We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maharaja Palace

Maharaja Palace
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great ambiance in the restaurant, lots of lights and very bright. Food was very tasty and seems authentic Indian. Service was so so at least on the evening we were there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryBrightStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    66
    27
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you're a fan of Indian cuisine, you need to get here! Excellent job with the vegetarian dishes too. Centrally located, great ambience, has me wanting to go back just to get some more!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Step into the Orient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

At 207 Sherriff Street you will find a gateway to India and its culinary delights. The Maharaja Palace restaurant is now the place for Indian cuisine in Georgetown. The upstairs venue is blessed with a very regal Indian decor and atmosphere. The service is good and the drinks and food menus offer wide and attractive ranges of choice. Remember, you are in Guyana. Forget your credit card - bring cash only!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RMORTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expensive, but nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very pricy for Georgetown, but a nice place to eat. I found the service to be lacking (but that is typical for most of my restaurant experiences in Guyana). The place is interesting; the decor is very, very, very ornate -- almost garish. If you like Indian food, you will like the Maharaja Palace.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank colaurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the food and services is the best i have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

i must give thanks and praise to the honorable staff for giving me an experience of a lifetime the ambiance is great, it is fantastic to know this restaurant serves over 200 dishes both Indian and Asian i think this is the only restaurant does this in Guyana This is the my favorite spot when it comes to dining also they have the best cocktails and they also have wines from all around the world their prices are very affordable check it out !!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arvin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Palace also viewed

Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 

Been to Maharaja Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing