closed.

The business center was adequate, although due to its distance from the WiFi hub, the speed was very slow. At times I did a speed test and was barely getting 150kb/s. Couldn't stream video, and could barely make a Skype video call. Often I could overcome this by going to the business centre and plugging straight in with the cable.

The staff was VERY nice, and treated me quite well. Two of their staff speak good enough English for you to communicate if your Spanish is poor like mine. I'd pass along their names, but they could have moved on by the time you read this. That said, everyone in the place was incredible nice and warm, including the guard that sat out front.

You wouldn't want to entertain clients here, as it's a little close to the "bad part of town" without actually being in the bad part of town. I'd recommend just going around the corner to Bar San Roque, which is the oldest restaurant in town, and serves great food.

The bed was pretty hard. The A/C was quite loud, but effective. My sleeps weren't that great, but it wasn't the hotel's fault. During my stay there were quite a few free concerts going on downtown that were loud enough to hear from anywhere in the vicinity.

I have recommended it to others who are staying more than just a few nights. It's a nice way to save money on your travel budget. Slightly higher than a hostel's charge, but with far more amenities and privacy. I'd stay here again, but only if I need to save money and stay for a long duration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Our guide In Paraguay booked us in to this hotel and we were pleasantly suprused with the presentation on arrival. All amenities were clean and most importantly all worked and the staff were polite and helpfull.
Would stay there again when in Ascunceon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flarvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Not bad. Enough for the price. Best average-hotel in Asunción's downtown, since every other is terrible quality or already too expensive. Not much aroun in downtown at night or weekends, so recommended if you MUST stick around downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schwotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel is located at the edge of old town. They offer free airport pickup but no drop off at the airport even if you don´t use the pick up. The breakfast is the best I have had since being in South America. Good wi-fi. A small splash pool. Friendly staff, but just enough English to get by.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have stayed at Hotel Palmas Del Sol for one night in June 2011. It was o.k., nothing special but also nothing to complain. Good breakfast, free internet. Reception staff speaks almost no english. Room all right. Spacious, with TV and minibar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I was here in November of 2009. The price for a single was $32 per night and a double $44 per night. I found the rates very reasonable considering the nice condition of the hotel. Rooms were spacious. Rooms have cable TV and a refrigerator and snacks. Breakfast was included. They have two computers in the reception area with free internet. The guys at the front desk were cordial. Very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GringoEnMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
2.5 mi away
Asuncion Palace Hotel
Asuncion Palace Hotel
#16 of 57 in Asuncion
252 reviews
2.7 mi away
Portal Del Sol
Portal Del Sol
#34 of 57 in Asuncion
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residencia Leones de Castilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Westfalenhaus
Hotel Westfalenhaus
#7 of 57 in Asuncion
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cecilia
Hotel Cecilia
#9 of 57 in Asuncion
234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Chaco
Hotel Chaco
#30 of 57 in Asuncion
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmas Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmas Del Sol

Property: Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Address: Espana 202, Asuncion 1311, Paraguay
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asuncion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmas Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palmas Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmas Del Sol Hotel
Palmas Del Sol Asuncion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing