We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book a different hotel”
Review of Cara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cara Lodge
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Book a different hotel”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Sorry, buy this is not a good hotel. My wife and I could not get a good night's sleep because our bed was actually two twin beds pushed together, so there was a terrible gap in the bed. No one notified us before we checked in and we did request a queen bed.

So, we decided to go to their restuarant. Horrible tasting food, and very cheap wine. Don't forget the mosquitoes that was constantly flying around.

Someone needs to build a good hotel in Georgetown. Not many choices there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sookie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
20
37
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Cara Lodge is a pretty small hotel with lovely staff - although we found the people everywhere in Guyana to be kind and helpful. It is not a five star luxury hotel nor a gourmet's delight but it is clean, comfortable (with nice bathrooms and aircon) and charming. The only downside is that there was no pool which would have been a welcome relief for our 11 year old daughter. The food was good quality but limited choices.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coolkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Good rooms and location.

Staff need to learn what customer service is and smile more!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray_London_U_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I hadn't visited Georgetown in many years and was very pleased with the service and wlcome I received.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandMtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The management and staff were at all times pleasant and very helpful. The cab drivers attached to the hotel were very accommodating and helpful. The cuisine was a mixture of Guyanese old and new, and here the waitresses would help by describing the several choices. Rooms were spacious, clean, cool and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stenigot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Georgetown in late August is extremely hot and humid, but the Cara Lodge was a great get-away from the discomforts of the city. I would stay there again with no question. All the employees of the lodge were friendly and helpful too. The setting of this historic lodge is quite pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank libbylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We arrived here covered in mud from the rain forest. No water at all but soon everything was working again. We were given the suite on the top floor which is absolutely huge. Beautiful wood floor and air conditioning. We felt very apologetic using it but we were so dirty, damp, hot and smelly. The hotel has an attractive court yard and our room had excellent views over the roof tops in Georgetown. The restaurant is said to be the best in town but as long as you like everything deep fried you'll be happy (no Mars Bars though).I ran every morning as the sun rose, being greeted by night watchmen and dogs as i jogged along. An excellent way to see the city without the heat and traffic. And I felt quite safe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
1.0 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
0.7 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
0.6 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 19 in Georgetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#7 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara Lodge

Property: Cara Lodge
Address: 294 Quamina St, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history aficionado will appreciate a stay at Cara Lodge, Guyana. It is one of the oldest and grandest structures in Georgetown, and is the best known and most popular hotel in Guyana. Cara Lodge was built in the 1840s and originally consisted of two houses. It has a long and romantic history and was the home of the first Lord Mayor of Georgetown. Over the years, the property has been visited by many dignitaries including King Edward VII who stayed at the house in 1923. He was of course later to abdicate and marry the American Wallis Simpson. Other dignitaries have included President Jimmy Carter in 1996, HRH Prince Charles in April 2000, HRH Prince Andrew in 2004 and Mick Jagger in 2005. This magnificent home turned hotel offers the tradition and nostalgia of a bygone era, complete with service and comfort of the most luxurious of hotels, all in a most congenial family atmosphere. Our signature dining establishment, the Bottle Restaurant, has been hailed as the best restaurant in the capital. It is open for lunch and dinner everyday, except Sundays. At Cara Lodge, we have worked hard to create a setting that is the perfect marriage of old world charm and contemporary comfort – ideal for the traveller wishing to experience a taste of Guyana’s past, and the business person wishing modern-day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Georgetown
Cara Lodge Guyana/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing