We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing the little things” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cafecito Cafe Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bogota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cafecito Cafe Hostal
Ranked #134 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Antofagasta, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Missing the little things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

The hostel is in a safe location and quite spacious. The majority of the staff was helpful, besides one odd duck who seemed to have his head in the clouds. The dorm room was alright, but the beds are pretty uncomfortable and there are no lockers. The bathroom was clean but usually missing toilet paper (even after being cleaned). We thought the prices were a little high, especially in the cafe/restaurant. The place has potential but needs some work, and is lacking life in comparison with El Cafecito in Quito, Ecuador. Overall, it was a fine stay and the location was good since it was between La Candelaria (historic district) and the Zona Rosa (bar/nightlife area).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

The lobby area and location of this hotel were great and the prices were reasonable, but our room was terrible. The throw rug was absolutely filthy and had a hair tie from a previous guest and dust and hair balls on the floor. When we asked for a broom, they said it was in a locked cabinet and couldn't give it to us. The people at the front desk tried hard, but the room looked like it had never been properly cleaned, there was no soap available (the people at the front desk couldn't even tell us where we could buy some!) and we had to rent the towels. The front area was beautiful and it's centrally located, but needs some serious work on some basic cleanliness. They were very responsible in returning our deposit and letting us out of our reservation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slam83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

we had a nice stay at el cafecito, a new hostel quite central in bogota. it is located in an old house, nicely renovated with fireplaces and a good bar/kitchen. rooms are large and bed was good.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samdevocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panguipulli
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

After reading the rave reviews of previous guests, we were extremely disappointed. The first morning after our arrival there was no hot water. One empty gas bottle and one with a leak and no one willing to do anything about it until we pushed. We ordered breakfast to fill in time for the gas bottle to arrive. A miserable and expensive breakfast for a hostel. When we left we were amazed to find a 10% service charge, (instead of the 10% discount supposedly offered to guests advertised on their web site) in a backpackers' hostel.
The rooms were noisy every night from the cafe below, and ours opened (literally) onto the communal bathroom so every time someone used it at night, we woke up. Staff were outside in the garden talking ALL night. The last night we had a party at full volume until 6am, like being in a discoteque. The night guy told us that there was another similar party at the front of the hostel, every Friday and Saturday.
The staff were OK but it seems this hostel does not live up to the one in Quito which everyone agrees is great.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pruedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed at El Cafecito for four nights and we were blown away by the place. The staff that worked there was so great in helping us find anything and everything in Bogota and Colombia. The building itself is located in a safe side neighborhood off the main road just a quick 2 minute walk to the Transmilio and any other area you really want. Safe, clean and secure. Always great music playing downstairs where the restaurant and cafe is. Great vibe every night with locals coming in to the cafe/restaurant. Not a "typical" hostel where I would worry about my bags getting stolen. Great recommendations around the city where guidebooks were outdated. I can't say enough about the staff and the entire experience. We spent the last few hours of our stay sitting up with the overnight guy just talking about Colombia. Can't wait for them to expand to Santa Marta!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bohicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whoischavez
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

I was staying at a place in central Bogota, but felt really unsafe. That's when I encountered this hostal located in a very nice and centrally located area of Bogota. I stayed here for 5 days in mid June, and was absolutely pleased with the quality of the stay. Very nice house, and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. If you are looking for a great hostal, in a great safe location, at a very reasonable price, make it this one.

  • Liked — Location, house, and value
  • Disliked — Newer so still working out some kinks, but that's with compariosn to the already established locations in Ecuador.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whoischavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

I spent two weeks at "El Cafecito" in Bogota in march/april 2008 and it was a real surprise. The hostal is in a beautifully renovated old victorian, with its own in house cafe, lounge room complete with period furntiure and net access. The vibe is chilled, the staff super attentive and the smells coming from the kitchen simply delicious. The international menu is huge, with dishes that i haddnt seen served in Colombia before. Situated in a quiet street in La Merced its right in the middle of all the places to be, without being in the middle of tourist town, and safety wasnt an issue.There are heaps of cool restaurants and bars just around the corner and Carrera 7(septima), the major arterial through town is just one block away. For me El cafecito had that homely feel often lacking in colombian accomodation. Even if you decide to stay somewhere esle, do yourself a favor and drop by for a meal or a 2 for 1 cocktail during happy hour.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brettosworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Santa Monica
#229 of 267 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Violeta Park Hostel
#61 of 238 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#33 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Aparta Estudios 1A
#178 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#34 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cafecito Cafe Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cafecito Cafe Hostal

Property: El Cafecito Cafe Hostal
Address: Cr 6 # 34-70, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After having taken a lot of success with our beautiful hostels & coffees "El Cafecito" in Quito and Cuenca. Now we are open for you in the heart of Bogota, located in very safe an interesting street close to a lot of attractions and typical restaurants. El Cafecito is a warm and inviting - cafe bar with hostel. We provide a high personalized service standard, 24h reception, daily room cleaning, free internet service and a lot of tourist information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing