We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Cheap for Guyana but bed Sucks”

Status International Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Status International Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Status Hotel was cheaply built to host World Cup Cricket in Guyana and it has changed hands several times. It is now called Status Hotel.

Its about 20 Minutes walk to the City Centre and is in a relatively quiet area.

The rooms are basic and are kept clean but the beds are old, small and could do with a better mattresses.

Its one of the cheapest, safe, clean and basic hotels in Georgetown, Guyana. Nice manager; an awesome lady who speaks Portuguese. She has a very honest and great staff.

WiFi sucks at the 2nd and 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for three nights when recently in Georgetown. The hotel was chosen by the tour operator and we decided to check out and find somewhere else for the rest of our stay once our obligations were done. There's nothing much wrong with the hotel, but there's not much right either. The rooms are mostly clean, although the shower area in one room retained the remnants of the last guests' soap. The TV gets Brazilian and Guyanese TV, but the picture is poor. The beds were fine. Basically, it's a cheap hotel and not bad value for money. I preferred to stay somewhere nicer for an extra $30 per night, but if you're looking for somewhere cheap to stay for a couple of nights, here is fine. The staff are mostly friendly and the hotel will change US for Guyanese money fine. It's adequate, not much more to say.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, away from Croal Street. That's the quietest place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kryptikmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is very nice.The staff are friendly,the place is clean no pool but the bar is very nice.You get what u pay for.They also have free net and everyone is nice and helpful.You just have to ask and they are there.I enjoyed my three days there.

Room Tip: I took the first floor and i had a great time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vashti319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at Status with a group of friends for three days in March 2013. Our reservations were made in advance by one of our guyanese friends. When we checked in we were immediately billed for our 3 day stay which wasn't a problem. Imagine our shock when we attempting to check out being told we owed the hotel money because we stayed for 4 days.

It was clear to us that the hotel has questionable business practices. The rate we were quoted and agreed on was different when we arrived. Additionally, the hotel was running a room rate special for the month of March (signs were on the wall at the check in area) and we called this to the attention of the receptionist. We eventually got the reduced rate. I believe that was the reason the hotel falsely claimed we owed them an extra day because they saw that as a method to extract extra funds from us.

Additionally, 2 persons in our group took a double occupancy room. On the 2nd day of our stay, we were presented with a bill for the breakfast of an additional person! At this point we were told that double occupancy rooms get only 1 complimentary breakfast.

I am of the opinion that the hotel uses shady methods of nondisclosure in order for guests to spend more. This is dishonest and underhand. If the hotel has specific policies, they should let guests and perspective guests know before hand, so an informed decision can be made. My experience at Status was not good and my friends and I will never stay there again, nor will we recommend them to anyone we know.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nkeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Guyana,staying a another hotel,a staff fro that hotel recommended Zoom in,well its a place to be relax,the staff are efficient and accommodating,of very pleasant nature.The food was excellent ,the experience was a pleasant investment

Room Tip: go to zoom in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

the best I ever went to. My little son just love it

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nalaandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Zoom Inn is a home away from home. Excellent service, wonderful staff that made you feel like family. Very clean, complimetary breakfast was delicious, great location. Overall wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank trivacrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.8 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
5.7 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 21 in Georgetown
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleepin International Hotel
Sleepin International Hotel
#14 of 21 in Georgetown
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Status International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Status International Hotel

Address: Croal Street & Sandyman Place | Stabroek, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range: $80 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Status International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Status International Hotel Guyana/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing