We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asuncion Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Portal Del Sol(Asuncion)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$86
$76
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cecilia(Asuncion)
$71
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palmas Del Sol(Asuncion)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Westfalenhaus(Asuncion)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
110
106
41
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
106
41
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh ceilingsyogurtbusy streetthird floorshower pressuredouble doorsbedside lampsbreakfast is servedprivate balconyair conditioninghot waterhamminute walkpineappleflat screen tvlarge roomold style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 265 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

As Peace Corps Paraguay volunteers, my husband and I have to travel to Asuncion quite a bit. We stayed at several other hotels here, and the Palace Hotel is by far the best! The palace has beautiful historic architecture and a recently renovated interior. It takes us 5.5 hours to get to Asuncion, so the first thing we do is crash onto the extremely comfortable and clean bed! The rooms include mini-fridge, a/c, thick window curtains, bedside lamps, and modern bathrooms with bidets. Free WIFI too :) Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony!

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The owner speaks English well, and is there almost every morning.

The complimentary breakfast seems wonderfully lavish in comparison to other local hotels. They typically have sliced ham, cheese, and fruit, cereal, yogurt, and cake. And milk, juice, coffee, and tea to drink.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OverStreetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I really didn't know anything about Asuncion, so I chose this hotel and luckily it worked out really well. It is really affordable, and the rooms are kept very clean. The front desk service is amazing, they were always so helpful with directions, making sure my stay was going well, etc etc. Location is very good, just a short walk to local restaurants, bars, plazas, gov't palace, the river.... The next time I come to Asuncion, I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahowart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice ownership and staff; it's a tough sell, though, because the part of town in which the hotel sits is changing - walk out the door and go right - you in a decent tourist area; walk out and go left at your peril . . .

We enjoyed our breakfast - nothing fancy, just good, wholesome, completely fresh foods and juices

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ximeno08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and daughter flew to Asuncion to visit our other daughter who is a Peace Corps volunteer. We were told that the suite we were given was often given to Peace Corps volunteers and families. My wife and I slept in the queen size bed in the suite and the girls had the room next door with two twins. The suite has a large room with the bed and also a sitting area with a overstuffed chairs and a coffee table.

The bed is comfortable and in good condtion.

There is a TV with cable in good condtion.

The air conditioning worked reasonably well with an adjustable temperature setting. The room was a comfortable temperature with the outside temperature in the low 80s.

There is a balcony outside the windows with a view of the river. The balcony is only accessable from the hallway outside the room. This allows people from other rooms to go out on the balcony right outside the windows of this room and potentially could be a problem with privacy. No other guests used this balcony during our stay.

There is a second room in the suite with a square table and a couple of chairs. There is a mini-refrigerator in that room as well.

The bathroom has a large walk-in shower that has old tiles and plumbing.

There is a continental breakfast served in a large and nicely appointed dining room. The breakfast has fresh fruit, juice, bread, pastries, and breakfast cereal. It was reasonably well stocked but did not have any special temptations.

We also stayed at the Chaco Hotel in Asuncion. We liked the Palace better because of the space and comfort of the suite. The Chaco furnishings were in better condition. The price of these accommadations was inexpensive by American standards.

The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful with suggestions for how to catch the appropriate buses. One of our party spoke fluent Spanish and was able to communicate with the staff easily. The staff did not speak English well enough to be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schota1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel certainly wasn't modern but the rooms were clean and spacious and what it lacked in modern touches it more than made up in character. At the far end of the old town it was an easy stroll to most of the sight seeing things and close by a number of bars and the main football ground.

The only down side is the nightclub across the road which was going a full blast at midnight and still going at full blast when I got up at 4:00am to catch my flight out of Paraguay. Due to the single glazing in the windows there was very little sound protection from this.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors to avoid the nightclub noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chammer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews