We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
64
42
11
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
42
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottlesla candelariabusy citybogota bike tourtaxi driverdorm
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 125 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This old monastery was a true oasis in the middle of a huge town. The women working there (all single mums - tips go to the education of their kids) are extremely friendly - rooms are very nice - big bathrooms, hot showers - free wi-fi, breakfast is self-service with fruit and eggs, stove in the kitchen makes the room warm and cosy - although the rooms are quite pricey (100'000 for a double room) I WOULD ALWAYS GO BACK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annesophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

You will be staying in a rustic ancient building that lacks the entire spectrum of modern amenities. The staff are (by the owner's policy) single mothers who travel from the south of Bogotá to have a job, and they don't speak English well. The hostel is in the Calle 9 in the Candelaria, which means you have to take a taxi back at night.

That said, if you can handle the lack of toasty heat at all times, the need to speak some level of Spanish with the staff and the taxi drivers, the lack of 20-year-old partiers, etc., this is just such a gem. The building is so peaceful, and lovingly and carefully maintained, with two interior patios with flowers, hummingbirds, and hammocks, a rear garden, and so much light flooding in through the ceilings and patios. There is a comfortable kitchen and common room with old oven that tends to draw the occupants together (I got into great conversations while there). The women who work there are so sweet, and the people who stayed there were calm and open while I was there. I personally loved wrapping up in a wool shawl and sitting outside in the hammock, and I didn't mind being the generator of my own heat under wool blankets, but that's my type. And finally, most importantly, I felt completely safe and at ease - which in Bogotá is vital.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We got a twin private room with shared bath, which was more expensive than a lot of the hotels we stayed at. That's okay, but the service and amenities are clearly at hostel level. Breakfast is a hostel breakfast (serve yourself white bread and fruit, etc), the shared bathroom is clean enough but has limited hot water, the rooms are quiet and clean but cold, the WIFI is weak (didn't work in our room) and the staff staunchly refuse to speak ANY word of English. We didn't mind busting out our broken Spanish, but it would be nice to have a little help on certain words like "key deposit". All in all our stay was fine, and the place is cute, but given the other options in the city we found the private rooms in Anandamayi to be overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leilani9484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

From the colour co-ordinated dorm room (pink for girls, blue for boys), to the amazing breakfast, which is a absolute feast for the taste buds, to the exceptional red hot tea and coffee on tap all day, this hostel is worth the little extra! Fresh herbs from the garden are available for you to make your own tea if you fancy something a little special. The rooms are warm and cosy, with hot water bottles for your feet at night. We went on a day trip and the owner gave me the choice of about 10 wool wraps round cardigans to use so i wasn't cold while out and about during the day. The garden is a little zen space with nice views of the statue of on the mountain in the distance.
Loved the chilled vibe, just totally loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a beautiful place in the Candaleria District-Bogota. A very peaceful hostel with dorms and private rooms close to museums,etc. I would really recommend this place to a person or persons who want to go sightsee,then chill.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews