We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Cara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cara Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2009

We stayed at Cara Lodge for one night at the start of our trip to Guyana and one night at the end. The main building is a beautiful old colonial wooden building with a small, but pleasant courtyard at the rear with seating area and a small bar.

The rooms were fine, if a little tired. We stayed in room 201, which had windows overlooking the street, on our first night and room 107 on our last night. Room 107 had more efficient aircon and was generally a smarter room. Both rooms were fine though – with consistent hot water, which was not our experience in many places in Guyana!

The food in the restaurant was generally good and plentiful, though breakfast was a bit on the basic side.

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. On our first afternoon while relaxing in the courtyard, Tutsi came over to make us welcome and offer us tea/coffee and cake. He was also on hand to sort out our early (6.30) breakfast on our day of departure.

We were able to leave a bag with travel clothes etc. at Cara Lodge while we travelled to the interior and pick up the bag on our return 12 days later (very helpful with the 20lb weight limit on internal flights!).

We didn't stay in Georgetown for long enough to comment on the location, but as a hotel Cara Lodge is not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Nuthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 185 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2008

On my recent trip to Guyana, I stayed at the Cara Lodge. It is a gem is a sea of poverty. The staff is on top of every detail and helpful.

The only thing they can't control is the barking dogs and the back up generator. Lights go out often. The dogs bark late and real early. My room was fabulous at the backside of the hotel. two sides had windows. (room #111) second floor. A/c was great and the rooms is real clean. The frig in the room was a nice plus. The T.V. is limited to 8 stations. WI-Fi did work in the room. Some rooms are small.

The hotel resturant is one of the best in the city. Breakfast was weak, dinners are great. Dinner is $15-20US range. I felt safe staying alone here. Not a city to walk around in.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank beeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Cara Lodge is an agreable-to-look-at small hotel in Georgetown. A large mango tree winds its way skyward in the courtyard of the largely wooden building. My room (118) was clean and comfortable but its only windows looked onto the gallery which lead to my room and all other rooms on the floor. In other words, there was no privacy except one closed the blinds, therefore requiring the lights to be turned on, even in broad daylight. Not a brilliant piece of design.

On the up side, the hotel restaurant was good and there is free internet in the rooms and in the building.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ayo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Just spend 5 days at Cara Lodge in Georgetown and I have to say I loved every minute of it. Guyana can be a difficult place to do business but Cara Lodge certainly make the trip a lot more pleasurable.

I stayed in one of their new room and it was very comfortable. Nice firm king beds, excellect air conditioning and big televisions. The complimentary tea and coffee in the rooms was great and the free internet access is a real bonus while on business. I really object to having to pay for internet in hotels in this day and age

The restaurant was very traditional Guyanese in atmosphere and the food was great. They have a great bar on the Mango Tree patio.

The staff are wonderful and are some of he best I have met on my travels. They were so friendly and nothing was too much ttrouble. They managed to get my luggage which the airline had llost which was a miracle in itself.

If you are going to Guyana, I would really recommned Cara Lodge. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RonanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
15
Reviewed October 24, 2005

I have stayed here on and off for 6 years - and the staff, service and overall quality of the Cara Lodge is really beyond classification.

The staff are always welcoming, helpfull and really nothing is too much trouble. Even if there are months between visits, they still recognise my voice over the telephone.

The food and service in the restaurant is excellent and a quiet drink at the bar, chatting away to friends and staff is a real joy.

Don't go for the big chain, try this little jewel and you will not be disappointed.

Thank you Cara Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubynolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcs50, Manager at Cara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
Thank GQuintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
1 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
0.7 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
5.6 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#5 of 21 in Georgetown
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
61 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
0.6 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara Lodge

Address: 294 Quamina St, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: $134 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cara Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history aficionado will appreciate a stay at Cara Lodge, Guyana. It is one of the oldest and grandest structures in Georgetown, and is the best known and most popular hotel in Guyana. Cara Lodge was built in the 1840s and originally consisted of two houses. It has a long and romantic history and was the home of the first Lord Mayor of Georgetown. Over the years, the property has been visited by many dignitaries including King Edward VII who stayed at the house in 1923. He was of course later to abdicate and marry the American Wallis Simpson. Other dignitaries have included President Jimmy Carter in 1996, HRH Prince Charles in April 2000, HRH Prince Andrew in 2004 and Mick Jagger in 2005. This magnificent home turned hotel offers the tradition and nostalgia of a bygone era, complete with service and comfort of the most luxurious of hotels, all in a most congenial family atmosphere. Our signature dining establishment, the Bottle Restaurant, has been hailed as the best restaurant in the capital. It is open for lunch and dinner everyday, except Sundays. At Cara Lodge, we have worked hard to create a setting that is the perfect marriage of old world charm and contemporary comfort – ideal for the traveller wishing to experience a taste of Guyana’s past, and the business person wishing modern-day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Georgetown
Cara Lodge Guyana/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing