We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maison Suisse
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Asuncion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I typically don't have time or reason to write reviews as most places are average, but felt compelled to do so in this case. Not only was the Masion Suisse one of the most affordable hotels in Asuncion, the owner and his family were a pure delight. Claude and family were most helpful in every aspect, always willling to provide useful advice as it was my first visit to Paraguay.

The location was also perfect, in safe alking distance of everything one would need including restaurants, groceries, shopping, and public transportation. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and all staff were friendly. I'll be in Asuncion again in the next few months, and have already decided to stay at Maison Suisse once again.

Thanks Claude and family, from Joe de Estados Unidos!

Room Tip: I peeked in on several rooms and all seemed very nice, so won't matter which one is chosen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ladyluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Maison Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015
Google Translation

Excelente comentario y aporte! Muchisimas gracias por su visita! Lo esperamos la prox que pase por Asuncion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything at this hotel was great! Wonderful staff, comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and the location could not be better. Our group was treated wonderfully and it had a bed and breakfast type of feel to it. Very comfortable stay and we will be using this hotel for future trips.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ejrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Maison Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015
Google Translation

Excelente comentario y aporte! Muchisimas gracias por su visita! Lo esperamos la prox que pase por Asuncion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I brought in a group to stay at this hotel and found the customer service outstanding and the accommodations were great for the price. The owner takes personal interest in his customers and the hotel is in a great location within walking distance to food and shopping. I fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Maison Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015
Google Translation

Excelente comentario y aporte! Muchisimas gracias por su visita! Lo esperamos la prox que pase por Asuncion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have been travelling for almost a year, and Maison Suisse is easily one of the best places I have stayed. When i first arrived to Asuncion, I stayed at the IBIS, and the Maison Suisse was so much better, and almost half the price!

The rooms are huge, with wonderful adobe and high celings. The beds large, soft, & clean. The location is perfect, within walking distance to great restaurants & bars. & the people working there are the best part, as it is a family-run business. They are super kind, helpful, funny, & friendly. I didn't want to leave!!!

Room Tip: I slept on the 2nd floor, #14, & i never heard any noise, and the room was great to sleep in (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rassheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Maison Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015
Google Translation

Excelente comentario y aporte! Muchisimas gracias por su visita! Lo esperamos la prox que pase por Asuncion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

A new definition of boutique hotel. Imagine a Swiss cabin in the middle of cobblestone streets, full of paintings, artifacts and tourist information. Decent breakfast (fruit, cereals & breads), little gym. There are little restaurants around and five blocks away is Mariscal Lopez shopping. Furniture is a bit old but that's part of the antique charm of the place. Will be back for sure! Great hospitality by Claude and family!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank estusal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Maison Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015
Google Translation

Excelente comentario y aporte! Muchisimas gracias por su visita! Lo esperamos la prox que pase por Asuncion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Maison Suisse in March 2012. Found the owner and family to be rather rude. One morning we lingered perhaps 20 minutes in the breakfast room longer than breakfast was supposed to be served and he turned off the airconditioning on us after staring at us for perhaps ten minutes from the doorway. Never asked us to leave, just made sure we were made to feel uncomfortable by his stare and then turning off the air in mid summer which ensured the room became uncomfortable as well in no short time. We got the point quickly. Airconditioning in the rooms is dreadful. We were there in 100 degree heat in Asuncion and the rooms never cooled off. Worse yet, once we left for the day, the air was turned off while we were gone ensuring any gains we made at night cooling the room were gone by the time we got back. A completely weird encounter happened one night at the computer in the lobby in which we were accused of ruining his furniture because an extra person pulled up another chair next to the computer. Not quite sure what that was even about other than he claimed furniture was expensive to purchase in Paraguay and we should be careful. We hadn't damaged anything nor had we even touched any thing other than the computer. I got the feeling we were relatives who had over stayed our welcome by several weeks in their minds. Beds are not comfortable either. We were scammed by a friend of theirs in the lobby for a ride to the airport. We took a regular taxi instead and paid half of what he quoted us, even though the hotel assured us he was charging us a fair rate. Would not stay here again under any circumstance. The oldest son was the only genuinely friendly one in the entire bunch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seascape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Propietario at Hotel Maison Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias de su visita. Agradecemos de su preferencia. Estamos al servicio de los clientes . Haciendo un hotel diferente . Deseamos divulgar la cultura Paraguaya y de los diferentes pueblos indigenas que viven en Paraguay. El desayuno empeza a partir de la 5 hs am y tiene opcion con o sin desayuno. Hacemos descuento pago en efectivo . Precio especial a partir de 8 noches y 28 noches. Le esperamos de vuelta pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is my go to hotel in Paraguay. The Family is so sweet and accommodating. The rooms are clean and nice. The service makes me feel like I have arrived at home. I never feel afraid or like the staff is cold as in other hotels. Claude is always looking for ways to make things easier for us and Na Nidia is so dear. If you want to feel pampered, safe and stay in a clean and comfortable place stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vsloan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Maison Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015
Google Translation

Excelente comentario y aporte! Muchisimas gracias por su visita! Lo esperamos la prox que pase por Asuncion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
Hotel Palmas Del Sol
#25 of 58 in Asuncion
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Asuncion
Ibis Asuncion
#5 of 58 in Asuncion
702 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Westfalenhaus
Hotel Westfalenhaus
#3 of 58 in Asuncion
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aspen Hotel & Apart
Aspen Hotel & Apart
#17 of 58 in Asuncion
133 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Cecilia
Hotel Cecilia
#8 of 58 in Asuncion
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Alpes Apart Hotel Villa Morra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Suisse

Address: Malutin 482 / Bertoni y Del Maestro | Barrio Villa Morra, Asuncion 1825, Paraguay
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Asuncion
Price Range: $49 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maison Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maison is a Swiss-style chalet located in Asuncion, in the center of the picturesque town of Villa Morra. It features an outdoor pool, fitness center and tasteful accommodation with free Wi-Fi and free parking. Rooms at the Hotel Maison Suisse are decorated with ornamental carpets and headers. All are equipped with cable TV and minibar, and have private balconies. Daily American breakfast is served with fresh juices, fruit and pastries. Due to its central location, bars and restaurants and 15 minutes from the bus terminal and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Maison Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing