We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Asuncion is a great city to see if you have never been to Paraguay. The Sheraton is nice place with an american feel. Good rooms, what you would expect from a Sheraton. Not speaking Spanish is not a handicap in this hotel as it may be in some others in Paraguay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and you may get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 471 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

ive been there already a couple of times.
as always it was a good stay!
nice and friendly stuff, good service and hygenic atmosphere.
breakfast and food in general is very good.

the only weak spot in this hotel are the very thin walls,... having kids or active couples next to your room could be a bit annoying!

anyhow, i have been to a some other hotels in asuncion as well, this one was the best so far.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelloWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

It is very well located close to the airport, despite being towards the city center - outside rush hours it takes you less than 15 minutes to the airport. the rooms are quite big and modern. I got a room facing the back which was very, very quite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are definetely quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NunoGoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I´ve stayed in the Sheraton Asuncion before and there are several characteristics of this place which I like:

1. The nice and large rooms with very comfortable beds
2. The breakfast buffet with its large variety of foods
3. The gym/pool/sauna
4. The location is quite convenient - with shopping del sol just over the street.


What I do not like:

1. The relatively high rates (USD 180-200/night during the week).
2. Laundry, mini-bar, wifi internet in the rooms, restaurant - it´s a rip-off!

With the new World Trade Center being built just about 200 meters away, I assume that prices will go up further.

Check out the internet for the best rates.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Have been in the Sheraton before but stayed two night only this time. They were sincerly willing to help at check in but their english could not go far: other guests (english speakers) wanted to pay at check in to avoid delay at check out and it become complicated. Although I understand one of them handed a small cash to obtain the ok for prepayment, it was really no need: clercks were willing to do their job but they could not understand guests intention and they where not used to it. None of them had ever travelled abroad to en english speaking country and they were all young their ability to understand was limited.
My room (upgraded thanks to a Starwood p.g. card ? ) was wide, bathroom was small and just correct and toiletries essentials and no charm. Two double beds (rather standard in southamerica) but winter covers: I do not keep aircon freezing and it was too hot to sleep well.
Safe was out of battery (told reception, twice before the fix it) and shower needed a skill to activate it (push button broken - why not fix it..) as well as the plug for the computer.

Hotel is recently built (within 10 years I think) and is already sliding downhill and I am probably too demanding. Anyway I dont feel like I want to return here. Sheraton should mean "great" and it was not the case.

Internet charged separately 15 usd per day (very bad !)

Breakfast either in the club lounge (available all night since midnight, that's a very good idea) and a good buffet in the restaurant on the ground floor.

I had a dinner on the roof restaurant: it was too cold to seat oustide, the pool and a little of the view over Asuncion make the place attractive. The sushi buffet plus some other options and a nicely grilles surubi were ok, and the waiter was extremely kind to explain in detail how it works and arranging every option.

This is Paraguay: never found any less-than-super-attenctive staff and if someting goes wrong is due to lack of experience and not to lack of good intention.

I often sleep in Asuncion and when I am willing a good place and feel good I prefer Villa Morra Suites. There are few other options I will tell you about after next test.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinthia_fragnaud, Manager at Sheraton Asuncion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give your important opinion.

We are deeply concerned regarding the situation you have experienced and to learn about these circumstances, that I understand, were not at your expectations.
I would like to kindly ask you if you can contact me at your convenience.
Also note that we have taken corrective action regarding English training for our front desk agents and the maintenance problems you have mentioned.

Without any doubt your comments are our most valuable tool to improve our service and I truly hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Cinthia Fragnaud | Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My colleague and I were booked into the Sheraton by our office and were very pleased with the choice. As there is not much to see or do in the old town, this modern hotel, on the edge of the city, was very nice as it was adjacent to a shopping mall, supermarket, and several decent restaurants.

The lobby was impressive and the restaurant excellent, for all three meals. The staff were personable and attentive without being suffocating or phony.

The rooms were comfy and the amenities up to standard.

Our room rate included breakfast but not internet, the only down side of the stay. Highly recommended for the business traveler.

Room Tip: They are adding rooms to one end of the hotel -- try to get a room at the opposite end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent last weekend in Asuncion and picked Sheraton Hotel.The rooms are not very large,but they are comfortable.I booked one of the club floors rooms and had soda,water,coffee for free all the day long.Starting at 6 pm,we had free appetizers too,which were a great treat for our stay.
I had the bad luck to be at the hotel during constructing.I`d never imagined that the noise would be so loud in a SAturday afternoon!!

Room Tip: Easy access from the airport!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
0.2 mi away
Dazzler Asuncion
Dazzler Asuncion
#5 of 57 in Asuncion
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Asuncion
Ibis Asuncion
#3 of 57 in Asuncion
680 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Mision Hotel Boutique
La Mision Hotel Boutique
#1 of 57 in Asuncion
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Asuncion
Aloft Asuncion
#9 of 57 in Asuncion
167 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel
0.4 mi away
Esplendor Asuncion A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Asuncion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Asuncion Hotel

Address: Aviadores Del Chaco 2066, Asuncion 1749, Paraguay
Phone Number:
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Asuncion
#3 Spa Hotel in Asuncion
#4 Business Hotel in Asuncion
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asuncion
Price Range: $168 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Asuncion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy modern accommodations near Casa de la Independencia Museum and Estadio Defensores del Chaco stadium with a stay at Sheraton Asuncion Hotel. Guests staying at our hotel in Asuncion, Paraguay enjoy upscale rooms with many great amenities, in a perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Asuncion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Asuncion
Asuncion Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing