We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Lady is Upgrading”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Trinidad
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Old Lady is Upgrading”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Pegasus Hotel is the grand old lady of Guyana hotels being approximately 40 years old and was considered the premier hotel in Guyana. The hotel looks its age but management has been upgrading various areas giving them a very modern look. The staff at the hotel are all extremely friendly and there is a taxi service based at the hotel with drivers who know the city well. The location of the hotel is very good for business travellers to Georgetown being situated at the top of the city next to the sea wall, close to all business areas in the city and on the East Coast Highway.

The rooms are basic but well maintained and clean, with wireless internet but there is a daily charge for use of the internet. The cable TV provides a good selection of channels. Each room is outfitted with an ironing board and iron.

There is a choice of dining locations at night either around the poolside or in the air-conditioned cafe or the covered patio that overlooks the pool. On Friday nights there is a good local band playing a variety of musical genres. The bar service is very good and there is also a separate wine bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    114
    99
    27
    29
See reviews for
42
33
35
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is an old building it has being partially renovated, the restaurant is nice and the menu is good, the breakfast buffet is good. The rooms are less than average but clean. The lobby and the larger meeting room are in poor condition.
Georgetown deserves a better option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanCSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is suitable if you are visiting Georgetown for business. Its sits along the sea wall for great views of the ocean on mornings and evenings. This property is undergoing a series of upgrades. The most evident of which is in the lobby and pool areas. Rooms come with a flat screen TV, the WIFI service is reliable however the bathroom is very basic. The overall experience was a positive one.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KavitaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a ok hotel in pretty much anywhere outside Guyana but in Guyana this is a very nice hotel. The hotel is in the process of finally doing some renovations which I think is because it finally has some competition with the new Princess Hotel and Casino which is closer to the airport. The Princess is roughly $15 cheaper to stay in a night.

My recent room had a new bed and flat screen tv as well as some upgraded bathroom amenities which are a big plus from recent stays. The pool itself has always been well maintained and the food is always been very consistent. Don't drink the tap water!!

The beach is garbage here and no reason to go to it. If you do want to venture into the city the hotel location is excellent for this.

Taxi cost is roughly $30 USD from airport and the drive is horrendous especially if you catch morning rush hour. Taxi drive ranges from 40min to 1.5 hrs.

Room Tip: Ask for a new and updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGreatOne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was here for 2 weeks on business; this was my 3rd time at the hotel, so I know it well. It is old but clean. The hotel's front desk and housekeeping personnel are very friendly and work very hard to accommodate you. The restaurant staff is awful. They are rude and you have to chase them down to get any service. Forget room service. The food is overpriced and not very good. The exception is their cappuccinos, they are great! Many restaurants will deliver to the hotel. There is Popeye's and Churches Chicken, some pizza places, etc. Ask the front desk for a list. They only take cash. Try the New Thriving Chinese restaurant for good food. It's a couple of blocks away, which is a US $4.00 taxis ride. Do not try to walk there it's not safe. Speaking of safe, I do feel safe at this hotel and as a woman traveler that is important. There is a hair salon, but you cannot charge hair services to your room, you have to pay cash. The hair dresser is very good and used to work in Atlanta, GA. There is a gym which has no air conditioning and a small convenience store which is closed on Sunday's as is everything else in Guyana. So if you need to exchange money or buy something, do it before Sunday! Some of the rooms have free internet, otherwise it's $10.00 a day. It is slow, but at least they have it. Keep in mind this is very much a third world country. There is a beach behind the hotel, but I wouldn't swim in it for anything. Do not walk the beach alone. I walked with three people and we did not feel safe. The hotel has a decent pool. If you need a taxi use DR Taxi Service and ask for Sham or Abdool. Sham's number is 648-9730. He and Abdool are great drivers and very nice. Take a hot pot or a coffee maker. The hotel does not supply them. They do supply an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, in room safe and a small refrigerator. There offer 120 and 240 voltage outlets, but no outlets in the bathroom. I asked for an extension cord or a drop cord, as they call it and they brought one right away and let me keep for 2 weeks. As I said, the housekeeping and maintenance staff are very nice and tipping them daily helps too. I found everyone takes U.S. dollars, even in the restaurants downtown. The bed is comfortable; the air conditioner works well, but is very, very noisy. I didn't see any bugs. If your room overlooks the pool you will not be able to sleep on the weekends because of extremely loud music. I was in room 308 and I did not hear the music, but my colleagues said it was awful. There is a Marriott being built next to this hotel and I don't know how the Pegasus will be able to compete. I know some of the reviews are very harsh, but I don't compare this hotel to ones in the US. I consider my location and from what I've seen in the area, this place is not that bad.

Room Tip: Take a look at your room first. If you don't like it or the view they will help you find one yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelede99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Shabby exterior. Peeling paint.Impressive foyer with large sections of ceiling missing.Small rooms grossly overcharged at $165 USD per night.Breakfast extra.No coffee making facilities. Extra charge for morning coffee.Broken room door.Moved to new room with a telephone which did not work, lights which did not work because of missing bulbs.No mirror in room.Getting into and out of the very high bed almost requires a step ladder unless you happen to be very tall. My aged mother-in-law required medical attention after falling off the bed as her feet could not touch the bare tiled floor with no carpets.The hotel was unable to provide details of available doctors,Grotty and tired bathroom.Wall tiles used on shower floors became very slippery when wet.Ill fitting balcony doors impossible to lock.Patio furniture spore infested and needs to be cleaned.Our gratitude to the staff especially Saleem and Camille who deserves recognition for their efforts to make amends for the shortcomings of the hotel.

Room Tip: Very small rooms, except for suites which are comfortable and represent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Georgetown hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Check in was late at night - no welcome & where just handed a key and not even directed to lifts or told which floor the room was on. The service at reception never got better: no smiles; poor information - treated us like an inconvenience rather than a customer - if you run a customer care business please pass them some tips!

Rooms: old furniture; just about clean; broken rotting balcony; air conditioning so loud I couldn't sleep; air conditioning vents let in the smell of curry from restaurant below; I had to wash all my clothes when I got home - even the ones I didn't wear - because it all just felt very grubby. The housekeepers were the only saving grace and worked very hard with the unfortunate decor.

Food: overpriced and overrated breakfast: $23 / person; dinner - as long you like everything deep fried you'll love the food; ran out of rum even though the country produces it; crap service and all overpriced.

Pool: poor service; unclean; hardly any sun loungers; chlorine literally thrown in with no thought about levels and this was done whilst we were having dinner.

Also I got flee bites sitting on one of the grim sofas!

Overall: can't wait for the Marriott to open - hopefully it will stop this hotel from existing and give Georgetown a bad name.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.2 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
4.5 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
1.2 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#2 of 19 in Georgetown
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Georgetown
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 19 in Georgetown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel Guyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel Guyana

Property: Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Address: Seawall Road | Kingston, Georgetown 101147, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel Guyana 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the delta of the Demerara River and the Atlantic Ocean- the Pegasus Hotel Guyana holds the most stunning seascape views. Within walking distance of many of the major commercial and tourist sites. The hotel is centrally located in the city of Georgetown- making it an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers to Guyana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Georgetown
Le Meridien Georgetown
Georgetown Le Meridien
Pegasus Hotel Guyana Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing