We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guyana's Exotics”

Guyana Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$750.00*
and up
5-Day Guyana and Suriname Tour
Ranked #10 of 29 things to do in Georgetown
Attraction details
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Very well kept and clean environment for a third world country. Beautiful exotic animals, some of which can only be seen in South America's rain forest. They have a lot of birds, pumas, and monkeys. Don't forget to take pictures on the love bridge :)

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Kevin11207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bird species"
in 4 reviews
"exotic animals"
in 2 reviews
"birding group"
in 2 reviews
"a popular place"
in 2 reviews
"take pictures"
in 2 reviews
"manatees"
in 21 reviews
"zoo"
in 30 reviews
"pond"
in 8 reviews
"wedding"
in 7 reviews
"vegetation"
in 2 reviews
"info"
in 2 reviews
"monkeys"
in 6 reviews
"trinidad"
in 2 reviews
"pace"
in 2 reviews
"memorial"
in 2 reviews
"feeding"
in 2 reviews
"stroll"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2018

I didn't have high hopes for the zoo so I wasn't disappointed. The animals were well fed and in decent condition but it was still kinda sad. The people working the zoo were friendly enough and seemed to take there jobs seriously as they were always doing something for the animals. I guarantee if the government helped more they could really make the zoo so much nicer and more welcoming and not sad. Stopped in twice in my time and Georgetown and explored a good bit of the gardens. There are some beautiful flowers and pretty plants. Go for the walk and to explore not the zoo. Be mindful of your surroundings as it gets darker and towards the other end of the park it can be sketchy.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank seanyj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

Great place. Go with a group or a guide.
We saw many birds. Stayed at Cara Lodge. Close by. I heard it is not safe to go alone. But no one seemed to bother us. We were in a birding group.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank goCaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

Visited with my young kids to get them out of the house and away from their damn iPads. Cost me $400 for 5 kids & I. Somewhat spiked by lots of annoying touts out the front hustling for business.

Nonetheless the kids had fun as it was a new experience but there has been a stark decline since my last visit in 2012. Approximately half the cages are empty with only the hardiest animals surviving today.

Muddy filthy grounds with some lackadaisical construction going on at a glacial pace. Thankfully there are still West Indian manatees in the ponds.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Shmemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2018

We spent 2 half days birdwatching in the Botanical gardens, and it was most rewarding.
There are also manatees in a pond, and a guide attracted them shaking his hand in the water and giving them grass; so I could admire them, take pictures and even touch them.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Marie_Claude972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guyana Botanical Gardens also viewed

Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 

Been to Guyana Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing