We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anandamayi Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anandamayi Hostel
Calle 9 no 2-81 | Candelaria - Centro, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It has been about two and a half years since I last visited Bogota and stayed in this property. To not only see the same pleasant staff but for them to recognize you and greet you like an old friend is just half the reason that makes this place so special. There isn't much I can add since my last review as it hasn't changed a bit. I really hope it stays that way, and can only say if you are looking for somewhere tranquil,calm, peaceful and comfortable with lovely people then stay at Anandamayi Hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eIeven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    35
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
26
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great and quiet location in la candelaria, where you can go by foot to the center during the day very safely. Open kitchen where you can help yourself breakfast. Nice but very simple rooms around a patio filled with beautiful
Plants and bonsais. Warmly recommended

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Apolline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hostel has a really chilled feeling. It's got a couple of small courtyards with hammocks, and a hidden garden at the back, so it's like a little oasis. There's a nice shared kitchen with cooking facilities, and breakfast of eggs, cheese, toast, and some really nice teas & jams. And coffee, obviously. The rooms are huge and clean. No ensuite, but the shared bathrooms are clean and light.The staff are very friendly & helpful, and helped us out with cabs etc.The place is a social enterprise which employs ladies from the local community. Not the place for a party, but great for meeting other travellers. The location is great, right in La Candelaria, with a few little restaurants,cafes and french pastelerias nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you're looking for a tranquil place central to the historical area of Bogota, consider here. The historical architecture is simple and elegant and the kitchen has a nice set up for many people to cook at the same time or simply hang out and socialize. The rooms are simple, so if you need a special/luxury bed, this is not the place for you. To me, the owner is a key feature to the place. A gracious woman who obviously cares for her guests, she offers good advice and maintains a respectful, relaxed environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnBarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Anandamayi is probably the most tranquil and beautiful hostel I've ever stayed at. (It's more like a B&B or budget boutique hotel than your typical hostel in my opinion.)

I visited Bogota twice over a 2-week period. For my first visit, I chose another hostel that also receive 85%+ rating on Hostelworld.com as it's slightly cheaper. I didn't enjoy that experience at all, so for my second visit I chose Anandamayi. It turned out to be the best decision.

Anandamayi is located at a historical house in La Candelaria. It must have been recently renovated. (All of the hostels I stayed at in Columbia during this trip receive great ratings from travelers. But some of them feel so old that they literally fall apart!). The decorations are lovely and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. I don't normally spend much time at the hotel/hostel when I travel. But I ended up spending a good amount of time chilling at the hammock by the small water fountain in the courtyard.

All the ladies at the hostel are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included and it's better than most free breakfast offered by other places. My only complain is that the shower is not hot enough.

All in all, if you are looking for a party house, look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a peaceful place to escape the bustle of the metropolis, this is the perfect place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicity_ssimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome. Run by some of the strongest women I've met in South America. They truly care about your well being. I had a weird circumstance happen to me while I was in bogota and they backed me up and stayed up with me until five in the morning making sure I was happy! This alone makes me recommend this place to anyone passing through bogota. The included breakfast is great and very social, and the all day tea and coffee is a super nice touch (certainly with bogota's chill)!
The only negative is its location. It's close to day time action like bike tours and museums, but at night there is NOTHING! No restaurants, very few bars unless you go up to plaza Concordia.. And even then walking around candeleria at night can be quite dangerous because it's super dark and with very little foot traffic! Keep this in mind as you'll be spending a lot of money on taxis to zona t, usaquen and chapinero!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frestonian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights while I got my Brazilian visa sorted out. I stayed in the dorm, which had 14 beds I think, but it was so spacious, it didn't really feel like a dorm room of that size. They provided lots of blankets, and I was comfortable and warm despite the saggy mattress. The kitchen was lovely and the included a great breakfast. The all day teas (black, coca, green, etc) and coffee was an added bonus. Not sure what the wi fi was like, but they had 2 computers for guest use. The only problem was that it was slightly further away from any action which meant that walking back at night felt a little dangerous as there was no one around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#82 of 260 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 200 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#7 of 200 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Arche Noah Guesthouse
#6 of 200 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
La Candelaria
Yepeto Hostal
Yepeto Hostal
#20 of 200 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anandamayi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandamayi Hostel

Property: Anandamayi Hostel
Address: Calle 9 no 2-81 | Candelaria - Centro, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anandamayi is a very comfortable and inexpensive Hostel & Hotel in the most beautiful colonial house in la Candelaria old town. It has 3 poetic and colourful patios with hammocks and geraniums; a wonderful ancient garden with waterfalls, fish ponds and incredibly friendly hummingbirds; Nice and clean rooms and an attic from where you can see the sunrise behind Private Monserrate and hear the bells from the old churches and cathedral; and at sunset, the martial band when they change the guard at the presidential palace which is just around the corner. Anandamayi can lodge 27 people.' love all, serve all' are it's aims.All museums, theatres and major attractions like the Quinta de Bolivar, Monserrate Sanctuary, the Botero Museum, Gold Museum, Luis Angel Arango library, colonial churches and historical monuments are within walking distance. On week-ends you can join ecological trekking groups that follow the ancient Indian roads: lots of Sun, exercise and beautiful scenery. You can enjoy the super location of this safe and drugs-free place and yet you will be surprised at how quiet it is inside, and how friendly and homely the atmosphere is. Writers, painters and poets often stay for a long time. Price includes:A very good continental breakfast, taxes, linen and towels, hot water, free wireless, safe box, luggage storage, laundry service, common room with cable TV and lots of good films, a superb garden, good books, good vib, the possibility to cook your own food like in your own home, and take a very good rest and sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anandamayi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anandamayi Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing