We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
64
42
11
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
42
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottlesla candelariabusy citybogota bike tourtaxi driverdorm
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 125 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very quaint and quiet hostel. We enjoyed use of the common area with kitchen at this hostel and playing games near the wood fired stove while our food cooked. Avoid getting rooms near the road and entrance because they can be loud at the wee hours with cars zooming down the street. Another thing to keep in mind is the rooms are not heated. There are plenty of blankets but if you are sensitive to cold you may want to consider staying elsewhere. The value for the location is great and the staff are nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blizze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This hostel is located in a 400 yr old building on the border of the rough south side of Bogotá. Large rooms, very cold at night, especially as the mattress covers are plastic. Lots of dark colors, guru images and yoga chant music. The common room is pleasant and warmed by a wood stove. Adequate cold breakfast buffet, rooms are a bit pricey for no private bathroom. The taxi driver was unable to access the address despite having been given detailed instructions, and as the price was mounting (we were going in circles), I told him to let me off as close as he could get which was a couple blocks away, and had to walk in an unsafe area, not pleasant, as it was in the evening. Overall, my stay was okay, the place definitely has a monastery feel. I was much more comfortable when I moved to Hotel Lido just down from Plaza Bolivar, a much safer area with warmer, welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank xena888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We felt welcome at this hostel from the start. The staff were very helpful, although at times a bit chaotic. (We were asked for a receipt we were never given, and when we wanted to leave the employee didn't know that we had paid the night before).
Our private rooms were very nice and clean.
One of us who stayed in the dorm had some problems one night, when some people got home drunk and molested the other guests for a couple of hours. When my friend and other guests complained the next morning, the management took action and kicked the troublemakers out.
This hostel is a real oasis in the middle of Bogota! The architecture of the place is awsome. The building must be very old, and it was obviously refurbished with a lot of care for details. You can see the beams that hold the roof, there are little nooks in the thick walls to store things. The three patios are full of flowers, in the morning you can see hummingbirds, you can relax in the hammocks...
A very nice detail, since it can get very chilly: there is alwaysa pot of hot tea on the stove.
A drawback: You can only pay cash.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and absolutely loved it. We had a private room which was very spacious with amazingly comfortable beds, a huge TV, and plenty of storage space. It was quite chilly in Bogota and while there was no heating in the room every night the ladies would make us hot water bottles to use in our beds. The little old lady that works there is an absolute gem and makes the stay feel very homely. I would highly recommend this hostel! Very close to the centre of town and to lots of attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was a bit fearful of Colombia and instead had a fantastic time due to this hostel and the people who stay there and work there. Besides looking like something out of "Travel and Leisure" ( the owner is a Colombian artist), I met fascinating people who have since become friends. This is NOT a party hostel and is filled with older (over 25) travels. I met an American who worked at the U.S. Venezuelan Embassy, a Swiss woman who worked for Amnesty International, an Argentinian couple ( an union worker and taxi driver), an Indian doctor with his family from Texas, a psychology professor from California and more. The women who worked there were kind and helpful. It took a bit for them to warm up, but as said earlier, they do! This place is extremely well-run and organized and never mind reasonable. Enjoy your stay.
P.S. You are told not to walk around at night and take taxis instead. Ask them as to what they advise.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustMeKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews