We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots better than I thought it would be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Amazonia
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cayenne
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We had to overnight in Cayenne unexpectedly. The only hotel that was availble was the Amazonia. After reading the few other reviews we had some trepidation but our room was spotless, the Wi-Fi was free and it was so quiet we could hear the birds singing. The hotel seems to be mostly for business people with a number of meeting rooms. The decor is 1980s. For the price it was fine.
There isn't much to see in Cayenne.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggagecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

We did not have any problems with noise (we were at the top floor, so that might be the solution) and room was nice and bathroom very big and clean. But the customer service was awful! Staff at the front desk were actually clueless and completely useless!!! They gave us wrong estimated price for the cab ride to the airport, didn't have any info about things to do/see and on every our question their answer was "I do not know" without even an effort to find our the answer. They didn't even know what is the password for their WiFi network! The problem with French Guiana is lack of competition and luck of other options, so if you do not mind dealing with the clueless staff, this might be OK option for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Very expensive for what you get.

Ok, my room was comfortable, but the bathroom was consistently dirty and the air-con didn't work.

This leads to a huge problem for the hotel - noise. It's situated on the main drag in Cayenne - near loud bars and clubs. With no air-con you have to open the window. But then you can't sleep due to the noise.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malkmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

If your intention is NOT to sleep, then the Amazonia is the hotel for you. My wife and I just got back from a 9 day stay at the hotel which has not yet decided to be a reception/conference center or a hotel and therefore does both badly. Receptions in the inner courtyard with extremely loud music are scheduled at night with only minimal warning – the previous day maybe - but the hours are never posted. Complaints to the desk must be made by actually going the lobby as the people on duty at night never seem to answer the phone. Even then, complaints are met with a “deer in the headlight” stare. Complaints are usually to no avail as no "manager" is on duty after hours. The restaurant/bar is closed when ever these events take place since the staff seems to not be able to do two things at once. The ambient noise continues at all hours in the hotel, usually in the form of loud talking, banging doors and clomping about in the tiled hallways. If you are in the rooms facing the street you will be disturbed by the noise below, especially by nearby nightclubs which seem to go all night. In-house literature in the room provides info on the bar/restaurant hours which has no relation to the actual hours of operation. In any event the fabled TamTam bar at the Amazonia is a joke (3 stools and a coffee table with 5-6 chairs). The pool is dirty and has a ring around the edge to rival the ring around the grimiest bathtub. Surprisingly, the rooms are clean and provide the basics for a good stay. The breakfast buffet is also surprisingly good, however, if there are groups staying at the hotel, your breakfast experience will be greatly degraded. The breakfast serving staff quickly becomes overwhelmed and the guests attack the food as if they had never eaten before. In that case, you will find that most of the food is gone and the supply of coffee is never enough. Make sure your room price includes the breakfast or you will pay about 9 Euros each daily. Get confirmation in writing and bring it with you.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Voyageur10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank nono l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Cité d'Evian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valere91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel G, Manager at Best Western Hotel Amazonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayenne
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Cayenne
Central Hotel Cayenne
#3 of 8 in Cayenne
77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Cayenne Royal Amazonia
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Montabo
Grand Hotel Montabo
#8 of 8 in Cayenne
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Palmistes
Hotel des Palmistes
#4 of 8 in Cayenne
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bar Restaurant les Amandiers
4.7 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 2 in Matoury
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Amazonia

Address: 28 Av Du General Charles de Gaulle, Cayenne 97300, French Guiana
Location: French Guiana > Arrondissement of Cayenne > Cayenne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cayenne
Price Range: $118 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Amazonia 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Amazonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cayenne
Cayenne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing