We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient with great service”
Review of Portal Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portal Del Sol
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Boston,Ma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, convenient with great service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed with a group of 12 at this hotel and we found the service to be excellent. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. We arranged a dinner, for example, with 15 additional guests and the hotel staff were wonderful! The hotel is very clean and well maintained. I had a private room on the 2nd floor which was quiet. Another guest who had a room in the back of the hotel had a problem with barking dogs at night; I always travel with ear plugs just in case! The bed was very hard which was acceptable to me but some guests might not like that type of bed.
This hotel is in a nice neighborhood and is walking distance to a grocery store, small shops and a laundromat/lavanderia.A large, beautiful mall is about 1-1.5 miles away. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms had a queen bed and a single which could accommodate a family or a group of 3. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    43
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
31
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for an unexpensive yet very convenient hotel in Asuncions most expensive neigborhood, come to Portal del Sol. Decent service, free wlan, decent food (breakfast included), clean and safe. Of course you would not expect a luxury hotel at the rate they are charging; considering the low rates, the hotel is top (at my stay, I paid less than half the ibis was charging). Rooms and bathrooms are small, but ok. The minibar was well filled and surprisingly unexpensive (most items cost about 50 cent). Drycleaner/ laundry service within hours, 50 cent per shirt, 1,50 a jeans. Very nice people, several languages at the front desk. Beautiful garden; small pool though and somewhat old furniture. Location is unbeatable if you are looking to stay in the financial/ business district. You can easily walk to the Shopping Del Sol mall, as well as to several restaurants and bars nearby, taxi drive to other important locations cost about three to four dollar; downtown about 15 to twenty bucks. Overall - I would book the hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room; during my stay, I had a very quiet room on the second floor, but I have heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel provided very consistent service and food during my stay in Asuncion. The rooms are descent, but are not the highlight - a bit dark and sheets are a bit rough - but they are a good size. The hotel is located in a very safe and pretty neighborhood. There are several excellent restaurants in walking distance to the hotel. There is also a nice park close by if you enjoy running. The staff speaks English are very helpful and reliable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLovers
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Portal del Sol in Asuncion from Aug 25th til Sept 2nd.
This hotel is on a quiet street not far from a supermarket and the Shopping del
Sol shopping centre. The rooms are quite spacious,the bathroom has a large
shower and the bathroom itself is also quite spacious.
Breakfast was included in the price,and is served from 6 til 10 on weekdays and
6 til 11 on Sundays.It includes juice,coffee,scrambled eggs,ham,cheese,different
breads and pasteries.
The service at the reception was great,however,it helps to know some Spanish
because not all of the receptionists know English.
The hotel seems to always have someone on call if you require a taxi.We took a taxi
to one of the local restaurants and it was $3.50 CAD each way for 4 people.
The maid service was great,and the doorman was so helpful and friendly.
Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again.The only disadvantage is that
it is quite a ways from downtown if that is what you prefer,otherwise this hotel
is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days during a vacation & Habitat for Humanity build. This German run hotel has excellent rooms, A/C, comfortable beds, ample space, excellent showers, large and with a great hot water capacity. The restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with the stay. Their pastries differ day to day (hope you get the apple cake), the fresh juices are a real plus with 5-6 choices at least daily including peach, mango, guava, and the standards of orange, grapefruit and apple. Fresh papaya slices were available every day. The remainder of the breakfast was repeated daily - scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs & ham, cheese, sliced meats, breads. Dinner is extra, but if you choose to eat there the choices always include in the buffet a vegetarian, a chicken, a beef or pork choice. Many salads are offered as well as a delectible dessert. Wine and beer are available. Sit outside, poolside, or in their spacious dining room.

The front desk staff is very helpful.

This hotel is located 30 minutes from central Asunción by bus 28 or 30. It is a short 15 minute walk from a very first world mall. If you go to the mall be sure to get a latte at the coffee shop and sit outside in their large patio.

Issues with the hotel are truly minor. The towels provided are VERY THIN, some threadbare! Although the beds are comfortable, the pillows tend to be lumpy. Being somewhat from the city center, a taxi might be needed to get to a restaurant. However, being located by many of the embassies there is a wide selection of very good restaurants within a 5 minute cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viarueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in 4 different hotels during our trip to Paraguay and Portal Del Sol was by far the best value. The staff was great. The room was clean. The breakfast was really good. The WIFI was fine. We liked the area. It is away from the noisy city center in a quite, safe area. It is near the Sheraton and the very nice "Del Sol" shopping mall. We had a rental car and the parking in front was limited but we always had a spot. This hotel will be our first choice now. I don't know about the "star" rating. Tripadvisor rates it 2.5 which seems fair by world standards. But for Asuncion, you can pay a whole lot more and not have any better than Portal Del Sol.

Room Tip: Not too many places have a nice family "quadruple" room like we stayed in here. Two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaruja, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Booked this hotel as a four star hotel. It is definitely not four stars. It is a two or, at very best, a two and a half stars hotel.

It has none of the niceties one would expect from a four star accomodation. Rooms are recently refurbished but are small. Furniture is new but very, very modest. Room decor is poor and rooms are actually humble.

There is an in room safe, but it is very small. I could not place my Nikon 3000 dslr inside it and mine is the smallest NIKON dslr.

For the US$ 50.00 paid per night for a single room (July/2012) it was not a bargain and one will find better accomodations for that price.

The use of their computer in the lobby and wi-fi, free of charge, is a nice thing. The included breakfast buffet is also nice, but nothing special.

Water heating is individual and the boiler is small (maybe 50 liters), barely enough for one person to take a shower. A couple will have difficulties to shower one person right after the other. Obviously no tub available.

Air conditioning was silent and adequate for winter. I am afraid it might be too small for the hellish summer in Asuncion, but this is just a supposition.

Hotel is family friendly and caters mostly to Germans.

The neighborhood is nice and quiet, but the hotel is very far from anything. The Sheraton and Ibis and a couple other hotels are also in the same neighborhood but these hotels have public transportation right in front of them. But different from those hotels, which are located on Aviadores del Chaco avenue and right in front of a shopping center, Hotel Portal del Sol is about a half a mile from public transportation and anything else. At night even men will feel uncomfortable walking to and from public transportation and/or the shopping center.

The sidewalks are very poor. Therefore, if you depend on public transportation, either you walk on the street pavement, running the risk of being hit by a car, or you will have to soil your shoes in the poorly maintained sidewalks.

Garden is desperately needing maintenance. The two pools are tiny and barely adequate for children.

Bedding, linen and towels were clean, but once again, humble. Towels were changed daily.

All things considered the hotel would be "so so".

The worst problem experienced, which changed the experience to a definite "no! no!" category, was the stench of sewer coming from the bathroom.

Even though the room was recently refurbished, the stench is caused by poor hidraulic project and/or execution. Therefore, to minimize the stench, I had to request special attention to that problem every day. The employees tried to minimize the problem but with not much of a success.

Would not go back and would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfcarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asuncion hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
#24 of 57 in Asuncion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.2 mi away
Asuncion Palace Hotel
Asuncion Palace Hotel
#14 of 57 in Asuncion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paramanta Life Style Hotel
Paramanta Life Style Hotel
#33 of 57 in Asuncion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residencia Leones de Castilla
4.2 mi away
Hotel Cecilia
Hotel Cecilia
#8 of 57 in Asuncion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Posada del Cielo
Posada del Cielo
#28 of 57 in Asuncion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal Del Sol

Property: Portal Del Sol
Address: Cap Denis roa 1455 y A Eusebio Lillo, Asuncion 1500, Paraguay
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portal Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portal Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Sol Asuncion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing