We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop pool :)”
Review of Hotel Chaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chaco
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Rooftop pool :)”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed a few nights at Hotel Chaco (apparently where the pope stayed in the 80s I believe) and was happy with the price. The rooms were a little dated but nothing to complain about. The staff were super helpful and after getting through some of Paraguaian Spanish was happy to actually understand what these guys were saying! Breakfast is good. Two older happy guys running around making sure your toast is done and coffee topped up dressed in formal gear - loved it. My favourite part of staying here though was the rooftop pool. Not massive, the views are awesome. Even when it was raining still went up for a swim. Loved it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
16
29
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

After yet another long tiring drive getting to Asuncion, a late night arrival.so it was great to get into Hotel Chaco & also the only time during this travel trip, that we did not have to fill in an entry form - what a blessing !. Rapid despatch to bedroom & able to walk just around the corner of hotel to what appeared a library, that happened to serve beer as well , so sat outside at table, on side of main road, amazing thing was no people walking about ( this was 11.30 pm wednesday night -bizarre ) and so consequently a very quiet sleep in hotel - breakfast adequate for a one night stop in an adequate hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in November. Rooms are dated and furniture (and bathroom suites!) dark, but clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable, the street outside quiet, and we had a good night's sleep.

The dining room was fine, and the breakfast buffet had a limited selection but was satisfactory. Although not advertised, the chef will make fresh omelettes on request.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is central and within walking distance of the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menton, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I found this hotel to be dingy, thread bare carpets, and so many things not mended or addressed when asked .....eg the hair dryer was just plain dangerous, with a live wire hanging out and the plastic sleeve hanging loose. Apparently it was not important!! The room faced a shaft of some sort so absolutely no view at all. The swimming pool on the roof could be lovely, locked from 10pm to 8am for maintenance......I don't think so, the steps and surfaces were slimy and slippery.

There was a member of the reception staff who stood head and shoulders above the rest, she is called Ofalia, her English is excellent and so helpful.
The dining room staff need a bomb under them, slow, we even had to lay our own breakfast places or miss breakfast, floors needed cleaning here, and when pointed out there had been a spill, no action taken at all.
Either this place is being run on a shoestring or the owners, and manager need to be changed, a great shame as the situation of the hotel is central and easy to walk to all the restaurants, shops and tourist office etc.

Room Tip: Don't choose 310!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asuncion hotels

ashby de la zouch
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as part of a tour with Journey Latin America and were disappointed with this hotel. The rooms were small, bathroom extremely cramped and hotel generally very tired.
At best it perhaps should be 3 stars but even this is generous. Breakfast was poor and the pool is a 'token'.
we booked quality hotels with this tour and have been let down again by penny pinching tour company.

Room Tip: try another hotel in this town they are not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosyth, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was put up in the Hotel Chaco for a work trip. This was my first visit to Paraguay and I had no idea what to expect. Yes it's a wee bit dated but it is just my style. It's very clean, great staff who always had a smile for me, nothing seemed to much bother.
The food was great, well cooked and was done for me when I wanted it.
Next tome I visit Asuncion I know where I would like to stay and it is the Hotel Chaco.
It's location is almost right in the centre and only a 5 minute walk to the centre.
The aircon in the room worked great, which was a massive bonus as being a Scot who is used to the cold 44c outside was a bit warm.
I would like to thank the staff for all of their help while I was there, you all made me feel at home and almost like I was part of your family.

Room Tip: I was in a twin room (710) and it was great, really quiet, very clean, not to near the lift but clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photoguy2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After reading travel books, I booked two triple rooms (double bed & single bed) for two separate stays at the Hotel Chaco--2 nights upon arrival in Asuncion and 1 night before our departure. My correspondence with the hotel prior to my arrival was congenial and I was able to arrange the complimentary pick-up from the airport. However, upon attempting to set up the shuttle to the airport I was told that it was not included in the room rate because we had already received a transfer during our first stay. Even though I had made two completely separate reservations, the airport transfer cost US$50.

The hotel is centrally located and the lobby is clean, though dated, much like the entire property. The rooms were musty smelling, but we opened our balcony door and because the night was cool and mosquito-free we didn't have a problem with the smell. The bathroom was clean.

Our second night, however, the room smelled of cigarette smoke and because of bugs and less of a breeze, we couldn't open the door. The smoke was coming from an adjacent room though smoking is not permitted in rooms or some area in the hotel and my call to the receptionist did not result in the problem being taken care of. The smoky smell persisted the entire night. Obviously the rooms are not well isolated or the air conditioning is not ducted properly. The air conditioning in the room on our second stay did not work at all.

I was quoted a price of US$80 for each room per night. Upon paying at the end of our first two days, my mother settled the bill with the receptionist when I was not present. They charged her US$86 per room per night instead of the agreed upon rate. I was not aware of this until after she had paid. Upon paying for our second stay of two rooms for one night, the receptionist again tried to charge us the higher price. This time I was present and indicated that we were quoted US$80, and not US$86. I was able to receive a refund for the previous over-billing but it was a time-consuming discussion for an obvious error (seemed deliberate) on their part.

The whole experience would have been much better except for the deplorable attitude and behavior of the young woman at the reception desk. The gentleman who handled the refund of the overbilling was more courteous, but the young woman should never work in customer service of any kind.

The rooms are also not as nice as those shown on the website. The hotel is certainly more dated than the photos suggest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as the windows in other rooms barely open and if the weather is nice y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
0.7 mi away
Asuncion Palace Hotel
Asuncion Palace Hotel
#16 of 57 in Asuncion
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Hotel & Apart
Aspen Hotel & Apart
#14 of 57 in Asuncion
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Inn
Excelsior Inn
#25 of 57 in Asuncion
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
#22 of 57 in Asuncion
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cecilia
Hotel Cecilia
#10 of 57 in Asuncion
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Hill Suite Boutique
Premier Hill Suite Boutique
#26 of 57 in Asuncion
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chaco

Property: Hotel Chaco
Address: Pedro Juan Caballero 285 & Mariscal Estigarribia, Asuncion 1878, Paraguay
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chaco 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Multi-story Hotel located in commercial center of city, 10 minutes from Fluval Port & 15 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaco Hotel Asuncion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing