We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good casino, so-so hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewed June 25, 2012

There are not too many hotels in Georgetown for an international traveller to choose from, and if you are in town for a confrence, it is quite likely that you might stay in this hotel. But you might wish to shop around for another one. Here is why:
As mentioned in the title, the Casino is really good, well kept, large choice of slot machines and game tables, clean, well all you expect from a Casino.
But the hotel is located near the stadium, far away from any town life. It was constructed "ïn the fields" together with the stadium in time for the Crickett world cup a few years ago. But the hotel rather gives the impression of of hotel built in eastern europe in the 70s.
The rooms are rather barren, with light switches far away from the bed, so that you have to get up to turn lights off or on, the energy saving bulbs (in principle a good thing) shed a very coldish light, and the aircon units above the doors to the pool-facing balcony are very loud and would be OK for a one or two star rating at best.
On the other hand, the pool is quite large, staff is friendly. But that is about it.
Therefore: if you need to be in that hotel, OK. But if on a private trip and if you can manage any of the much smaller guest house style or newer boutique style hotels, go for those,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 164 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

O dear! Don't believe the pictures! The place stinks of dirty feet and the food is poor. Customer service is slow and if you want anything - then better be prepared to ask several times and wait a long time if it happens at all!
Sports facilities - well yes if you like a broken up tennis court and a few domestic style fitness machines! So poor it is almost worth visiting just to see how it shouldn't be done!
If you are mad enough to want to come here in the first place then find another hotel - or better still bring a tent! And I have got another 27 days here!!

Room Tip: Do not face the road - noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My two trips to Guyana were business related and included stays at this hotel. The room itself seemed to improve the 2nd time altho my AC experience was that of a walk-in freezer. Slept without it each night. This time around I actually got hot water in the shower, not so during my first trip. The front desk staff and night shift restaurant servers were pleasant.

The worst part of this experience is the food served as this so-called restaurant. There are barely any options available to vegetarians, worse yet vegans, save for salad, fruit and bread. However even the salad bar is very limiting. Lunch and dinner are worse. On the 1st night I waited an extremely long time for a Mediterranean salad and potato gratin (this is after I asked if they can do a baked potato and the server pointed to the gratin smh). Not being able to wait any longer I asked for it to be delivered to my room. The salad arrived with spanish olives, everything was chipped and sectioned off and my only options for salad dressing were Italian, Thousand Island and Ranch - for a Mediterranean salad! Found out the next day their fries and plantain sticks are cooked in fish oil! Another night i ventured to dine from the buffet for dinner however the only non-meat options were white rice and sautéed potatoes! I ordered Spaghetti Napolitan from the and was told it would take 45 minutes! After inquiring the server said I was lucky as 2 persons already ordered it and I got it under 10 minutes. However the pasta was overcooked, there was barely in sauce on it and after eating not even half of the huge serving it tasted stale. The final night I decided to have a "normal" house salad and assorted fruit... in my room. The huge serving of fruit included overripe stale pieces of paw paw! At least they have a lovely assortment of tea.

There aren't much dining options nearby either.

If you're staying here, rent a car or take a taxi to discover dining elsewhere. Was told there are decent "ital" restaurants in Georgetown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Considering the country and it's economical development this building maybe categorized as a hotel, but it definitively isn't .I have stayed in this hotel to attend a meeting last week. The location, it's conferencing facilities are reasonable and the staff is fine but that's about it. The maintenance of the interior and exterior of the building, corridors and the rooms is heavily neglected .The rooms are outdated , noisy and there is no attention for the details, comfort and safety. At that time there was no phone available in the room but the staff was serviceable enough to help us overcome that problem. I won't even mention the food because of a serious problem they have with infestations of ants and cats, yes cats and possibly more!
All this has definitively overshadowed the fact that the staff really has done it's best to help me overcome my stay.

Room Tip: You will be surprised by the prayers of the Imam if you stay in the rooms along the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sesua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The 5 star rating is a stretch.. lol. I'm from the US, so don't go down there expecting the hyatt or the hilton .. the building and facilities are average like staying in myrtle beach or some place for spring break,, the room was clean but not perfect it could use flat screen TV's , the carpet in the hallway needs to be replaced do to an odor .. I found the restaurant and food to be good .. the hotel staff was the best, very nice people like Nadine and Mohini.. the price doesn't reflect the facility ..

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenny944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Let's begin with the positives: the staff is generally quite pleasant, courteous and helpful. My room was clean overall, and the restaurant food was... okay, but not great. Prices when converted to USD are actually very, very good.

The negatives, though, outweighed the positives for me. Generally speaking I think that, as hard as they try to please their guests, there was a certain lack of professionalism that may simply be due to the kind and quality of training they've received. This was my second time at this hotel and every point I'm making in this review, I experienced on my first visit last year.

The service at the restaurant is, in a word, S-L-O-W. Our first evening there, we waited for over 1.5 hours to be served our meal. After that nightmare we started calling our orders down then going to collect the food 45 minutes to an hour later. They also were not very accurate with taking orders, both regarding the actual food, as well as direction as to how to handle the bill.

At least on my floor, the carpet has a very, very, very funky smell, that even overtakes the hotel room AFTER you've shut the door. Note that the rooms are tiled, so that funky carpet smell is definitely coming from the hallway.

In my room, all the vents and the A/C unit were FILTHY. I don't think they've EVER been cleaned. It was horrifying to look at.

I really think that they need to overhaul the training AND the property management of this hotel. Their staff is doing their best but I honestly don't think they have been equipped to give the kind of service guests would expect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

After reading other reviews I was a bit apprehensive about my proposed stay at the Princess, however I soon discovered they had a new chef and the buffets were mostly great - particularly the curries.
Unfortunately other complaints already aired like the very noisy music by the pool keeping guests awake - that's if you could sleep through the sound of the faulty air conditioners - are still valid. Also I did not dare to use the swimming pool as it was far too murky and did not improve during my stay. The security was good and I felt very safe, but would have been happier if the housekeeping was equally efficient and the noise had been less. Nevertheless I was pleaantly surprised by this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and one that has a fully functioning air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborahFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
4.5 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
4.2 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
8 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#5 of 21 in Georgetown
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
61 reviews
4.1 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
48 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#3 of 21 in Georgetown
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel

Address: Tract BS Block Z Plantation, Georgetown, Guyana (Formerly Princess Hotel Guyana International)
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: $130 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first of its kind, Princess Hotel and Casino has set the bar for hotels and the hospitality industry; the largest hotel in Guyana. The Princess Hotel and Casino features two hundred well appointed and incomparable rooms including: presidential suites, VIP / executive suites and the most spacious double and single rooms; all well appointed with the most modern facilities. The hotel offers free wireless internet and complimentary breakfast to all its guests.To complement its world renowned accommodation the hotel incorporates the 'Healing Waters' wellness spa, a spacious conference facility which transforms into a stylish ballroom, boardroom, an elegant royal restaurant, gym and outdoors sporting facilities; including lawn tennis, basketball, volleyball, football and badminton. Its star attraction, the largest pool to be found anywhere in Guyana comes complete with the convenience of a modern poolside bar. It is the place where the only casino in Guyana can be found.As one of the world's most electrifying casinos, whatever the pleasure, there is always the perfect game for the avid gamer. The Princess Casino Guyana boasts over 250 slot machines and a wide range of table games such as Blackjack, Roulette, Three Card Poker and Stud Poker. Also, high-limit tables for premium casino players. Princess Bet which forms part of the many attractions allows for smaller betting on any sports game; from football to cricket, to ice hockey. As is customary, Princess Hotel and Casino maintains its prowess with its newest addition 'Club Next'; a classic new night club where fantasy meets reality. With its unique combination of art, fashion, celebrity status and service, 'Club Next' has added a new spin to night life in Guyana. The state-of-the-art lighting, sound effects and an exclusive decorative theme are just a few of the features that 'Club Next' brings to clubbers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel Guyana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing