We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale hotel ,home away from home”
Review of The Eldorado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eldorado Inn
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

First time visit in Georgetown Guyana , very very friendly management and staff .perfect location surrounding fruit stands and a mall .This hotel reminds e of being at home .continental breakfast included in price which was perfect .My next visit to Georgetown Guyana the Eldorado Inn will be my choice of hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was my first time going back to Guyana since I left in 1975. I was pleasantly surprised by the large room and comfortable mattress (much better than my own bed). Needless to say I slept well.... The property is in a good location with easy access to the market, and transportation. the grounds allowed for a relaxed and laid back atmosphere. The owner Frank DaSilva and his wife were in attendance during my stay. They definitely take pride in ensuring that high standards are maintained. ElDorado Inn is a very good reason to go back to Guyana.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel was clean and very nicely decor , the rooms are big with all required amenities in a quiet street easy walking and traveling distance to markets to get local fresh fruits etc, restaurants and bars. Good continental breakfast. The management was very friendly and helpful, very much a like family run establishment. An ideal choice for a visit to Guyana!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I moved here for one night because of a mix-up with another hotel. This hotel is nice---I didn't eat downstairs, so I can't speak to the food or service. Upon, check-in---they couldn't find the AC remote and borrowed from another room.

The only downside worth mentioning---about 1-2 am---security opened my door, looking for an AC remote for another guest. This scared me to death having someone unlock and open my door in the middle of the night. Fortunately, it was security---they should have a current room list available to security so this doesn't happen. The security guy and one of the cooks apologized but it was still a bit odd to have someone gain access to your room.

Upon checkout--front desk cleark was not there yet, and one of the kitchen staff women checked me out.

I would stay here again, if needed, but the security issue would have me look for other options before booking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

staff owns this hotel .they will work if guest pays their high salary .they even refuse guest breakfast. security is o.k .management need to change and train staff .i don't PAY AND BEG.breakfast is also a favour even though it is offered in package .no mesh on windows allows mosquitos to enter freely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel when on a business trip to Guyana and there are basically no good points about this place. The AC didn't work, they fixed it but when it was turned off it didn't turn back on. Breakfast was mysterious - no menu, no idea what was available. The staff oscillated between hostile and friendly, which just increased the mystery. We arrived at the hotel at about 11:00 pm to find a locked gate which was promptly locked behind us after we got in. The waste paper basket had not been emptied when I got into my room and that just added to the general feeling that this was perhaps not the cleanest hotel in Georgetown.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We moved here during our stay and were delighted to get somewhere more comfortable. The rooms are well-equipped with very comfortable beds, good quality TVs, fridges, microwaves, irons and boards and powerful A/C.

There's a nice courtyard with both open and covered seating to eat breakfast or have a few drinks from the sparsely-stocked fridge. You can walk across the street to the Cara Lodge's Bottle restaurant for excellent dinners (steak with crab meat and the beef creole curry pot are both great). There's a taxi rank a few metres away, so there's never a wait to get a taxi to go somewhere.

The staff are hit-and-miss. It took 45 minutes to get our breakfasts and when I wanted to change money I was told that I couldn't do that after 6pm or at the weekend, with the implication that only an idiot wouldn't know that. There's no insulation from the street noise and the neighbours were having an argument on my last night and that kept me awake. I asked for a taxi for 5.45am on my last day and it arrived at 5.30am, which meant I hurried to pack - less sleep-deprived and I would likely have just let it go and got one from the rank next door.

We had stayed elsewhere in Georgetown and the El Dorado was much better than our previous hotel, despite being only $30/night more. The staff weren't as good, but the beds and the rooms and the location were all superior. I'd stay here again, but I'd ask for a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel, away from the street noise which can continue all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kryptikmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.6 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
1.0 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 21 in Georgetown
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#3 of 21 in Georgetown
171 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eldorado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eldorado Inn

Address: 295 Thomas & Quamina Streets | South Cummingsburg, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our goal to provide the ultimate luxury and comfort in our "home away from home atmosphere". Our self-contained rooms will magnificently blend the privacy and relaxation, one would expect during their stay at the El Dorado Inn. The cathedral ceilings and well lit surroundings will emulate a spacious, air filling and a sense of security during your stay. Our well trained staff will welcome each guest and assist with any request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Eldorado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eldorado Hotel Georgetown
The Eldorado Inn Guyana/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing