We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in an area of increasing (commercial) importance”
Review of Ibis Asuncion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Asuncion
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Asuncion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I´ve been to the Ibis before; lots of the information has already been given.

The hotel (still) is clean and hygienic; staff friendly and helpful.
The price of USD 84/night (74 on the weekend) is not really cheap compared to budget-hotels in Asuncion or hotels outside the capital - but the value you get is still good and unique. I´ve not found better value for money in other hotels in Asuncion.
Especially when travelling by car, you probably don´t like the heavy traffic in the center of the city - so the Ibis is nicely located.

As far as I know and according to my experience - all rooms have individual climate control that is active - same as the lights - as long as your room-key is inserted.
Room size and -standards are "Ibis-standard".
Internet is stable, good speed and free.
Parking is free as well.
Breakfast (buffet) is around USD 8/day.
Further dining options are across the road in the shopping center.


The area around the Ibis is gaining in (commercial) importance: The new World Trade Center about one block away is under construction; another 4star(?) hotel - Dazzler Asuncion, located about 200m away from the Ibis - is also under construction.

Paraguay´s economy is growing fast (9.5% growth expected for 2013); lots of people have discovered the country. Investors, businesspeople, tourists etc. etc. - and every time it gets more difficult to find a hotel room.
During my visit in first week of November, I´ve found that the rates in the nearby Sheraton have gone through the roof - but the hotel was fully booked.
Ibis: From Monday to Friday it was fully booked - no rooms available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 712 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ibis Asuncion is inexpensive, clean, quiet, centrally located (also good connection to the airport), with a decent breakfast and good internet connectivity. The staff is friendly, and with laundry service it feels a little better than other "no-frills" Ibis hotels I've stayed at. I was impressed, even as a business traveler, at the value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

plenty of complaints with this hotel. first the management is terrible i cant count how many times we had arguments that was provoked by the manager. second no AC. they turn it up for a couple of hours then they shut it down. since the cental air is control by floor not by room. another complaint the room size too small. i ended up staying two weeks here but i guess for the 84.00USD I shouldnt complaint. for anyone with privacy issues: they dont respect the do not disturb sign they walk in and leave paper work when clearly the do not disturb sign was left hanging on the door knob.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Brand new Accor hotel just across the road from the mall 'Shopping Del Sol', one of the biggest in the capital, Rooms and common areas are new and follow Ibis standard of quality, nothing surprising apart from that. Staff are fluent in english and very professional.

There are some taxi points in the avenue, very handy. Take the regular yellow ones. Despite being older they are cheaper than some private black cars disguised as cabs in front of the hotel. Not very far away ('asuncenos' were always very solicitous with us when giving directions) one can find a pleasant park (Parque de la Salud) to stroll and jog. Remember to take a identification with you, free entry. In the same direction, there are some worldwide chain bars and restaurants in the Carmelitas region (TGI Fridays, Hooters etc.).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emil_Unzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nava1352
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I´ve stayed several times in this IBIS before, because it was good value for money:

This time, rates are USD 84/night plus breakfast - so we talk about more than USD 90/night which is a lot of money for a hotel in Asuncion.

The rooms are nice, practical, clean - so is the bathroom.
Internet - WIFI - is free and included.

But it seems that just 1 (or 2?) years after opening wearing and tearing starts:
I had to change my room, because one of the fans in the hall was that noisy that I could not sleep.
In the bathroom, the painted mounting of the wash-bowl starts to oxidate.

I´ll check out different hotel options next time - 4 star hotels in Asuncion start at about USD 60 (Portal del sol, Hotel Chaco, Premier HIll, etc - maybe I´ll find a place that provides
even better value for money...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, General Manager at Ibis Asuncion, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your suggestion, we are tryin to improve our services and right now working about some special rates.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDRA J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jose S, General Manager at Ibis Asuncion, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
0.2 mi away
Dazzler Asuncion
Dazzler Asuncion
#6 of 58 in Asuncion
815 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
#26 of 58 in Asuncion
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
#7 of 58 in Asuncion
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplendor Asuncion A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1 mi away
Hotel Westfalenhaus
Hotel Westfalenhaus
#4 of 58 in Asuncion
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Asuncion
Aloft Asuncion
#10 of 58 in Asuncion
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Asuncion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Asuncion

Address: Aviadores Del Chaco 2060, Asuncion 1771, Paraguay
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Asuncion
Price Range: $65 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Asuncion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Asuncion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing