We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food ..... Place to visit.”
Review of Matiz

Matiz
Ranked #8 of 2,535 Restaurants in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Colombian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Matiz is a restaurant where you will find nothing but the most personalized service. The cuisine is caracterized to be very eclectic and contemporary, we use the best ingredients and the chef, Nicolas Quintano, is behind every preparation. At Matiz you will find colombian Haute cuisine mixed with some peruvian, chilean, oriental and mediterranean influences combined with the best service in town.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Food ..... Place to visit.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a dinner at Matiz. Really nice place but little at high end. Though, worth spending extra bucks!!! The part of the menu was in Spanish. So, the head chef came to our table to explain what's today's special and what are other choices. I ordered Salmon (as do not eat Beef and no chicken on menu). And he prepared as I wanted .... Out of box from what Manu has suggested. Same with my salad. Really enjoyed the presentation of food and taste. The dessert was awesome. The homemade ice-cream with chocolate cake was the best finish to end my meal. If I ever come to Bogota again, definitely will visit Matiz.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    167
    50
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“World-class restaurant”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went here as a family and we loved it. The service was excellent and very friendly, and the food was outstanding. The place deserves a Michelin star. The price of eating here is very reasonable - and you will have a wonderful memory of what Peruvian-Colombian fusion dining can be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best in Bogota”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I just wanted to share what a fantastic meal we had at Matiz. Everything was spot on and every dish was incredible. We enjoyed the 8 Course Tasting Menu and every dish was presented by the head chef. Go for the octopus, short rib, pork belly and crab linguine. Bravo to Matiz!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank devotioncafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had the tasting menu, and everything was delicious, especially the pork. The service is great too and the restaurant is very pretty. The only bad thing was that they gave me fish that wasn´t fresh, it didn´t taste good but i tasted my mom´s dish that was the same and that one was nice, it was bad luck on mi side that i got that piece of fish. Other than that everything was delicious, i would definitely come back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adricbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Explosion of flavours, unexpected combinations, amazing food!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I had a fantastic dinner. We went for the degustation menu which is highly recommended; the chef Nicolás Quintano presents each dish at the table. Dish after dish of amazing food, with surprising flavours and ingredient combinations, like blue cheese and honey salad with seared beef, or homemade vermicelli with king crab and chilli, and a feast of desserts. Try to sit in the terrace, which is cozy and romantic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matiz also viewed

 
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Matiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing