We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe place, good food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Safe place, good food”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This hotel where I stayed in for 2 days I feel is quite a safe place to put up. The locality and the neighborhood are good. The food provided here was great. I absolutely loved the Pegasus style burger. It was mouth watering. The room was clean, furnished and had a television in it. The bathroom was provided with enough amount of toiletries and was clean. The service and the staff were nice. I would like to stay at this place again for the safety factor that it takes care of and for its food. I recommend it to others too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roossoklini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    115
    99
    27
    29
See reviews for
43
33
36
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

After visiting Guyana many times, we have found this hotel to be the best one out there! Once you walk into the lobby you instantly get a wave of the Caribbean feel. The decorations and furniture are pretty and pleasant. One of our favorite things at this hotel is its outdoor pool with the restaurant services. The service was okay and the food was pleasing. The rooms are also nice but could use a bit more of sprucing up. Overall this is a very nice hotel with great location if you are ever visiting Georgetown. Annnnnd remember Kentucky is the worst state ever!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RissaaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel after trying to decide between Cara Lodge and Pegasus based on the reviews. I am glad I did. Georgetown is not one of the safest locations in the world so at night it was nice to have a fenced off property with a guard at the gates. Also this property is accross the American Embassy and a fancy bank building so during the day I felt safe to walk into town. The common areas of this hotel have some colonial atmosphere and we were perfectly happy to have all our dinners at the hotel. They had a poolside restaurant with a grill and very good all you can eat barbeque buffet.. The food was good, but the service was beyond slow. In the morning they never even asked us if we wanted some coffee or tea. We just got some juice from the breakfast buffet.
The room is modest. It did have some nice dark wooden furniture and a good TV on the wall. The bathroom was much worse than the room. The only good thing about it that it appeared clean and it had some shampoo, conditioner and even lotion.
We tried to use the tour company downstairs, but they told us that no tours were available except week-ends. Luckily we found a tour company "Wonderland Tours" outside the hotel that offered tours daily. We took the flight tour to the Kaiteur falls.
Overall this is the best place to stay in Georgetown because it is in a good neighborhood, has the restaurants, pool, sundry shop and a hairdresser and a gym . The airline crews stayed there too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank givemesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Still the Nr. 1 and Grande Dame in town, although desperately in need of a renovation. Nice atmosphere of the bygone 70s. Pool area, bar and restaurant are nice, but loud music. Friendly service. The closest competitor the Princess Hotel is newer, but with ugliest interior , totally sterile. For repeat visitors or longer stays the intimate Herdmanston or the Cara Lodge may be the better choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The servuxe was pleasant and the service was good but the room rate is extreamly overpriced for a third world country.
I have stayed extensively on business and have paid the same room rate in placers like New York and London which make me wonder.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Benwood093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Overall you will find the hotel conveniently located, although Georgetown centre itself is an hour from the airport due to traffic and mileage. The buffet meals are good, local faire. The service staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is actually quite nice and well worth bringing goggles and trunks if you like to swim some laps.

Obviously, do not drink the tap water. Tip moderately, a few dollars or Euros goes a long ways. CAUTION: If you like to sleep past 7:00 AM do put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign as the maid staff will enter very early.

If at the bar / outdoor restaurant, ask to see Sunil, who is a mid-level manager. Be friendly, remember his name, and engage him in some conversation, he can be helpful throughout your stay.

The downside of the hotel is that while the one of the best in Georgetown of a very limited selection, it is rather worn - HOWEVER, it is tidy and clean. You might expect for your $160 a night or thereabouts in such a remote spot you would garner a higher class of luxury, but this is yet a third world country.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_To_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed three days in the Pegasus Hotel, which is undoubtedly the best that Georgetown has to offer. The hotel is in the old colonial style - lots of open air dining and comfortable furnishings. The suites are very large but smelled very musty to me and offered no view, so we chose a regular room on the second floor for a bit less money. This gave us a view of the Caribbean, which we enjoyed. Georgetown is a simple and somewhat provential city and there is not a great deal to see but there are some architectural examples, a zoo and the sea wall to look at. The Pegasus is located about a block from the sea wall, but take care when you venture out in this area. Don't take valuables and be aware of your surroundings. The hotel is heavily guarded and I felt quite secure there. Georgetown is not a place where you go charging about by yourself, particularly outside of downtown. The hotel has a wonderful and attractive pool, nice landscaping and the food was alright, but breakfast was particularly plentiful and varied and included everything you could think of. The rooms are of adequate size and need a bit of fixup, for instance our screen was falling out of the door and the lock didn't work. (The lock was fixed) The staff is exceptionally friendly - the front desk crew, the wait staff (thanks Candyce!!!), and the cleaning women. They will do whatever they can do to make sure that you have a pleasant stay and they are quick about fixing things. I enjoyed my stay there very much and I would definitely go back again. The staff is so nice, I felt like I was leaving friends!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lhotse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.2 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
1.2 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
4.5 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#2 of 19 in Georgetown
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Georgetown
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 19 in Georgetown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel Guyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel Guyana

Property: Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Address: Seawall Road | Kingston, Georgetown 101147, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel Guyana 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the delta of the Demerara River and the Atlantic Ocean- the Pegasus Hotel Guyana holds the most stunning seascape views. Within walking distance of many of the major commercial and tourist sites. The hotel is centrally located in the city of Georgetown- making it an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers to Guyana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Georgetown
Le Meridien Georgetown
Georgetown Le Meridien
Pegasus Hotel Guyana Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing