We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Needles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

On December 13th we checked into the Le Meridien Pegasus hotel in Georgetown, Guyana for six nights. The hotel is immacualte, along with the staff being very friendly and attentive. The property has been there six the late 60's, so some of the furnishings are dated. However, the room was very clean, plenty of towels and amenities were left by the housekeepers, along with more bottled water than we could possibly handle. Although, I did drink the tap water in Georgetown and did not experience any sort of stomach problems.
Each room has a small balcony overlooking the capital. Our room was overlooking the pool; we had a great view. The pool at this hotel is huge and kept very clean. Towels are given out at the pool. Stretched along the poolside there are several lounge chairs for sunbathing.
The food at the hotel is a bit on the pricey side, but still very good. I would not recommend eating at the hotel every night, since there are so many very affordable places to eat right in Georgetown. Good and cheap Chinese restaurants galore!!!! Great bakeries for morning all over the city. Try the Salt and Pepper bakery near the market area.
The main bar at the hotel is right near the pool and main restaurant area. It stays open until about 1:00 am. Drinks are good, bartenders are friendly, but again drinks are a bit over priced. About three blocks up the main street from the hotel is a real nice bar/restaurant called the Palm Court, which stays open until about 3:00 am.
We enjoyed about week in Guyana, as we also did enjoy the Le Meridien Pegasus,and would return there on any future trips to Guyana.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    114
    99
    27
    29
See reviews for
42
33
36
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

Myself and husband have just returned from a week in Guyana where we stayed at the Pegasus. The hotel is great and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go visit relatives. After doing some shopping and running around, it was hot there, we couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel.
We stayed in the luxury suite with the panoramic view. The complimentary breakfast for the days that we were there was excellent. We were just expecting a few nibbles but breakfast is a lovely continental spread and buffet with cheeses fruit pastries etc. Some evenings we would have dinner sent up to our room, which were well kept. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh linens and towels.
The pool is lovely, not too big. The staff was very courteous and was available to assist when needed.
We paid $200 per night for a luxury room which we booked through Travelocity.
Overall I would say the service and experience at this hotel was excellent. Thanks Le Meridien, Pegasus, Guyana. I WILL BE BACK.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank BLIGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

Just stayed at the Pegaus for one night while on business there and its ok,check in was good,staff friendly as usual,rooms are fairly clean and comfortable but need upgrading,pool and bar area are ok and as i get a local company to book it for me i get a good rate,re food i only had breakfast there but it was perfectly acceptable. AIso the hairdressers/beauty parlour there do a great one hour facial for about 12 quid which is very relaxing after a day in Georgetowns heat and hussle ,it really is about time they spent some cash on the rooms though !!
Not that it has much competition but it is still by far the best and safest hotel in Guyana in i have been to,saying that i haven't tried the new Buddies hotel which is rumoured to be very good,i shall give it a go there when i visit again in March,watch this space !!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AliFantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

I must say that this is known as the best hotel from Georgetown. I was really dissapointed by the room conditions. They seemed very bad maintained, despite the fact that they charge about $ 200 per night (and $ 20 per day for using Internet). They don't have a backup power generator, and one morning I woke up late for my meeting, since there was a power failure in the city, and the hotel was affected by that (my alarm clock was plugged to the power lines, and because of the power failure, my clock lost the settings).

And now the good things: Location is great, staff is very friendly, and helpful, always with smile on their faces. Restaurants are very good. The best of all is the atmosphere of the hotel. Since most of the foreigners stay there, the atmosphere is great, and you can meet people from different cultures.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Price for the internet service, and conditions of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsnCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GT girl on the rock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

My husband and I had our wedding there and the reception hall and food were great. However, the room in which we stayed was not. It was small- like many of the rooms there and some fittings were rusty and the phone next to the bed wasn't working. To top that off, maintenance was drilling and hammering beneath our room and it was soooooooo loud that it sounded like it was next door! No one bothered to inform us that there would be some disturbance.

The food and atmoshpere at the poolside and Browne's Cafe were excellent though. Kudos to them on that one.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank destinyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Georgetown hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2006

Odd that a hotel with the reputation that this one enjoys would recreate the experience of staying in a somewhat shabby, once-grand lodging in the bad part of Omaha. But that was my impression of the Meridian in Georgetown. Now, this was three years ago, so it may have changed for the better. And there are some nice features of the Meridian. The restaurant is excellent, for instance, and the pool is fun (the restaurant/bar are at the perimeter of the pool, which creates a relaxed, social atmosphere).

But my room? Dreary, peeling wallpaper, dark. Not the best place to stay, and I certainly can't recommend it for work.

And as in most developing countries, the little things that weren't there mystified me. For instance, there are no trash containers anywhere that I could find in the entire hotel. And there was a shortage of toilet paper and towels of any kind to dry my hands in the public washrooms on the main floor.

And the cost? $185 a night!!! There are better places in Georgetown!

  • Stayed November 2002, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2006

I stayed at the Meridien Pegasus for four nights in March 2006. Yes, there were some small problems (not enough towels in the room upon arrival, loose ceiling in the bathroom) and the rooms are not tiptop perfect. However, service was swift and kind. The rooms are fine, the complimentary shampoo bottles etc are lovely, the lobby area and lounges are beautiful, the internet connection in the business centre is amazing and security is discreet and good. Upon arrival you are greeted with a glass of fresh juice. The pool area is wonderful. Very nice to take a swim before or after work. I had food at the Pool Bar (absolutely delicious steak - the meat melted in my mouth, fantastic fish, tasty fried vegetables, great fried rice) and in the restaurant where there is a very good and big all-you-can-eat lunch buffet. All in all it is a good hotel. You shouldn't have too high expectations though. It's Georgetown, Guyana, not Georgetown, D.C.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.2 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
4.5 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
1.2 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#2 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel Guyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel Guyana

Property: Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Address: Seawall Road | Kingston, Georgetown 101147, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel Guyana 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the delta of the Demerara River and the Atlantic Ocean- the Pegasus Hotel Guyana holds the most stunning seascape views. Within walking distance of many of the major commercial and tourist sites. The hotel is centrally located in the city of Georgetown- making it an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers to Guyana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Georgetown
Le Meridien Georgetown
Georgetown Le Meridien
Pegasus Hotel Guyana Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing