We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Place for a Stroll”

Botanical Garden and Zoo (Jardin Botanico y Zoologico)
Broadway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place for a Stroll”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Compared to the Botanical Gardens say in Rio, this more like a very large city park that happens to have a small zoo, an out-dated natural history museum (very small), and a few pleasant flower gardens. My husband and I enjoyed a stroll here with our daughter who we had not seen in several months. It was a wonderful place to walk hand-in-hand and enjoy each other's company, and I imagine it's a great place to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city, but it's not what I would consider a tourist destination. If a relaxing walk is what you need, this is a good place. Don't forget insect repellent. As soon as you leave the main path, you will need it! A good place to buy local crafts including jewelry and cloth bags. Taxis are allowed to pass through the gate and drop you off near the museum or the zoo. Our driver volunteered to wait and pick us up in two hours, and he showed up as promised to whisk us away to our next stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    46
    51
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

245 hectares of land, green and many huge trees, amazing to spend the day, pic nic are allowed. Very well maintained and in great shape, either some more garbage been will be welcome. Definetely worth it to see!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katyaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Homage to the Whale Eye”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to the museum at the botanical gardens and saw the whale eye. This is mentioned in the book At The TOmb of the Inflatable Pink Pig by John Gimlette

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OsoBlanco87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURG, CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do not care for it”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

There is nothing great to see, durty, it is sad to see the animals , they need care and bigger cages.
Also we were told to be very carefull because we could be rob, so the place is not safe to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good place to visit”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We took a bus here, and It was a great escape from the city. We did not have high expectations for the zoo, but it turned out to be a cute place. It was the first time we saw a hippo being active on land.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MayflowerSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Garden and Zoo (Jardin Botanico y Zoologico) also viewed

 
 

Been to Botanical Garden and Zoo (Jardin Botanico y Zoologico)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing