We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip at Princess Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Georgetown
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family trip at Princess Hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Princess Hotel for 9 nights on a family trip to Guyana. This is a very unusual hotel – some aspects are great and others aren’t so nice. The exterior of the hotel is very nice along with the huge pool and the restaurant area. There is a full breakfast each morning but it turned out to be pretty much the same thing. The rooms are ok, but the TV is small, our shower made a mess on the floor, and we could have used some more pillows. I also what I’m pretty sure was a cockroach in the bathroom. The stairs in the hotel are terrible, they are all different heights. The hotel taxi service was good, the cars are clean and the drivers won’t try to rip you off.
Stay away from the lunch buffet – we found out on the first day it’s about US$18 per person. The food we ordered from the menu wasn’t as expensive. Compared to the rest of Guyana, their drinks are expensive – US$3 for a beer, $5+ for cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajs2467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    47
    23
    32
See reviews for
32
18
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

- Very clean and spacious room
- Pool was clean and excellent for the kids
- Breakfast was amazing every morning.
- Most of the dining staff provided excellent service and customer service
- Most of the front desk staff provided excelent information and customer service - Thank you Savvy!
- Rooms should have an additional pillow or two. Pillows were too flat
- Towels and face cloths not enough for four persons.
- Soup and most meals were often too salty or no salt at all
- No towels at the pool side
- Poor customer servce at the Casino - Two cashiers only one open to customers wishing to purchase or cash in vouchers - long line up and wait time. The other designated for tables only which had no lines. No signs posted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

There are not too many hotels in Georgetown for an international traveller to choose from, and if you are in town for a confrence, it is quite likely that you might stay in this hotel. But you might wish to shop around for another one. Here is why:
As mentioned in the title, the Casino is really good, well kept, large choice of slot machines and game tables, clean, well all you expect from a Casino.
But the hotel is located near the stadium, far away from any town life. It was constructed "ïn the fields" together with the stadium in time for the Crickett world cup a few years ago. But the hotel rather gives the impression of of hotel built in eastern europe in the 70s.
The rooms are rather barren, with light switches far away from the bed, so that you have to get up to turn lights off or on, the energy saving bulbs (in principle a good thing) shed a very coldish light, and the aircon units above the doors to the pool-facing balcony are very loud and would be OK for a one or two star rating at best.
On the other hand, the pool is quite large, staff is friendly. But that is about it.
Therefore: if you need to be in that hotel, OK. But if on a private trip and if you can manage any of the much smaller guest house style or newer boutique style hotels, go for those,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

O dear! Don't believe the pictures! The place stinks of dirty feet and the food is poor. Customer service is slow and if you want anything - then better be prepared to ask several times and wait a long time if it happens at all!
Sports facilities - well yes if you like a broken up tennis court and a few domestic style fitness machines! So poor it is almost worth visiting just to see how it shouldn't be done!
If you are mad enough to want to come here in the first place then find another hotel - or better still bring a tent! And I have got another 27 days here!!

Room Tip: Do not face the road - noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Georgetown hotels

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My two trips to Guyana were business related and included stays at this hotel. The room itself seemed to improve the 2nd time altho my AC experience was that of a walk-in freezer. Slept without it each night. This time around I actually got hot water in the shower, not so during my first trip. The front desk staff and night shift restaurant servers were pleasant.

The worst part of this experience is the food served as this so-called restaurant. There are barely any options available to vegetarians, worse yet vegans, save for salad, fruit and bread. However even the salad bar is very limiting. Lunch and dinner are worse. On the 1st night I waited an extremely long time for a Mediterranean salad and potato gratin (this is after I asked if they can do a baked potato and the server pointed to the gratin smh). Not being able to wait any longer I asked for it to be delivered to my room. The salad arrived with spanish olives, everything was chipped and sectioned off and my only options for salad dressing were Italian, Thousand Island and Ranch - for a Mediterranean salad! Found out the next day their fries and plantain sticks are cooked in fish oil! Another night i ventured to dine from the buffet for dinner however the only non-meat options were white rice and sautéed potatoes! I ordered Spaghetti Napolitan from the and was told it would take 45 minutes! After inquiring the server said I was lucky as 2 persons already ordered it and I got it under 10 minutes. However the pasta was overcooked, there was barely in sauce on it and after eating not even half of the huge serving it tasted stale. The final night I decided to have a "normal" house salad and assorted fruit... in my room. The huge serving of fruit included overripe stale pieces of paw paw! At least they have a lovely assortment of tea.

There aren't much dining options nearby either.

If you're staying here, rent a car or take a taxi to discover dining elsewhere. Was told there are decent "ital" restaurants in Georgetown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Considering the country and it's economical development this building maybe categorized as a hotel, but it definitively isn't .I have stayed in this hotel to attend a meeting last week. The location, it's conferencing facilities are reasonable and the staff is fine but that's about it. The maintenance of the interior and exterior of the building, corridors and the rooms is heavily neglected .The rooms are outdated , noisy and there is no attention for the details, comfort and safety. At that time there was no phone available in the room but the staff was serviceable enough to help us overcome that problem. I won't even mention the food because of a serious problem they have with infestations of ants and cats, yes cats and possibly more!
All this has definitively overshadowed the fact that the staff really has done it's best to help me overcome my stay.

Room Tip: You will be surprised by the prayers of the Imam if you stay in the rooms along the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sesua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The 5 star rating is a stretch.. lol. I'm from the US, so don't go down there expecting the hyatt or the hilton .. the building and facilities are average like staying in myrtle beach or some place for spring break,, the room was clean but not perfect it could use flat screen TV's , the carpet in the hallway needs to be replaced do to an odor .. I found the restaurant and food to be good .. the hotel staff was the best, very nice people like Nadine and Mohini.. the price doesn't reflect the facility ..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenny944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
4.5 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
4.2 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 20 in Georgetown
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 20 in Georgetown
47 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#2 of 20 in Georgetown
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baganara Island Resort
Baganara Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bartica
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel

Property: Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
Address: Tract BS Block Z Plantation, Georgetown, Guyana (Formerly Princess Hotel Guyana International)
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first of its kind, Princess Hotel and Casino has set the bar for hotels and the hospitality industry; the largest hotel in Guyana. The Princess Hotel and Casino features two hundred well appointed and incomparable rooms including: presidential suites, VIP / executive suites and the most spacious double and single rooms; all well appointed with the most modern facilities. The hotel offers free wireless internet and complimentary breakfast to all its guests.To complement its world renowned accommodation the hotel incorporates the 'Healing Waters' wellness spa, a spacious conference facility which transforms into a stylish ballroom, boardroom, an elegant royal restaurant, gym and outdoors sporting facilities; including lawn tennis, basketball, volleyball, football and badminton. Its star attraction, the largest pool to be found anywhere in Guyana comes complete with the convenience of a modern poolside bar. It is the place where the only casino in Guyana can be found.As one of the world's most electrifying casinos, whatever the pleasure, there is always the perfect game for the avid gamer. The Princess Casino Guyana boasts over 250 slot machines and a wide range of table games such as Blackjack, Roulette, Three Card Poker and Stud Poker. Also, high-limit tables for premium casino players. Princess Bet which forms part of the many attractions allows for smaller betting on any sports game; from football to cricket, to ice hockey. As is customary, Princess Hotel and Casino maintains its prowess with its newest addition 'Club Next'; a classic new night club where fantasy meets reality. With its unique combination of art, fashion, celebrity status and service, 'Club Next' has added a new spin to night life in Guyana. The state-of-the-art lighting, sound effects and an exclusive decorative theme are just a few of the features that 'Club Next' brings to clubbers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel Guyana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing