We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely peaceful and rustic place in Candelaria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anandamayi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anandamayi Hostel
Ranked #19 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely peaceful and rustic place in Candelaria”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

You will be staying in a rustic ancient building that lacks the entire spectrum of modern amenities. The staff are (by the owner's policy) single mothers who travel from the south of Bogotá to have a job, and they don't speak English well. The hostel is in the Calle 9 in the Candelaria, which means you have to take a taxi back at night.

That said, if you can handle the lack of toasty heat at all times, the need to speak some level of Spanish with the staff and the taxi drivers, the lack of 20-year-old partiers, etc., this is just such a gem. The building is so peaceful, and lovingly and carefully maintained, with two interior patios with flowers, hummingbirds, and hammocks, a rear garden, and so much light flooding in through the ceilings and patios. There is a comfortable kitchen and common room with old oven that tends to draw the occupants together (I got into great conversations while there). The women who work there are so sweet, and the people who stayed there were calm and open while I was there. I personally loved wrapping up in a wool shawl and sitting outside in the hammock, and I didn't mind being the generator of my own heat under wool blankets, but that's my type. And finally, most importantly, I felt completely safe and at ease - which in Bogotá is vital.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
32
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We got a twin private room with shared bath, which was more expensive than a lot of the hotels we stayed at. That's okay, but the service and amenities are clearly at hostel level. Breakfast is a hostel breakfast (serve yourself white bread and fruit, etc), the shared bathroom is clean enough but has limited hot water, the rooms are quiet and clean but cold, the WIFI is weak (didn't work in our room) and the staff staunchly refuse to speak ANY word of English. We didn't mind busting out our broken Spanish, but it would be nice to have a little help on certain words like "key deposit". All in all our stay was fine, and the place is cute, but given the other options in the city we found the private rooms in Anandamayi to be overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leilani9484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

From the colour co-ordinated dorm room (pink for girls, blue for boys), to the amazing breakfast, which is a absolute feast for the taste buds, to the exceptional red hot tea and coffee on tap all day, this hostel is worth the little extra! Fresh herbs from the garden are available for you to make your own tea if you fancy something a little special. The rooms are warm and cosy, with hot water bottles for your feet at night. We went on a day trip and the owner gave me the choice of about 10 wool wraps round cardigans to use so i wasn't cold while out and about during the day. The garden is a little zen space with nice views of the statue of on the mountain in the distance.
Loved the chilled vibe, just totally loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a beautiful place in the Candaleria District-Bogota. A very peaceful hostel with dorms and private rooms close to museums,etc. I would really recommend this place to a person or persons who want to go sightsee,then chill.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I just stayed at the Anandamayi Hostel at the beginning and again at the end of my trip to Colombia. I can only describe my stay there as " just wonderful "
Last year when i visited Bogota i stayed in a party hostal which i also enjoyed but this time i was looking for somewhere more relaxing. The whole atmosphere is so tranquil, and the gardens around the hostel are a great place to relax in after a day of sightseeing, with lots of plants, little ponds and bonsai trees set around old colonial architecture.The staff ( a group of 4 or 5 ladies ) are very kind and are always on hand to help with any information you need. As noted by other reviewers, in the evening they will come around and ask if you would like a hot water bottle for your bed, or if you ask them, they will prepare one for you. I stayed in the dorm which was very comfortable and the shared bathrooms are big and immaculately clean. Internet and a light healthy breakfast is also included. I would recommend this place to anybody who is not looking for a party hostel. If i return to Bogota i would definately stay here again. Thanks Anandamayi and its staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eIeven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Charming building in the Caldelaria district. However, when I arrived they tried to give me a room without a bathroom when I had reserved one with. This was rectified quickly but I had to carry my own luggage even though the young woman looked at my luggage and then at me. I was bringing a new backpack to my backpacking daughter and usually my luggage has wheels so it was difficult for me to carry this backpack. I never was given a receipt after I paid even though I asked for it twice from 2 different employees.

Hardly any English spoken here so if your Spanish is sketchy forget help with sighseeing ideas from the staff. They only take payment in the form of cash, upfront, and then when you arrive and they add up what your bill is they thrown in a 10% tip item! My room was quiet but very cold. The only hot water available is when you take a shower and you'd better make it quick or you'll run out.

Now, on the plus side, they do provide lots of good wool blankets in you unheated room. The breakfast consisted of granola (no limit), coffee, tea, milk, hardboiled eggs (one per customer), two kinds of bread (four per customer), fruit (three per customer), fruit juice, and jams and butter. The location is good and the building is secure. The common room where breakfast is served, there is a computer for guest use, books, and games, is a nice warm place.

So, as my title state, "Mixed feelings on this property."

Room Tip: If you can, check out a few rooms before you unpack as each room is so different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoreenMorelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very quaint and quiet hostel. We enjoyed use of the common area with kitchen at this hostel and playing games near the wood fired stove while our food cooked. Avoid getting rooms near the road and entrance because they can be loud at the wee hours with cars zooming down the street. Another thing to keep in mind is the rooms are not heated. There are plenty of blankets but if you are sensitive to cold you may want to consider staying elsewhere. The value for the location is great and the staff are nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blizze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#12 of 268 in Bogota
731 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#47 of 268 in Bogota
126 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#42 of 268 in Bogota
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 242 in Bogota
595 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#11 of 242 in Bogota
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anandamayi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandamayi Hostel

Property: Anandamayi Hostel
Address: Calle 9 no 2-81 | Candelaria - Centro, Bogota 110321, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anandamayi is a very comfortable and inexpensive Hostel & Hotel in the most beautiful colonial house in la Candelaria old town. It has 3 poetic and colourful patios with hammocks and geraniums; a wonderful ancient garden with waterfalls, fish ponds and incredibly friendly hummingbirds; Nice and clean rooms and an attic from where you can see the sunrise behind Private Monserrate and hear the bells from the old churches and cathedral; and at sunset, the martial band when they change the guard at the presidential palace which is just around the corner. Anandamayi can lodge 27 people.' love all, serve all' are it's aims.All museums, theatres and major attractions like the Quinta de Bolivar, Monserrate Sanctuary, the Botero Museum, Gold Museum, Luis Angel Arango library, colonial churches and historical monuments are within walking distance. On week-ends you can join ecological trekking groups that follow the ancient Indian roads: lots of Sun, exercise and beautiful scenery. You can enjoy the super location of this safe and drugs-free place and yet you will be surprised at how quiet it is inside, and how friendly and homely the atmosphere is. Writers, painters and poets often stay for a long time. Price includes:A very good continental breakfast, taxes, linen and towels, hot water, free wireless, safe box, luggage storage, laundry service, common room with cable TV and lots of good films, a superb garden, good books, good vib, the possibility to cook your own food like in your own home, and take a very good rest and sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Anandamayi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anandamayi Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing