We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent Meal”
Review of Buddy's Mei Tung

Buddy's Mei Tung
Ranked #70 of 98 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: http://www.guyana-tourism.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=13&Itemid=15Buddy's Mei Tung - 137 Sheriff Street, Campbellville, GeorgetownT: (592) 231 4100 / (592) 231 4104This beautiful oriental restaurant welcomes the guest to partake in experiencing true exquisite dining.Blended with rich exotic colors that create a memorable experience which denotes a true Chinese culture.Order a meail from our extended menu or just sit back and relax on our patio, sip on a drink created by our experience bartenders and create fusion with the scenery.Come experience service that is simply royal.
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.guyana-tourism.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=13&Itemid=15Buddy's Mei Tung - 137 Sheriff Street, Campbellville, GeorgetownT: (592) 231 4100 / (592) 231 4104This beautiful oriental restaurant welcomes the guest to partake in experiencing true exquisite dining.Blended with rich exotic colors that create a memorable experience which denotes a true Chinese culture.Order a meail from our extended menu or just sit back and relax on our patio, sip on a drink created by our experience bartenders and create fusion with the scenery.Come experience service that is simply royal.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Descent Meal”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I ate dinner at Buddy’s during my trip the week of February 10th. It is located on the 3rd floor of a 6 story building that also has a pool hall, club and gym. The décor is OK for Guyana. The server was very attentive and professional. The food portions are generous and the prices are very reasonable. I ordered chicken fried rice along with the spring rolls and it was a lot of food. All and all the meal was pretty good, kind of hard to screw up chicken fried rice :) I would defiantly go back in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fits the need, doesn't excel.”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Food was good, but a little
Basic and didn't jump out.

Service I received was good and very attentive.

Remember, this is Guyana. For the person that was shocked about no credit cards, they only got ATM machines in this country three years ago, and it is common for Chinese restaurants to not accept credit cards. It is not their job to post a sign saying we don't, if you don't see the Visa or MC logo then that's your sign that they don't.
As to the complaint about the color red looking like a brothel, grow up and get educated, red is THE lucky color to the Chinese, and the Chinese are very traditional (read superstitious).

Not the worst Chinese place in town, I would go back, but there are places I like in town better, including a little hole in the wall place called Good Luck across the street from Princess.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CavalrySoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great resaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautiful place to dine, great service great food. vegetable fried rice was delicious.love the chicken with cashew nut and vegetable.atmosphere was good

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wisdom750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad Chinese food”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is not Chinese food - Guyanese Chinese may be. Had a few dishes including fried rice and chow mein. The locals may like this, but it's not for me.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryBrightStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazingly Poor”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After visiting New Thriving we expected something along the same line at Buddy's Mei Tung restaurant. We were severely disappointed, however. Asking for a duck we were told there is none, and our second choice was an eggplant dish on the menu, and we were told they do not have it, so we opted for our 3rd choice, a chicken with tomatoes. A very plain dish, with a lonely greenish tomato slice had arrived. It definitely was not worth the money! Totally appalled at this place's ability to cook anything that is worth the money they are charging.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sbmvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy's Mei Tung also viewed

Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 

Been to Buddy's Mei Tung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing