We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Herdmanston for 5 nights recently. My room was spacious and clean, and had great wifi access. A welcoming, breezy, 2nd floor balcony was a great place to work and relax. What impressed me the most was the staff - everyone was so genuinely friendly and made you feel like a part of the Herdmanston family. Tina went out of her to make me authentic Guyanese dinners and the Sunday brunch was excellent. The owners and staff definitely put the guests first. I can't wait to come back again soon, especially to see the expansion that is set to open in the next few months.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freedom2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 198 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed only one night in this small hotel but enjoyed it a lot. I had a very good dinner on the veranda and my room was very spacious and clean.

The people were very helpful and I really could feel safe all the time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was my first trip to Guyana, and I was a bit concerned about the quality of the lodging options in the city. The Herdmanston proved to be a very good place to stay, with a comfortable room, excellent service, and manicured gardens. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast at the Lodge's restaurant. Our room was large, with an excellent 2nd floor deck. The neighborhood is safe, with a small store nearby with water/food/snacks/etc. Would stay again at this property during future trips.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CacheHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for 16 wonderful and enjoyable days (9/30/13 - 10/16/13) and found it hard to believe that we were at a commercial entity for it was more like home away from home. The Herdmanston Lodge is certainly a very special and inviting place, where its staff will go beyond the call of duty to meet your needs in every way possible. It was very clear to us that they focused their operations on Guest Satisfaction.

Our accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the entire property, including the manicured grounds and gardens were most pleasing and inviting. The staff was very courteous and helpful, and everything worked, including the television with numerous channels, and the complimentary computer with internet access. The meals were excellent and we were able to order dishes of our choice. Don't miss the Breakfast Buffet on Sunday mornings.

We even enjoyed the excellent sea-breeze from the Atlantic Ocean and took note of The Herdmanston's expansion, which will soon add another 18 rooms in its path and provide future guests with some wonderful views. We cannot wait to return.

Merv & Joyce A
Springboro, Ohio
,USA

Room Tip: Rooms to the north ( the Atlantic side) will offer better views and much more breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mervyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A lovely home away from home experience where you are really made to be part of the family. If you like local cuisine, then this is the place to stay. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The property is quite old but there is a new extension being built.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My niece decided to get married in Georgetown and I have not been home in 19years, so I was a bit skeptical about where to stay. A friend of ours just came back from there and recommended this hotel. I did some research and decided to give it a try. We( my sister Marva, my brother Wendell and I ) were not disappointed. From our arrival to departure, there were no regrets.we were even given a chance to choose the room we like best. Miss Edna went over and a oven her call of duties to make our stay memorable. Sunday morning brunch is not to be missed, you name the dish, it was there. I even had cassava bread...wow. Thanks to all the staff not forgetting the gardener. Can't wait to see the extension...will definitely return. BL

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Country1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel arranged for airport pickup which was great since I was arriving just after midnight. The driver was polite and informative and did not mind my host of questions during the hour long drive from the airport to Georgetown. The hotel security led me to my room which was ready with lights, TV, and a/c. The room had a balcony shared with one other room. The balcony overlooked a great garden that was filled with birds in the early morning. The hotel personnel gave me directions to church, the botanical gardens, the zoo, art gallery, and seawall - all within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful neighborhood. The next day the hotel personnel gave me directions and loaned me small change to take the minibus for the 15 minute drive into Georgetown.

Room Tip: Definitely get one of the rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StrandedNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
1.4 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#5 of 21 in Georgetown
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#3 of 21 in Georgetown
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels

Address: 65 Peter Rose & Anira Streets | Queenstown, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: $103 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate heritage hotel in Guyana, Herdmanston prides itself in excellent guest service. One of only a few Guyana hotels that has maintained Guyana's distinctive colonial architecture. Herdmanston hotel is perched within extensive lawns and garden which is home to some of the gentle flora and fauna of central Georgetown. While our lawns and gardens are spacious, our small hotel size allows us to offer to our guests personalized service catering for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdmanston Hotel Georgetown
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing