We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Change from the Large Chain Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Morra Suites Hotel
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Asuncion
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Nice Change from the Large Chain Hotels”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed at the Villa Morra Suites last week and it was a refreshing change from the cookie cutter hotels I normally stay in from the large chain hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was always clean, although the carpeting was showing signs of age.

The location is a short walk from several shopping centers and restaurants. Breakfast was included with the room and there was a nice selection of pastries, cheese and cold cuts from which to choose along with the standard Huevos Rancheros, and bacon and sausage.

Because of the small number of rooms, staff seemed to recognize the guests and it was more like staying in a bed and breakfast than a hotel.

The area seemed to be in a nicer part of Asuncion. I had heard stories of how Asuncion can be a not-so-safe place to explore and I know that this is true in certain areas. I walked all around the streets near the hotel and never felt uneasy about the people or surroundings. All of the people I met at restaurants and shops were very friendly and all in all my trip was very enjoyable and interesting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    84
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
45
22
10
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Overpriced. I stayed for 2 weeks (August - September 2010). Loud construction IN the hotel at 8:45am everyday. Terribly rude restaurant employees - and way overpriced (and not that great food). Very friendly housekeeping staff but front desk staff, not so much. Laundry prices are incredibly high. Good location - 4 blocks to two shopping malls, supermarkets, restaurants. Short cab ride to beautiful Paseo Carmelitas area. But definitely not worth $126/night. Rooms are only average - hotel is showing its age. I'd choose the Crowne Plaza (cheaper and much, much newer) or the Sheraton (also in a great location across from Shopping del Sol and restaurants) or the brand new Ibis next to the Sheraton. Hotel Villa Morra Suites is not a good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMP1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julianli
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I stayed in the Villa Morra Suites at the end of December 2008. I have been to Paraguay a few times. This is the only hotel that is close to US standards. it's a small boutique hotel, which is located in the best area of Asuncion. It's right off the main road, but the room was very quiet. The Italian restaurant next door is excellent. The food in the hotel is ok, but you should venture out of the hotel. The US embassy is right down the road if you need it.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julianli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

There have been many reviews regarding Villa Morra's general characteristics, so I won't go into that. What really is fantastic here is the food you get through room service!

I am here on business and not up to looking for a new place for dinner every night (also, I am a female single traveller wich adds to prefering having dinners in) , so roomservice is what I need...

Well, I can only rave about the food, it's great and imaginative. I am a vegetarian so I expected to having to eat the same dish every day, instead I am having a hard time choosing. I just had a wonderful rocket salad with freshly sauteed mushrooms and a fantastic cheese ravioli with thyme and roasted onions... Not to mention the roasted tomatoe filled with avocado and cilantro for starters yesterday....

  • Liked — room service
  • Disliked — the phone kept on ringing just outside my door - very noisily
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank smu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I was staying in Villa Morra suites on december 2005. The hotel is nice, new and well maintained. It's a relatively small. The pool area is nice and rooms are in a good shape and very comfortable, bed included.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HHov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2006

Our daughter is just finishing a six month Spanish Language program in Asuncion and we spent two weeks with her in Paraguay and Argentina. She lives in Villa Morra area of Asuncion and chose the Villa Mora Suites after checking out a number of hotels all around the city for our stay.

The Villa Morra is a wonderful little hotel. The rooms are clean and well yet conservatively appointed -- thus the very reasonable price. The staff is very, very attentive and do a great job in serving your needs. The food at the restaurant is really well presented and prepared. We enjoyed the two evenings that we hosted our daughter's friends at the Villa Morra Suites Restaurant.

The internet access is very good and convenient both in their small business center as well as in the room. If you need transport around town that is reliable and speaks English, ask for Alex at the front desk. He was very helpful during our stay.

If we return to Asuncion, we will definately stay at the Villa Morra again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — call directly for best rate
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jnmeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I didn't even realize the Hotel Villa Morra Suites was a Best Western until after we'd gotten home from South America. We spent only one night in Paraguay in March 2006 on a layover from Chicago to Montevideo. The hotel staff was extremely kind (a word to couples, however... specify your bedding preference as soon as you make your reservation or you will find yourselves in two very small twin beds), generous, and accomodating. We literally got the room in order to catch up on sleep after 20 straight hours of flying and prepare for our last leg to Uruguay, but we ended up spending time in the outdoor hot tub and looking around the beautifully manicured grounds. And I cannot say enough about the meal!!! We ate in the adorable restaurant downstairs and dined on incredible steak and chicken, creative appetizers, and reasonably priced drinks and dessert, all for under $30 US (love that exchange rate!!!). I really recommend the chicken in dijon mustard creme and the steak wrapped in bacon. Both amazing.

The features in the room were all updated, the shower was huge, and it was very comfortable. My only complaint would be the two twin beds which weren't so comfortable, but I imagine a king or queen would've made my evening at the Villa Morra absolutely perfect.

  • Liked — the people and the food!
  • Disliked — the twin beds.
  • Tips/Secrets — request queen/king beds!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoBrettski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mision Hotel Boutique
La Mision Hotel Boutique
#1 of 57 in Asuncion
617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
#5 of 57 in Asuncion
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hub Hotel Asuncion
Hub Hotel Asuncion
#2 of 57 in Asuncion
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dazzler Asuncion
Dazzler Asuncion
#6 of 57 in Asuncion
380 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel
1.1 mi away
Aloft Asuncion
Aloft Asuncion
#9 of 57 in Asuncion
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Morra Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Morra Suites Hotel

Property: Villa Morra Suites Hotel
Address: Lopez Francisco Solano McAl. Avda. 3001, Asuncion 1807, Paraguay
Phone Number:
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Asuncion
#6 Business Hotel in Asuncion
#6 Family Hotel in Asuncion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Morra Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main avenue of Asuncion and Villa Morra, a traditional neighbourhood formerly characterised by houses immersed in green space, the Hotel Villa Morra Suites is a boutique hotel that preserves the style of the area adapting to the new movement that it has acquired in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Morra Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Morra Hotel Asuncion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing